We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent off season value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent off season value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed one night in one of the basic queen rooms, which are bigger than the average hotel room. There is a separate sitting area with its own flat screen TV. I think our room must be one that was recently renovated. Everything was either very new or old enough to be antique, as opposed to just old. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. There is coffee in the room but no frig or microwave.

As others have noted, the location is convenient to shops, restaurants and tasting. The continental (plus) breakfast is good. Everything was fresh. The two staff members we saw were very friendly and helpful.

Try to get a room toward the back of the property. We were in room 1 right by highway 29, which was a bit noisy.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. It'll be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PelicanDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, General Manager at The Bergson, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Pelican Driver,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have indeed remodeled almost every room and will continue to make more improvements. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, so thank you for taking the time to help us improve the guest experience at Christopher's Inn. We look forward to seeing you next time your in Calistoga!

Best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    169
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
41
315
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweeny, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent three nights at Christopher's Inn and had a wonderful time. The location was excellent, within easy walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average, more of a continnental breakfast, but fresh and nicely presented. The fresh granola was awesome!! Our room had a large jacuzzi, fireplace and nice seating area. We had a small patio that was private and very close to the breakfast area/office. We enjoyed ourselves and will def return!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a firleplace which was wonderful for the chilly evenings and added to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Beautiful tucked away Inn in the heart of Napa Valley's north end... Nice, eclectic place - needs new broadloom as there were many stains, but otherwise very clean and comfortable - great in room gas fireplace and flat screen. Walking distance to several restaurants and wineries. Very nice breakfast area and terrace for morning w/ lots of tree coverage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
328 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This Inn was billed as a bed and breakfast. It certainly had the charm of a B & B- the room was beautiful and I loved the fireplace. The carpet was a mess, though, and the person working there said that the rooms were being renovated. It has a perfect location- right on the main thoroughfare but very quiet. I was a bit disappointed with the "breakfast". It was dry cereal, hard boiled eggs, bread and pastries. I was expecting the B & B style breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubybouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in a room with a fireplace, patio and jacuzzi tub. It was very comfortable and the fountain on the patio was very soothing to listen to in the day and the fireplace going at night when chilly. We both took advantage of the tub and took baths both days. Easy walk to Lincoln Blvd where downtown is and the spas are on the side streets from there. Breakfast was enough for me but my husband is a Big breakfast eater so we still had to eat out for him. Coffee and homemade cookies in lobby are delicious! Already read about the carpets so I expected worn carpets, didn't bother us at all. We were sandals or slippers anyway. Would go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
349 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Christopher's Inn is a nice looking collection of white buildings, within walking distance of downtown Calistoga. The buildings, courtyard parking area and office were all very well maintained. My room however needed a little work. The room was very spacious and really more of a suite: including sitting area with fireplace, sleeping area and separate vanity, toilet and bath areas. The general decor felt like someone trying too hard to be upscale; 10-15 years ago. But, that would have been fine if not for the worn-out and heavily-stained, mauve-colored carpeting. There were also numerous screw holes in the walls where things had been removed, but no one had bothered to patch the holes. And the only shower option was mounted above a large recessed, two-person, whirlpool tub. This required a steep step down into the tub. Also, for individuals with concerns about external doors, it is worth noting that the doors open to the outside and not an internal hallway. So, there were a number of oddities with my particular room. With that said, other than the carpet, the room seemed clean and you can't beat the location or price if interested in staying in northern Napa Valley. So, the Inn has terrific potential; it's just odd.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheelblue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with my stay. The office and breakfast area was exceptionally nice. Good basic breakfast with some excellent danish and muffins. Fresh fruit was also terrific. The room(#1) was nicely appointed-just hard to find the hallway light behind the furniture and the carpet needs replacing-I know it will happen soon. The rest was great-just a bit too close to the road so I wish I had a room near the rear of the property. After they complete the renovations, I will be an even better stay. Location is the best-very close to town which is small, convenient and affordable. Will plan to return in the future.

Room Tip: I think the rooms farther from the road will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cortlandtcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.8 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
24.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Property: The Bergson
Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing