We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was relaxing and a real pleasure.”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Upon arrival, the manager made reservations for us to tour a winery and brought us china plates and silverware so that we could have the lunch that we brought with us on one of the tables on the patio. Our room was bright and spacious. The location was perfect for visiting area wineries and we were given passes to use a local shuttle that dropped us off and picked us up from a winery tour. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, it was clean with plenty of room and had nice furnishings. There is no elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

No complaints. A rather pretty setting. Room was rather small and a bit cramped but still cozy. Breakfast was exactly what I "needed". This was just a one-night stop-over so I had no reason to explore Calistoga. I'm not sure there's much to see if you aren't interested in the mud baths.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful Victorian style little inn tucked away around the corner from downtown Calistoga. We could walk to wine tasting, restaurants, shops, bars, and coffee spots. The bed was comfortable and the room had a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The carpet is a hot mess, I didn't walk barefoot. And the windows do not have screens so we had quite a few moths and spiders join us in the evening. Overall I'd say this is a nice hotel and in a great location. I would recommend it, the positives definitely overpowered the negatives.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy5258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is well located near downtown Calistoga and many wineries. The hotel is attractive from the outside and the lobby is well appointed. Our room was a little cramped for space as the furniture filled the room. The fireplace which was likely added after the room was completed, took up a corner of the room. The toilet/shower area were separate from the sink area and we appreciated this. It is fine for sleeping but you cannot expect to spend time relaxing in the room as there is only one chair. Sadly, the pink carpet is badly stained and could use a washing although if I were doing it, I would replace it with a darker, patterned carpet that would not end up looking so grubby.
We were happy to see glass wine glasses, coffee cups and drinking glasses as well as a wine opener. There was a coffee maker, shower cap and hair dryer. Breakfast consisted of orange juice, coffee, boiled eggs and pastries. There may have been more but it was picked over by the time we got there (our fault for being too late).
Christopher's Inn changed ownership at some point before our arrival so if you have previously visited, you may see a difference in care (better or worse, we don't know).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBN_Guelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We came to Calistoga on part two of a three part Northern California journey and stayed at Christopher's Inn. It was by far the best accomodation we stayed at during our trip! Our room was large with a fabulous bathroom with plenty of room to move around. We also had a fireplace (didn't need it because it was summer). Very quiet area so sleeping was not interrupted at all.
It was easy walking distance to the quaint shops and restaurants in downtown Calistoga. The continental breakfast was very nice and we enjoyed the morning with the outdoor seating.
I HIGHLY recommend Chistopher's Inn and I will definitely be back on my next trip to the wine country.
TP

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor in one of the out buildings..not in the main part of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel mistakenly booked me for the wrong night, despite booking me into a wedding block that was happening for a different date. They told me "for all we know you decided to change your reservation and just stay the night before the wedding". So, we had to scramble and find a new place to stay and they threatened to charge me for the night they had incorrectly booked me for. Regardless of whose fault the mix up was, I've never dealt with such a rude person in the service industry. Based on other reviews it sounds like we were better off finding other accommodations anyways.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank wunderkind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

I would like to apologize for your experience during the reservation process. Our management and staff take guest service very seriously, but sometimes we fall short.
Upon reviewing your reservation, we did verify with your group’s wedding planner that you had been booked into the correct wedding block. However, I believe the confusion arose from your wish to stay Saturday night only and our hotel’s 2-night minimum requirement for all Saturday night stays. I understand we booked you for Friday night only, as well as sent you two email confirmations. Upon contacting you the evening of your anticipated arrival, you informed us of the misunderstanding. We were not able to re-rent the room at such a late hour, but understanding your situation, the hotel manager did not charge you for the room.
I would again like to apologize if at any time our staff acted in a rude manner. Your comments were immediately addressed with all staff members. I would also welcome the opportunity to discuss with you how I may leave you with a more satisfactory resolution. Our goal is always to make your visit to Calistoga as enjoyable, relaxing, and hospitable as possible.
Sincerely,
Steve Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to stay here for two nights, We checked in and were given room 15. When we opened the door to the room, the carpet looked like something out of a biker bar, stained, worn, nasty... We returned to the front desk and politely asked the clerk for a different room due to the carpet. The gentleman behind the desk stated all the rooms had stained carpets. His demeanor was terse and somewhat hostile. He made no offer to accomodate us in any way. The bed in the room was the worst we experienced in any hotel we stayed in.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Bob,

I would like to sincerely apologize for the less than hospitable attitude you experienced from one of our Front Desk attendants. As you can see from other reviews, we take pride in providing superior guest service and I assure you this issue was immediately addressed with all hotel staff.
Despite shampooing the carpets in all rooms several times, the carpets in most rooms are in need of replacement. Two model rooms are being completed this month, with the rest of the carpets to be replaced in the fall.
Thank you for bringing the bed to my attention as this is the first I have learned about an uncomfortable bed. We will investigate and replace the bed ASAP!
Bob, please contact Sandra, our Manager so we may extend to you a special offer as I would like another opportunity to provide you with a wonderful wine country experience.

Sincerely,

Steve Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.8 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.5 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £114 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing