We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn and Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Inn and Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed the week of 4th of July and loved it! The room was clean and comfortable, the Inn was very nice to our pocket book. Nice breakfast in the morning of (eggs, pastries, yogurt, and a wonderful Granola etc. The staff (Bo) was was wonderful with knowledge of places to go and wineries to see while we stayed in Calistoga. Beautiful property and we will definitely be back, made us feel like we had the royal treatment. Thank you Christopher's Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    169
    37
    17
    23
See reviews for
41
315
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night on our recent California trip. Our room was spacious, well furnished, with a comfortable bed and near the center of town. Very good continental breakfast. Host was very helpful. Good place to stay while touring Napa and Sonoma valleys

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

When I want to visit Napa Vally, I stay in Calistoga because the accommodations are affordable. I also enjoy the more laid-back pace of the town. I stayed at Christopher’s Inn because my usual choice was booked.

Christopher’s Inn is in a great location; it’s just a short walk to Lincoln Avenue where you’ll find restaurants, spas, and other shops. I stayed in Room 3, which is one of the more spacious rooms and has a fireplace with a sitting area. It was far too warm to use the fireplace, but I did appreciate the air conditioning.

The staff is quite helpful with suggestions for dinner and other activities in Napa. They serve cookies in the late afternoon. The breakfast features baked goods from a local bakery, which are quite tasty. There are many other choices for breakfast (eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit) that are sure to please everyone in your party.

Some of the rooms, like the one I stayed in, border Foothill Boulevard. The road noise can be quite loud, as it appears to be the main truck route. I suggest avoiding Rooms 21, 22, and 3 for that reason. I got to peek into room 2. It is extremely small, so be prepared if you book this room. There are many other rooms to choose from. The money you save by staying here will allow you to pick up a few more bottles of the wine you taste!

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not border Foothill Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My parents and I stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. LOVED IT! The staff "Bo and Sandy" were WONDERFUL both had a wealth of knowledge when it came to the tourism in the Napa Valley. The room was spacious and comfy and my parents just had a great time and was pleased with the accommodations as well. We could walk to the downtown Calistoga to some of the best restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay here again! Clean, outstanding customer service, quite and great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I went here for the weekend and we enjoyed. It's in a great location. Just a 5 min. walk from the main street. The rooms were a nice size and the brunch was nice as well. The price was good for the location and the time we went (July 4th weekend). I'd definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaps25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 4th of July weekend at Christopher's Inn. It was a quaint little Inn with a very friendly staff. Our queen room had a nice Jacuzzi tub! The Inn is very close to the main drag, I also spent sometime at the Euro Spa and Inn, their sister hotel, for a manicure/pedicure special and a dip in the Euro Spa pool. Good times in Calistoga!

Room Tip: Queen room with Jacuzzi Tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, New York, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The room was decorated nicely, very comfortable, and the bath products smelled beautiful. The hotel is one street over from the main street with many shops and places to eat. We went for a run early in the morning and returned to a lovely continental breakfast with hard-boiled eggs and delicious granola and fresh fruit and yogurt. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.8 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
24.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Property: The Bergson
Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing