We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Comfy!”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The room was decorated nicely, very comfortable, and the bath products smelled beautiful. The hotel is one street over from the main street with many shops and places to eat. We went for a run early in the morning and returned to a lovely continental breakfast with hard-boiled eggs and delicious granola and fresh fruit and yogurt. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for The Bergson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our first visit to the Napa Valley was brief, and we wanted to be near the main winery we were going to (Clos Pegase) so I searched for places to stay in Calistoga. Christopher's Inn was by far the most inexpensive, so I was a little leary at first. But other reviews were good, so we gave it a try. It was a nice little inn, not luxurious but nice. The room was quite small but that really didn't matter. It was clean and comfortable and fit our needs. It's an easy walk into town, which is of course nice. The fact that they offer a breakfast is great but we wanted to try a restaurant in Napa that had been recommended (Boon Fly Cafe) so we didn't partake. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrhinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a great little place to stay. There are a wide variety of rooms to choose from at this Inn, but our experience is focused on the queen room #10. We reserved at the last minute and couldn't be more pleased with the service we received. From reservation, to check in, to the mid-night "we forgot our key can you please let us in?" Call to the manager, to our check out...the service was exceptional!

Be aware the rooms range from simple rooms with outdoor courtyard and fireplace to rooms with jacuzzi's and balconies so don't be afraid to ask about what you are getting. Or...be surprised! We had an outdoor fireplace but weren't able to use it during our stay due to our schedule...sigh. Very inviting though!

Great location, no traffic noise and quick to everywhere.

I will stay here again. Great experience.

Room Tip: Check details about the room you are reserving as they are all different.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spirits4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great little find, centrally located, comfortable room, private patios/outdoor space for most rooms. Buffet expanded continental breakfast was also fresh and staff was knowledgeable and accommodating. The hotel is a very short walk to Calistoga's main drag. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Reasonable rates and lived up to all our expectations. Excellent jumping off pint for exploring Napa wineries and other attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel!
Loved the location!
The breakfast could be better.
The concierge should offer some two for one tastings, but they acted like they had no idea what I was talking about.
The hotel itself is wonderful though and for a practically unheard of price in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarynlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Loved our stay at Christopher's Inn. Friendly helpful staff, clean room,loved the décor and the ambience of the room and the Inn. We would stay here again if we were in the area, and would recommend it to everyone. The area is quite expensive but this was very reasonable. Good location, had picnic lunch in the shade of the trees by the fountain, just a really pleasant stay. Toiletries provided were really lovely, especially the body lotion, still adore the fragrance now.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ursdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Rooms well appointed, but could do with a full length mirror, location ideal for Lincoln Avenue with good quality restaurants.

Staff very helpful, especially Bo, who helped make our first visit to the region an enjoyable one.

Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Perhaps go for rooms with jacuzzi bath, if available. Could do with full length mirrors in rooms fo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidtravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £132 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing