We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Charm”
Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #3 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tucked away at the end of the main street this very cozy and charming cottage inn is everything you could want in a get away. Excellent ambiance, facilities and very friendly and welcoming service. If you are looking for a romantic place or just a quiet retreat it's perfect. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the cottages are individual and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dasherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

To Dasherr
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your stay at Cottage Grove Inn. We couldn't agree with you more and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the moment we arrived it was a pleasure. I loved that they have a fireplace, a large tub and chaise lounge chair as well as another chair and ottoman. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were perfect. You can walk to town within a few blocks and not have to worry about driving. The cottages provide all the amenities you would expect on your ideal trip. The cleanliness of the room was spot on. the staff was great. There are bikes to ride and the porch to just curl up and read in your rocking chair. Breakfast in the morning and wine and cheese in the evening makes it easy to meet some of the guest since you never see them and the 17 cottages were at full occupancy. Very relaxing and of course there are so many things to do nearby if you choose. We would most certainly come back again only 1 1/4 hours from San Francisco.

Room Tip: Any cottage you get should be wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2cherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear 2cherie,

What wonderful comments for our future guests to read, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Even a quick weekend getaway from the city can be so enjoyable. We're glad you were pleased with all the amenities in the room we truly go above & beyond here at Cottage Grove Inn.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Take care,
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Cottage Grove Inn was a nice surprise - I didn't expect it to be so cozy and romantic. The staff is friendly and accommodating. I loved the extra touches they provided: music and a bottle of wine as you enter the room, the wine and cheese get together at the end of the day and the wonderful breakfast. This is a great value. We were celebrating our Anniversary and hope to make it a yearly getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

To Judi R,

Thank you for thinking of us as the go-to romantic place to stay for your special occasion. With all the quaint and quiet features at Cottage Grove Inn, it truly is a romantic getaway. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with our future guests.
The breakfast along with the wine & cheese are our guests favorites and we're glad you enjoyed them as well!
We look forward to hosting you again!

Cheers!
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is our third time (or fourth?) at Cottage Grove. It is a gem of a place and the service and stay are always excellent. There has obviously been a lot of ongoing attention to detail.. The Inn itself is well situated and close to everything. Breakfast (included) is always great as is the afternoon wine and cheese. The rooms are private, well-appointed and the front porch and sitting areas lovely. We travel A LOT and we rarely go back to the same place more than once but this place keeps drawing us back. If you want a relaxing vacation yet with something to do then this is where we always think of.

Room Tip: We prefer cottage 1 because it is at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobwoodcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear bobwoodcco,
We love to hear from our return guests and mentioning that you usually don't stay at the same places but you do continue to stay at Cottage Grove Inn just warms our hearts and makes us feel so very special. It means a lot when guests return to us for a 2nd or 3rd visit...or 4th in your case.
We truly value your business and we always look forward to your stay.

Take care and we'll see you soon,
Donna Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I also enjoyed a long weekend here. The cottage was perfect. Room was very clean, beautifully decorated ( I wanted the painting over the fireplace it was so lovely ) and charming. The staff was friendly; the setting, with the tree lived drive, so picturesque. Loved the fact that bicycles are available and included with your stay. Loved getting up in the morning and biking to local wineries! Will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloryCalifronia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Planning my 30th wedding anniversary - I wanted to leave nothing to chance. My wife and I are very well travelled and we have set the bar fairly high when it comes to level of service. It's not that our expectations are unreasonable, but very specifically - we expect what we pay for. Cottage Grove Inn left us feeling like we underpaid!!! The accommodations were better than we expected... often times the glamour shots on a travel website capture anything but the reality of a facility. In this case, the web photos and reviews were dead on!!! On to the staff.... From the front desk to the breakfast staff to the housekeeping and maintenance staff - every single person made us feel like we were a guest in their world, and they did it in such a genuine manner that is overwhelmed us. If you are planning a trip to Napa, skip all other locations and stay in Calistoga... And stay nowhere except Cottage Grove Inn!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a long weekend here for our 35th anniversary, and we were completely charmed by the whole experience of Cottage Grove Inn. On a winter weekend so rainy that we were forced to cancel all our outdoor plans, we were happiy content to curl up on comfy armchairs before a blazing fire (plenty of firewood delivered regularly) with a bottle of complimentary champagne and just enjoy the relaxing vibe. The staff was remarkably friendly and thoughtful, breakfast was delicious, and our hot tub-built-for-two was a fun extra. We recommend this place highly and look forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Brannan Cottage Inn
Brannan Cottage Inn
#5 of 27 in Calistoga
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Address: 1711 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £250 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a full breakfast daily and wine pairing in the evening of local Calistoga wines. Relax, Rejuvenate and Revive at Cottage Grove Inn on your next trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing