We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Vacation”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to stay here for two nights, We checked in and were given room 15. When we opened the door to the room, the carpet looked like something out of a biker bar, stained, worn, nasty... We returned to the front desk and politely asked the clerk for a different room due to the carpet. The gentleman behind the desk stated all the rooms had stained carpets. His demeanor was terse and somewhat hostile. He made no offer to accomodate us in any way. The bed in the room was the worst we experienced in any hotel we stayed in.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Bob,

I would like to sincerely apologize for the less than hospitable attitude you experienced from one of our Front Desk attendants. As you can see from other reviews, we take pride in providing superior guest service and I assure you this issue was immediately addressed with all hotel staff.
Despite shampooing the carpets in all rooms several times, the carpets in most rooms are in need of replacement. Two model rooms are being completed this month, with the rest of the carpets to be replaced in the fall.
Thank you for bringing the bed to my attention as this is the first I have learned about an uncomfortable bed. We will investigate and replace the bed ASAP!
Bob, please contact Sandra, our Manager so we may extend to you a special offer as I would like another opportunity to provide you with a wonderful wine country experience.

Sincerely,

Steve Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We enjoyed this quaint little inn in Calistoga - which was within walking distance to the main street of shopping and dining in Calistoga. We enjoyed the wonderful cookies upon arrival and they had great pastries each morning for breakfast. We were staying in a Signature Queen room which was quite large and cozy (decor was very nice but could have used a little more on some of the walls). Our only complaints would be the road noise (our room was right next to the busy street), the carpets on the stairs to our rooms were quite dirty & we had trouble getting our air conditioner to work the first night - but when we called the front desk it was quickly corrected. Our son had the Classic Queen room which was very small and quaint. Overall we enjoyed our stay - the staff was friendly and the garden area for breakfast was nice!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel would be much more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bretmcbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This was a great find. My husband and I were in Napa celebrating our 5th anniversary. It was a romantic quiet and well located hotel. Continental Breakfast was better than the usual with fresh fruit salad, yogurt, and cereal options plus eggs and several toast options. Service was fabulous. Our only disappointment were the carpets which were covered in stains - however we were told that the entire hotel is being redecorated and new carpets are coming. I hope this doesn't mean a jump in price because the current value got money proposition is excellent. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susq_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Christopher's is more of a mini-hotel rather than a B&B. The breakfasts are served buffet style in the lobby with the same menu the 3 days we were there. I left a travel clock and called within 2 hrs of checking out and was told the clock was no longer in the room and had not been turned in by cleaning staff. The location is a bit difficult to get in and out of and the parking is on the crowded side. Our room was very compact but we had a lovely private patio with gas fireplace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkb119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We tried to check into the Best Western since it was rated so well. They didn't have any rooms and referred us to the Christopher Inn. We were a little skeptical because of other reviews, however we were told that the owner of the BW had purchased the Inn and were in the process of making improvements. We stayed in a beautiful room (22),which was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was really unique and the gas fireplace supplied wonderful ambience. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This was one of the nicest rooms that we stayed on our vacation. Continental breakfast was well presented and tasty. Overall this was a great find. The staff did say that some of the carpets in the other rooms are being updated.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odarkthirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very clean room, carpet was a bit worn. We stayed in Room 17, King bed very comfy, sitting area with 2 couches with fireplace and an additional table with 2 chairs. (Very large room). Also included a Jacuzzi tub with shower. Also in the room (need for wine country) was a wine bottle opener and 2 glasses

Staff was friendly, basic Continental breakfast was included. Parking was included.

Walking distance to downtown Calistoga. Overall nice place and location, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaHonu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon and we wished we'd just stayed the whole week here! I know that all the rooms are a little different so for the record, we had Room 14. This was a medium sized room with a king bed, private patio and spa tub.
From the second we pulled into the parking lot of this place, we felt immediately relaxed. The check in process was very quick and professional (loved the nice touches of having free coffee and cookies for you in the lobby, and having you sit down across from the front desk person while they checked you in - we felt very well taken care of). Loved the key cards that you just hit against the lock rather than having to swipe - so easy with luggage! The room was so pretty, fit right into wine country. We loved the sliding doors out to our little private patio, which while small was very peaceful and private - no neighbors could see in and there was even a little fountain to provide a nice relaxing trickling water sound! Great place to sit and read and enjoy your coffee or wine during downtime. The bed was big and soft and comfy, and the TV was great - appreciated the HD and lots of extra channels since lots of hotels really cheap out on the TV, wanting you to buy pay per view stuff. Loved the spa tub, and the bathroom in general. The carpet is a little dirty, I think because of the way the bathroom is set up - there is only a tiny bit of tile outside the bathtub, otherwise when you get out of the shower/tub you have to walk on the carpet! So my guess is dripping water over the years has worn out the carpet. Didn't bother us; otherwise the room was spotlessly clean. 5 minute walk to downtown Calistoga. Quiet at night. Included breakfast was good, a step above your usual continental breakfast (cereal, granola, yogurt, pastries, bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs), and there's a nice little patio by the lobby to eat. Also felt that this was a good deal relative to other options in the area. Really can't say enough how much we loved our stay here, we hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanhou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.1 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £112 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing