We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and lovely”
Review of The Bergson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bergson
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Christopher's Inn for two nights in August. It was a lovely place. The front desk lady was very helpful. She gave us great suggestions for dinner and for wineries. The breakfast spread was humble. But there were cookies, fruits, tea, coffee, juice available all day. We stayed in room number 10. It was a gorgeous looking room with a little fireplace. It was a bit too small, but what it lacked in size, made up in charm and beauty. It's right on the main road with easy access to a 7-11 and downtown Calistoga.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TraveLovers2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although we stayed only one night, Christopher's Inn was well worth our trip to Calistoga. Charming cottage feel with wonderful staff. We stayed in room 15 which is handicapped accessible. The large bathroom and shower was a welcome amenity. Our room had a working gas fireplace and a very large, comfy queen bed. The location is withing walking distance to everything in the downtown area. The continental breakfast was a wonderful addition that most hotels don't offer ... yummy ham and cheese croissants. I would most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LIDuck428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in beautiful Suite 22 over looked fountain magnificent fixtures 4 posted bed and absolutely detailed spa bathroom with large jacuzzi spa tub bathroom only spoiler was no afternoon wine reception staff Bo was great Our anniversary was greatly enhanced by staying at this lovely little Calistoga inn

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigDogCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Wanted to get away for the weekend and had a crazy difficult time finding a place that was available (that wasn't $$$$ or sketchy looking). Enter Calistoga's Christopher Inn. Somehow, in all the places that were booked all over the Greater Bay Area, this quaint spot had a vacancy! So it was process of elimination that brought us here, but it was the darling room and great location that might bring us back sometime!

Check-in was fast, not overly friendly or informative, but certainly fine. Coffee and tea were available in the afternoon. Just a warning to tea drinkers though ... the tea can end up tasting like coffee water, it seems to be heated up in the same container. On another afternoon, they had large, delicious chocolate cookies that looked like the same ones we saw in the bakery downtown. We were booked in Room 3, which I was a little concerned because it did face the street, and I had read reviews about street noise. We did hear cars outside, but it never kept us from falling asleep or anything like that. I'm not sure I would've even thought twice about it if it wasn't for the reviews complaining about noise. The room is also on the second floor, which probably helps with street noise, too.

What bonus we got with Room 3 though is that, according to the map, it's the biggest room on the property except for the two specialty rooms in the main house. So we were able to easily spread out. The spacious room had four windows with lovely green trees outside, a fireplace (which we didn't use, it was August!), A/C that worked well, a partially vaulted ceiling, TV and various lighting options. The bed was comfortable, though both of us did wake up each morning with a sore back, though sleeping itself was not uncomfortable. Perhaps the mattress is just not very supportive. The bathroom had a nice skylight to provide natural light. It was little outdated looking, but still very clean and roomy and great water pressure in the shower. Nice toiletries provided.

The location is great, easily walkable to Lincoln Avenue, the main street in town. We also brought bikes and rode them to a couple wineries and around the Calistoga neighborhoods to see more on our visit. We only went to the Inn's breakfast one of our two mornings, but it was nice enough ... a selection of pastries, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt and fruit. One issue though was a ham-filled croissant -- because I am vegetarian and took a bite into it unknowingly. The problem would easily be solved by labeling it.

Overall a very pleasant experience! Would return again for a little weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WonderlandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of August 2014. We had a beautiful room with sitting area and jacuzzi tub. It was lovely and well priced. The service was friendly and accommodating. There is a continental breakfast served in the morning and the items are fresh and delish. The Inn is located in downtown Calistoga and an easy walk to shops and restaurants. I chose Christopher's because I wanted something charming and centrally located to downtown. This was perfect! It was quiet and relaxing. The rates were also very good for the deluxe king room. Definitely worth coming back to.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cdbck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were happy with it. It is maybe two blocks from downtown so pretty much everything is within walking distance. We stayed in room 16 with the Jacuzzi and porch area. The rooms are decorated very nice. The only "complaint" I would have is to simply remove a lot of the furniture as it is a very small room and to put some privacy fencing up around the patio. When sitting outside you are looking at various pipes, buckets and cleaning supplies. Sandy and Steve were so sweet and helpful. Be sure to ask for the free shuttle pass that will take and pick you up as long as it is in Calistoga. No excuses to drink and drive!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachdream1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed the week of 4th of July and loved it! The room was clean and comfortable, the Inn was very nice to our pocket book. Nice breakfast in the morning of (eggs, pastries, yogurt, and a wonderful Granola etc. The staff (Bo) was was wonderful with knowledge of places to go and wineries to see while we stayed in Calistoga. Beautiful property and we will definitely be back, made us feel like we had the royal treatment. Thank you Christopher's Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
5.7 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bergson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bergson

Address: 1010 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1712 (Formerly Christopher's Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £136 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bergson 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind from a day of Napa Valley wine tours and shopping at our inviting Calistoga hotel. The Bergson features 21 elegantly designed rooms and suites combining classic decor and modern comfort, to create a relaxed lodging environment. Our peaceful Calistoga accommodations offer plush beds, wireless internet, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, bathrobes and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bergson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher`s Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing