We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AZ. Friends Get Away & Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #4 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned for a delightful 3 day stay and we could not be more pleased! Cottage was wonderful, breakfast and happy hour more than we expected! We can't wait to return and bring even more friends. Thank you for exceed our expectations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Judy,

Three whole days at Cottage Grove Inn! We're so pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed the beautiful Napa Valley... the weather has just been perfect! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we can't wait to see you and your friends during your next visit.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

First visit to Calistoga and don't think we could have picked a better place to stay. The cottages are within walking distance to downtown shops, restaurants, yet feel very secluded when you're on the property. Staff was extremely friendly, allowing us to check in early when we stopped in to pick up wine tasting coupons that were included in our stay. I had mentioned it was my birthday when making reservation and there was a nice note in our cottage along with a cute little bottle of champagne. Wine & cheese reception and the breakfast were both excellent. Not one single complaint! Bed was so comfy! Found myself wishing weather was cooler so we could use the fireplace. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer. Will definitely book again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wags251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Wags251,
What a great way to spend your birthday in the beautiful Napa Valley!
We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all that Cottage Grove Inn has to offer.
The real wood fire place definitely gives a romantic feel when it is a bit cooler outside so you'll have to come back and enjoy that. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests and we look forward to hosting you again!

Cheers!
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I knew this would be a pleasant stay as I did the research and read the reviews. This was our first visit to Napa and I wanted it to be nice. The Cottage Grove in met and exceeded m expectations on many levels. The property is laid out very nicely with wonderful landscaping. The attention to detail is evident in the elements of the individual cottages, one would expect nice bathrobes, bathroom accessories, etc. and they were all there. The extras that surprised me included a stocked bird feeder in the yard, complete with a resident finch. An entertainment/snack center that was well stocked. Lighting that was well coordinated and easy to control. These are some of extra touches that made this a tremendous stay.

Room Tip: I thought the end rooms would be a problem since you did not get to park right in front of your cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Grant,
Wow thank you so much for the thoughtful comments and feedback.
We're so glad to hear that your first visit to the Napa Valley was a huge success.
Each of the individual cottages at Cottage Grove Inn are personally decorated with unique attention to detail and yes we do try to think of everything. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Any place can offer robes, fluffy towels and jacuzzi bathtubs. But do you know what Donna Johnson offers at the Cottage Grove Inn? Aside from Donna's delightful personality, Cottage Grove seems to have thought of everything. From the big wheeled bicycles (with helmets, baskets and locks) at your door to the charming picnic basket back pack tucked away in the closet, Cottage Grove hospitality touches are everywhere. I loved my very deep bathtub with very hot water. I actually watch a bizllion movies from the 4 and a half page movie list and on Netflix too. I loved the comfy bed with its cottage chic linens, comforter and matte lass coverlet. Good lighting to get some work (thankfully just a bit) done online with complementary WIFI.
The food was wonderful -- wine and cheese in the afternoon and for breakfast: I am not a waffle fan, but these were terrific. Loads of fresh fruit. And may I just say an expresso cappuccino machine in the common room as well as a Keurig in the room. For one who travels with her own Santa Cruz Roasting Co Sweet Italian Blend, this treasure is a true blessing! I'm so glad I discovered such a gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artsproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dearest artsproject,

You are too kind!
We greatly appreciate your thoughtful and detailed review regarding your stay at Cottage Grove Inn.
We do our very best to accommodate our guests and make them feel right at home.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again!

Cheers!
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We really enjoyed having an individual cottage, very private and quaint. The beds are very comfortable, large bathroom with lovely hot tub (Really Hot!) and fills up fast, nice touch for such a large tub. Nice sitting area in front of fireplace. Walked to dinner at JoLe (excellent!)
The receptionist was friendly and the breakfast was quite good.
My only two quibbles were: the mini-fridge was Really Loud! It even woke my husband up once and he is a heavy sleeper. Not sure if it's just the one in that cottage, but when it runs it really WHINES. The other problem I had, which wouldn't matter if you are an early riser, and also probably depends on the time of year, was the skylight over the bed. While it seemed like a nice touch when we arrived in the afternoon, I was hoping to sleep in the next morning (on vacation and also perhaps a wee bit hungover) but by about 9 am the sun was shining quite brightly directly onto the bed. Not nice, especially after an overly festive evening previous.
Overall I would stay there again, possibly inquire into the fridge and skylight issues beforehand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

To betzd,

Thank you so much for the kind words and feedback about your stay with us. Cottage Grove Inn does provide two sleeping masks in each cottage located on the bathroom vanity. The trees are just coming into full foliage and will be covering the skylight in full soon. I will also have my staff look into the mini fridge and see if it needs replacement.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again next time.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a GREAT little get away. Spent two very enjoyable nights , staff,service, and complementary breakfast were all excellent. Can't wait to return.The location was perfectly
located at the junction of Hwy 29 and Silvarado Trail.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

To 33palmer,

What a great way to spend a special Birthday Celebration in the Napa Valley!
Thank you for choosing Cottage Grove Inn and for taking the time to write a review about your stay.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent 3 blissful nights at the Cottage Grove Inn to celebrate my husband's birthday--I think it was our 8th time there. The service, accommodations, food, and special touches are amazing. Donna, the manager extraordinaire, is excellent--she's even ready to share where to buy bedding items! The Inn is tucked away in relatively sleepy (thank goodness) Calistoga, where it is so relaxing to return after a day out with the busy crowds and traffic of wine country. There are great restaurants within walking distance, or use the (free to CGI guests) Calistoga Shuttle. We had massages in the cottage--some of the best we've ever had (arranged by Donna). Will be back soon!

Room Tip: They are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPSC Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

To MPSC Traveler,

"8th time staying at Cottage Grove Inn" this has to be a record, traveling all the way from South Carolina. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with our future guests. We appreciate you as returning guests and for pointing out all the amenities our guests get to enjoy during their stay with us!

Take care and we'll definitely look forward to seeing you next time,
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.3 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Brannan Cottage Inn
Brannan Cottage Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £267 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a full breakfast daily and wine pairing in the evening of local Calistoga wines. Relax, Rejuvenate and Revive at Cottage Grove Inn on your next trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing