We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful experience”
Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #3 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

When we decide to go to Calistoga and we decided to stay at cottage grove inn in Calistoga, we have no idealt and no expectation at the inn. Then when we got there my heart is beat so fast,I got so excited,the cottage is so beautiful and calm and so charming it remind me of Italy , the decoration to the charm and the breakfast room I don't have any bad to say about this place , even the wine and cheese hour every day from 5 to 7 it so good and the breakfast is out of this world, I don't even like breakfast but it so good that I can resist to have some. If any one ever look for the most charming and romantic and relaxing please take my word for it . Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuannguyen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Hello Tuan! Thank you so much for your kind remarks! The fact that you enjoyed our breakfast and you don't normally like breakfast is a huge compliment! We have added the quiche, waffles and specialty coffee drinks over the past couple years to enhance the breakfast experience and I love that it worked for you! We were very happy to host your anniversary and would love to have you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent 3 days at the Cottage Grove Inn and loved everything about it. The property is charming, the staff is extremely helpful, the cottages are very private and offer so much more than can be put into words. Each cottage has a wood burning fireplace, fridge, large coffee maker with locally roasted coffee that’s refilled daily, a huge jetted tub, wine and cheese each evening and breakfast each morning.

The location of the Cottage Grove Inn is within walking distance to the charming town of Calistoga. This was a huge benefit after driving around Napa Valley, it was nice to be able to park the car and stroll into town for dinner.

We enjoyed the property so much that we’ve already booked a trip for this fall.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

We are so happy to hear that everything about your stay here at Cottage Grove Inn was enjoyable! You are right about the town of Calistoga, we feel so lucky to be located here! It has that small town charm with all of the little shops and restaurants and we just love that our guests can take a relaxing stroll through it just a block from our property! We are looking forward to hosting you again this fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We went to Cottage Grove and had a very nice cottage experience. Bikes were available, the rooms were nicely furnished and the wood-burning fireplace was a nice touch. The rooms were well-appointed and cozy. The town is great with groceries and nice restaurants suiting every taste and budget nearby. It is a short-drive to the best wineries in Sonoma and Napa. One tip would be to make sure to drop into the Culinary Institute of America which is nearby. The food is tremendous and the tasting menu fabulous.

Room Tip: Be sure to go to the Culinary institute of America nearby for lunch, dinner or just to visit the sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobwoodcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks, we're happy to hear your stay was so enjoyable! Being close to town really allows our guests to venture around on foot or using our guest bicycles. CIA is definitely a must when visiting Napa Valley and we're always happy to recommend other popular spots in the Napa Sonoma area. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at CGI. We paid a discounted rate, but I would have paid full price. It was cozy, quiet and very romantic. The rooms have all the amenities you need! They have a wonderful breakfast and happy hour and in room massage! One suggestion, is if you need to light a fire, you get them to do it. We couldn't get it to catch! =)

Highly recommended for a Napa Wine Get Away!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r13201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank your for your nice compliments, we're so glad you were able to stay with us and experience all that Cottage Grove Inn has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Cottage Grove Inn is a unique experience in Nappa. There are wonderful old Victorians and palatial inns to choose from, but Cottage Grove Inn is a charming cluster of individual cottages in a beautiful setting of huge moss-covered trees and flowering shrubs, right in Calistoga. Victorians are houses with folks above you, below you and that suits from time to time, but to have your own cottage, with a wood-burning fireplace, the deepest jacuzzy tube we have ever seen and an excellent sound system, provides a santuary of peace from the tourists and traffic in the busy Nappa Valley. The entire property is immaculately maintained and Donna and here staff are great to talk to about your plans. We did the Cozy Winter Nights Package which was amazing for the price. Wonderful couples massage in our cottage, thanks Liv and Leah! The package also included a very private, 2 hour wine teaching and tasting upstairs in the gorgeous Beringer Mansion itself, not the winery, with an extraordinary wine expert Dean, best teaching I have ever heard at a sophistocated level about food-pairing with wine and tasting amazing $50-$125/bottle Beringer wines (no, not White Zinfandel). Thanks Dean, can't wait to try your steak recipe. With so many tempting restaurants in Calistoga, St. Helena and Nappa, we still actually chose after a day of wine tasting to just go back to our cottage with wine and food, put logs on the fire, light classical music on the stereo, jacuzzi-tube by candlelight and just enjoy the serenity. Donna we will be back for your Summer Package.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Your review tells us that we have accomplished our goal of making Cottage Grove Inn a place to leave the stresses of life behind, sit back and really relax in our cozy cottages. You are right that there are lots of restaurants and spas and things to do and see here in Calistoga but nothing compares to spending time in the comfort of your individual cottage and really just enjoying that space. We are so lucky to be able to send our guests for a private tour and tasting with Dean at Beringer Vineyards! Dean is really an amazing host and we are so glad to get to share that experience with some of our guests! We look forward to your return this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Everything about this place was perfect. Somehow these little cottages are crammed with amenities that are all first-class. The linens are so soft -sheets, comforters, pillows, it's like sinking into a dream. The chairs in the room, entertainment center, picnic kit, fireplace, rockers on the porch, huge jacuzzi tub - all amazing, each better than the last - these folks have really thought it out. Even the little gift shop was terrific. I hate to gush but I can't think of anything I would have wanted differently. We had in-room massages and even those were perfectly coordinated. Wonderful, pampered weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Hello Sreep! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Cottage Grove Inn. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the bedding so much because we have tried our best to make it feel like you are sleeping on a cloud! We hope you can make it back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We and two other couples went for the "Cozy Winter Nights" package. Two nights, two massages, wine tasting at a vineyard, breakfast, and wine & cheese in the afternoon. A real value! The property is great, they staff pleasant and helpful, and even a bottle of sparkling wine for an anniversary/birthday celebration. A great value and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveb393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

We are glad to hear that your party had such a great time! We do have more value packages coming up for the Spring and Summer and would love to have you all back for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
432 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Brannan Cottage Inn
Brannan Cottage Inn
#5 of 27 in Calistoga
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Address: 1711 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £249 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a full breakfast daily and wine pairing in the evening of local Calistoga wines. Relax, Rejuvenate and Revive at Cottage Grove Inn on your next trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing