We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home...but better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“A home away from home...but better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I really want to thank the entire staff of Cottage Grove Inn for such a lovely stay! The four of us enjoyed your hospitality and the Inns were fantastic. Everything was quaint and cozy. My favorite was the whirlpool! My best friend and I were celebrating our 50th birthdays and it was a treat and a pleasure to celebrate the occasion in Calistoga. The Groupon featured a couple massage that was absolutely the best! I wish we could have stayed longer! Thank you again for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divabunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Divabunnie,
You are so sweet! Thank you so much for the thoughtful and kind words.
I have to say you picked the best place to spend a very special occasion.
The 2 person whirpool jacuzzi tubs are a definite favorite among our guests...and we're so glad you enjoyed in full relaxation at Cottage Grove Inn.
We hope to see you again next time.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    47
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
405
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We started off our 30th anniversary celebration here! Although we had a late landing in SFO and rushed to the inn as we had set up dinner reservations, check in was a breeze. We loved our private little cottage - kind of a home away from home. The bed was comfortable, the jacuzzi tub delightful, the fireplace cozy. It was a wonderful experience.
Helpful hints- the pillows weren't as firm as we like and flattened quite easily-although it did not keep us from sleeping at all. Breakfast- you need to ask for the quiche, the smoothies and waffles. So much is made to order, it isn't there unless you inquire. We had planned to use the bicycles but didn't end up using them as due to weather and walking was just so much easier.

Can't say enough about the office staff, kitchen staff and room attendants. Everything was wonderful, we will love to come back.

Room Tip: Unfortunately don't know a tip. We only stayed in Cottage # 16. It was quite nice and was righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
To FloridaBetsy,
What a great way to celebrate your 30th Anniversary...the beautiful Napa Valley!
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with others, it sounds like you had a marvelous time. Cottage Grove Inn is such a perfect place to celebrate a special occasion! We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My daughter bought us a 2 night stay here for our anniversary. Calistoga is only an hour drive from our home so we seldom stay. If you have not visited this area, Calistoga is the nicest of the towns in the area. St. Helena and Napa lack the quaint feeling Calistoga possesses. Cottage Grove Inn is one of the nicest properties I have stayed at. The cottages are nicely appointed with local art work, huge spa tubs and a great shower. The entertainment center is nicer than the one I have at home. They have a great video library as well. Real wood burning fireplaces complete the ambiance. They offer a wonderful breakfast and wine and cheese tasting daily. The staff is absolutely wonderful and you will want for nothing. A great selection of restaurants and shops are within walking distance. One thing that really impressed me was there where no upcharges, everything was complimentary. Very rare these days. If you plan on visiting the wine country definitely consider this hotel for your lodging.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Jerry,
That was so sweet of your daughter to buy you a 2-night stay, what a priceless gift for your Anniversary. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and recognized the uniqueness Calistoga shares with visitors. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a wonderful gem nestled in Calistoga! Can't wait to go back again & again!!! The staff is the friendliest staff we've encountered in a long time & not just one or two of them but everyone who was on the grounds. The grounds are beautiful & the cabins are cozy & romantic. They're equipped with everything you need. The breakfast & cheese and wine reception are worth the price of admission alone!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
To Lina,
"Definite return trip" is music to our ears!
We take great pride in our customer service and our beautiful grounds because we understand it makes a world of difference to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again and again!

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
round mountain ca.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night wish it could have been longer. Perfect place to stay with your hunny. Loved riding bikes around town (they even supplied helmets and water) breakfast was excellent. Try the smoothies they get an A+

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank darlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Darlene,
What a romantic getaway, right out of a love story....riding bikes throughout the beautiful Napa Valley, beautiful shades of green passing you in the wind...Cottage Grove Inn really is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic getaway with your hunny.
We appreciate you taking time to write a review for our future guests and we hope to see you again soon!

Take care,
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We had 3 cabins for 7 people send had a just perfect stay! We had 3 people in one room that was split into 3 twins. It felt comfortable and not at all cramped. The roo s were beautiful with the perfect amount of privacy. We loved sitting on the patio and sharing wine and the bathrooms are like a whole other room. The beds were like sleeping on clouds! We loved everything about it. It was within easy walking distance to great restaurants and lovely breakfast. There are great extras in each room, like bottle openers, mini fridge, fireplaces...The list goes on. Its a perfect jumping off point for a variety of wine valleys, we easily visited the Alexander and dry creek within 20 min of a beautiful drive. We will be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
To Allis G,
You said it right, what a perfect getaway!
Great idea planning a trip with a bunch of friends! Cottage Grove Inn is always happy to accommodate groups traveling together when planned in advance. We're ecstatic to hear that everything was perfect and everyone enjoyed themselves. Thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

A must go for couples who enjoy wine and fireplaces! This hotel is centered in the coziest little town called Calistoga. Calistoga itself has so much to offer, scenic bike trails, spas all over, delicious restaurants and hikes within driving distance. The Cottage Grove Inn is a gem in this area. The cottage is super clean, very pretty decor, has a fireplace, a jacuzzi and they even greet you with two little cookies to welcome you to your room. I can go on and on about this place but for those who want to know all the details... It has little windows on ceilings throughout the cottage to let the daylight in, your own AC/heating unit, private parking, personal porch, his and her sinks, and the bed feels like you're sleeping on a cloud. From 5-7 they have complimentary cheese and wine tasting in the office cottage, it's very tasty and something to look forward to every evening. Their breakfast sets the bar pretty high for other "hotels" in that you can choose from fresh made waffles, quiche, smoothies, toast, yogurt, fruit, coffee, cappuccino, anything you could want in the morning is pretty much here. Must, must, must go for couples- and for that little extra touch you can have the room sprinkled with rose petals. This place is gorgeous!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dearest Michelle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests. It sounds like you definitely explored the beautiful Calistoga area and all that Cottage Grove Inn has to offer.
We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to you next visit!

Take care,
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
3.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Property: Cottage Grove Inn
Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a buffet breakfast of fried potatoes, frittatas, breakfast egg bagel sandwiches, homemade waffles, fruit smoothies, pastries, specialty coffee drinks, and much more. Sit out on orr patio, an oasis landscaped with fountains and birdhouses beneath towering elms. Linger with an espresso on your private porch or join friends in our sunny breakfast room as you gaze into our lush gardens. Looking for local activities? Grab one our complimentary bikes and ride to Napa Valley wineries along scenic roads, or stroll to nearby shops and tasting rooms. Then relax and restore in a geo-thermal pool at one of the local spas. In the evening, create memories at our wine and cheese reception, where guests mingle on our lovely patio as they enjoy carefully selected artisan cheeses and favorite local wines. For a private alternative, snuggle up in front of your own wood-burning fireplace for an evening of romance. Rest, restore, and remember at the Cottage Grove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing