We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We were so comfortable at Cottage Grove Inn. The cottage was a well designed space. Everything about it was enjoyable, to include surround sound, fireplace, front porch, super comfy bed and chairs, picnic backpack, and the layout in the bathroom. The staff were terrific. I told Cottage Grove ahead of time that it was my parents' anniversary and there was a bottle of champagne and some goodies waiting in their cottage when we arrived. The rooms were immaculate. The breakfast included homemade quiche, smoothies, waffles and espresso. In the evening wine and cheese can be enjoyed at the main cottage or you can take a tray (or two, or three) back to your own cottage. We walked a few minutes into town and enjoyed yummy food and friendly hospitality in Calistoga. There is a great local grocery about a five minute walk away. I cannot wait to go back!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The exclusive cottage design and layout is like no other, we really do think of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible and don't forget about the complimentary wifi. We're glad you loved the complimentary breakfast served every morning including the made to order waffles and smoothies.
Thank you for sharing your review and we look forward to hosting you again for any occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    48
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
407
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

When I started looking for a place to stay at Napa Valley I was first considering Yountville, Santa Helena or Napa itself, as these were the places I had heard more of. Then, I received an email from Jetsetter with an offer for a resort at Calistoga. I immediately fell in love with the place! The resort was great, but Calistoga was exactly the town I was looking for! The possibility of biking through the wineries was all I wanted and that resort offered complimentary bikes for the guests.

I then checked on Tripadvisor to see what other options I could find at Calistoga and I found some other hotels and B&B which also had the complimentary bikes.

I saw that CGI was ranked among the best B&B in town. Checked their website and loved the place. There is no recreational area, such as pool, spa, gym, etc. But, if you wish to spend sometime at a pool or spa, you can walk accross the street and have a day spa at Indian Springs and you will not risk to have kids running outside your window ;-)

Upon our arrival at CGI we received a folder with several area recommendations, such as: a list of suggested hikings in the area, a list of suggested winery tours on bikes, best large winery tours, their favorite wineries, best private tours, small wineries in Calistoga, Tasting rooms in dowtown, Calistoga spas, Suggested Itineraries by day, a list with restaurants (address and phone number) at Calistoga, Santa Helena, Yountville, Rutherford, Napa and Healdsburg, a list with all Napa Valley Wineries (address, hours, tours, tastings and fee)!

They immediately offered to make the dinning reservations and for making things easier, they gave us a complimentary visitor pass for Calistoga Shuttle, which mean you can drink as much wine as you wish during dinner, that a shuttle will drive you back to CGI :-)

At our room, there was a small bottle of Mumm Sparkling wine with a congratulations note for my birthday. Sweet! :-)

Right after our arrival, around 5PM, we could enjoy their daily wine and cheese tastings, where they serve 2 or 3 options of white wine and red wine, different cheeses, jellies, crackers, fruits and some refreshments. Very nice! We can taste it either inside, at their breakfast area or at the ouside tables, under the trees.

Room and bathroom are very comfortable, as described by other readers. I was impressed by the assortment at the wet/dry bar area. There is an entertainment system with TV, DVD, radio and aux. connection and the inn offers several DVD´s.

In the closet, besides robes and slippers, we find the hair drier and a lovely pic nic basket (actually, a backpacking basket! ).

Only remark was the light at the shower area that wasn´t working and I forgot to tell the management. Sure they would have replaced it immediately. Our cottage was #6.

Large bathroom, with separated areas: one where a dual sink and wc are located and the other one with a large jacuzzi and shower. Both areas have zenithal lighting, as well as the bedroom itself.

Confortable king-size bed and linens. We did not use the fireplace, as nights were warm. But would have loved to!

The next day, we were ready to take our bikes and visit some wineries and pic nic at lunch hour. I mentioned to the manager that I would like to go to the Sterling Winery and she came with a map, where she pointed the winery, as well all the others she reccommended for our tour, including one with nice tables for picnicking. Then, she brought the coupons with discounts for the mentionned winneries.

Bikes came with complimentary bottles of water for our day. Another sweet touch!

We drove by the grocery shop for buying some cheeses, fruits and sandwiches. Filled up our basket and rided trough the bike path. Sooooo cool! The bike path cross some vineyards, with no cars or people walking around! The path ends at the entrance of the Sterling Winnery.

I spent those days exactly as I had dreamed of!

Thank you very much for the management for such a nice staying!

Room Tip: Cottages are located in a line along the lot. Supposely, the last cottages are quieter and more inti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenamaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Wow, thank you so much for the very detailed review of your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you were able to live out your dreams with Cottage Grove Inn. There are so many wonderful things to do in Calistoga and the downtown area is full of restaurants and shops along with many wineries within biking distance. We enjoy giving you a variety of options here at Cottage Grove Inn so when you check-in we have proposed day trips and we're always happy to make reservations for you. For future reference regarding the light in the shower area, it is actually attached to the heater lamp in the bath area - quick fix! Sorry we did not mention this. Thank you again for the amazing review and sharing your pictures. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Just stayed there for four nights. The cottages are extremely comfortable, posh but not fussy. The property has a tall canopy of trees that makes it intimate and cool during the warm weather. Donna and staff are all great, helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were terrific...so was the wine and cheese hour (2 hours) daily. We met some lovely folks and enjoyed our stay immensely. Would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The cottages on the office side of the property are off the main drag and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
We look forward to your return as well! It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're always creating new promotions and special packages for our guests so they can experience the Napa Valley in the most unique way.
Until next time, thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We found CGI online and knew immediately this was the place for us after several weeks of researching other hotels and B&Bs in the area. We visited the area to attend a wedding and tour Napa Valley for 7 days/nights. CGI management thought of EVERYTHING with these accommodations. The cottage (#14) was quaint and intimate with a KG size bed, 2 large cushy chairs, fireplace, fully stocked wet/dry bar area, mini-refrigerator and an entertainment system w/ TV, DVD, Radio, and Auxilary connection. My husband hooked up his iPad to play our selected music as soon as we arrived. Bathroom includes dual vanity sinks and a jacuzzi tub which accommodates 2 people easily, and his/her robes & slippers to use during your stay. We had our own private outdoor sitting area w/ chairs and ottomans and a running water fountain which was on timers to turn off/on automatically each day.

Continental breakfast is available every AM, with the option for made-to-order belgian waffles, smoothies, and cappuchinos, hot chocolate, coffees and teas. The reception area also offers a homemade different flavored water and tea every day. There are an assortment of coupons, discounts, brochures to various wineries and other venues in the Napa/Sonoma Valley area, so check them out and take advantage of the savings! They also have a binder full of menus from local restaurants - my husband and I were wanting something "different" and browsed through the menu binder. (Side note: Came across the Gott's Roadside menu in St. Helena and ventured out - Awesome choice w/ incredible burgers and fish/shrimp tacos and shakes.)

The evening wine/cheese reception is also a nice touch each day and gives you an opportunity to meet your neighbors and "compare notes" on your day's events if you'd like.

We took a couple of bikes out one day and toured some of the wineries which were within a couple of miles of CGI. Was a perfect day! Everyday was perfect! We couldn't have asked for anything more, they truly thought of everything and if it's not in your cottage, don't hesitate to ask the front desk, they'll have an answer or solution for you.

Thank you CGI for making our stay one we won't forget! And we're already recommending you to our friends & family. We'll definitely be back on our next visit!

Room Tip: I don't think you'll go wrong w/ any cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
What an amazing week you had in the Napa Valley, we are so pleased you chose to stay with us at Cottage Grove Inn! It sounds like you did a little bit of everything which we love to hear. We're glad you enjoyed the wine & cheese tasting in the evenings and got to mingle with others, our guests are the best! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Make sure your friends and family let us know you recommended Cottage Grove Inn!

A special note - check our website for our Once-A-Year promotion around Thanksgiving time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed two nights here to celebrate our anniversary. We were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne and a note of congratulations from the owner - very impressive! The cottages are VERY comfortable with a fabulous bathroom, cozy seating area w/ a working fireplace and a comfy bed. The B&B in is within waling distance of many shops and restaurants and there is a bike trail nearby. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carroll82209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Wine Country is the ultimate destination to spend your Anniversary! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the cozy feeling of our individual cottages at Cottage Grove Inn. Thank you for staying with us and the amazing review!
We look forward to seeing you again for another special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We picked this B&B based on travel books and reviews and were charmed to arrive on this street of lovely little cottages. Cottage Grove Inn is a B&B in terms of providing breakfast and a nice wine and cheese hour, but the privacy of these cottages is not like most B&Bs. The staffing was more hotel like, which was fine. Our cottage had a big bed, comfy chairs facing a fireplace, a huge bathroom with jacuzzi, and a well stocked kitchenette area behind folding doors - plus chairs and private lawn furniture. Everything was quite lovely. We did not use the free bicycles but we were thrilled with the free bottled water - quite unusual these days. We were there for two nights, a lovely, romantic place to relax after days of touring and wine tasting. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us...coming all the way from the East Coast.
Thank you for recognizing all the special touches here at Cottage Grove Inn, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washinton wv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed 1 night as we traveled through northern california staying at B&B's along the way. This was our favorite. The
Staff was very friendly and accomadating. The individual cottages were beautifully decorated and very comfortable, especially the beds. We loved all the extras, wine and cheese in the evening, bicycles, backpacks, robes, movie rentals and within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We're so glad to hear that we were your favorite B&B during your Northern California adventure. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Property: Cottage Grove Inn
Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a buffet breakfast of fried potatoes, frittatas, breakfast egg bagel sandwiches, homemade waffles, fruit smoothies, pastries, specialty coffee drinks, and much more. Sit out on orr patio, an oasis landscaped with fountains and birdhouses beneath towering elms. Linger with an espresso on your private porch or join friends in our sunny breakfast room as you gaze into our lush gardens. Looking for local activities? Grab one our complimentary bikes and ride to Napa Valley wineries along scenic roads, or stroll to nearby shops and tasting rooms. Then relax and restore in a geo-thermal pool at one of the local spas. In the evening, create memories at our wine and cheese reception, where guests mingle on our lovely patio as they enjoy carefully selected artisan cheeses and favorite local wines. For a private alternative, snuggle up in front of your own wood-burning fireplace for an evening of romance. Rest, restore, and remember at the Cottage Grove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing