We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Comfy!”
Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming and Comfy!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We just spent 1 night at Cottage Grove Inn and really enjoyed it. The individual cottages are perfectly sized. There is plenty of space to relax and read, including the chairs on the front porch of each cottage. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I also really enjoyed the landscaping – the fountains and birdhouses spread over the property were great. The happy hour was good and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. Don’t miss the waffles. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddlslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
We're glad you got to take in the peaceful and beautiful setting at Cottage Grove Inn. The cottage porches seem to be a favorite among our guests, a place to enjoy a glass of wine, a cup of coffee or open a good book. Thank you for your comments and your recommendation, we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    48
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
408
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Wonderful place to celebrate our 27th anniversary. The cottages are well maintained, clean, and beautifully decorated. Very private. The staff could not be more helpful. Just a short walk, or bike ride to town. No other place for us to stay when we visit the Napa area again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for sharing and we're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We know that privacy is important to our guests and thats why those who stay with us really enjoy the individual standing cottages. We know that there is no place like Cottage Grove Inn and we're glad you agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here in June. We could not have been happier. As we pulled onto the property, there was an immediate charm. The cottages are perfectly maintained, actually they reminded me of the Truman Show, where everything was made to look perfect. The grounds were very nicely landscaped and lush. Each cottage seems to have its own personality.

We checked in and were pointed to our cabin across the lane from the office. As we went inside, there was music playing and wine and champagne waiting for us. We poured some wine and went out on the porch..again..charming.

The room was immaculate and very nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable. Every evening there was a wine and cheese reception by the office. They presented a great variety of both and there are nice seating areas inside and out to enjoy it. Breakfast is equally nice, with coffee, smoothies, and pastries.

The location is on the farther edge of town, but still easily within walking distance to the shops downtown.

Donna did a great job of checking up on everyone and making sure we had what we needed. They also arranged a tasting for us at Reverie winery. (that's a separate, equally good review..)

Thanks to Cottage Grove for making our anniversary trip so wonderful, can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rj_bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
We are so delighted that your stay with us was just perfect. We here at Cottage Grove Inn really pride ourselves on maintaining the beautiful landscape, it really adds that special touch to the cottages and increases the privacy for our guests. We're glad you were able to enjoy the town of Calistoga and all that it has to offer, we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden Hills
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Love the place. The individual cottages are much nicer than staying in a hotel. You park right in front of the cottages. The beds, baths, and seating arrangements are very comfortable. The breakfast and afternoon snacks with wine are delicious. We had four cottages right next to one another which made for great communications with our group. Donna recommended Solbar for dinner one night and it turned out to be a wonderful suggestion. We also loved Press and the CIA for dinners. We'll be back.

Room Tip: I do not think there is a bad room in the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
We're glad you chose to stay with us for your 50th Anniversary. Cottage Grove Inn is a great place for groups or wedding parties to stay for vacations or events .We're always ready to help with suggestions for groups arrangements for dining , winery tours and transportation.

Thank you for the kind comments and we will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Love, love, love the town of Calistoga and this place is centrally located, clean, cute, private, and exudes charm. Lots of solitude among the majestic trees. Rode bikes to several wineries in the area. A good value. Free wine sampling late afternoon. Can't wait to return. I don't recommend going here with other couples. This is a one couple kind of place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolita545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the surroundings here in the unique town of Calistoga. Our guests really enjoy the option of taking the complimentary bikes into town or to nearby wineries to explore. Dowtown is just 2 walking blocks for dining and shopping which is so convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband & I have stayed here a couple of times and love it! I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay! The cottages are just perfect, comfortable beds, sitting area, fireplace, music, jetted deep tub, wine & cheese in the evenings, breakfast in the morning! Its close to town and great restaurants! Look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
And we always look forward to having you again. We definitely encourage guests to visit downtown since it is within walking distance and offers a great variety of restaurants and shops, and Saturday mornings don't miss the Farmer's Market (thru October) and other fun events around town and the Napa Valley! Thank you for the recommendation and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Cottage Grove Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have stayed at some very fine inns and hotels around the US and Europe, but the Cottage Grove Inn ranks right up at the top. Everything from the friendly and helpful staff, to the beautiful wooded surroundings, to the attention to every detail in the cottages, and the lovely furnishings was unsurpassed. The proximity to the charming town of Calistoga was an added plus. And the extras such as breakfast, complimentary bikes, and the wine and cheese tastings in the evening just added to the excellence of this Inn. I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olliepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you so much for your high remarks, it means a lot to us especially from such a world traveler. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the attention to detail that Cottage Grove Inn has to offer. We look forward to seeing you next time you make a trip to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
410 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
909 reviews
3.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Property: Cottage Grove Inn
Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a buffet breakfast of fried potatoes, frittatas, breakfast egg bagel sandwiches, homemade waffles, fruit smoothies, pastries, specialty coffee drinks, and much more. Sit out on orr patio, an oasis landscaped with fountains and birdhouses beneath towering elms. Linger with an espresso on your private porch or join friends in our sunny breakfast room as you gaze into our lush gardens. Looking for local activities? Grab one our complimentary bikes and ride to Napa Valley wineries along scenic roads, or stroll to nearby shops and tasting rooms. Then relax and restore in a geo-thermal pool at one of the local spas. In the evening, create memories at our wine and cheese reception, where guests mingle on our lovely patio as they enjoy carefully selected artisan cheeses and favorite local wines. For a private alternative, snuggle up in front of your own wood-burning fireplace for an evening of romance. Rest, restore, and remember at the Cottage Grove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing