We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming cottage with extras”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottage Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottage Grove Inn
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming cottage with extras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The tree lined street with flower gardens and fountains are the first impression when you drive into the lot to check-in. The cottage was ready for us early, the classical music playing as we walked in the door. Beautifully decorated and furnished. The cheese and wine happy hour is an opportunity to meet other guests in the common areas. This is the romantic place to stay in Calistoga.

Room Tip: Plan on spending time in your cottage, no need to make other plans. It is that nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeSweetOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    47
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
405
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the romantic music playing when we walked in to the fluffy pillows. We were impressed by every step of the hospitality and service. The free cheese and wine was thoughtful and brunch of smoothies, quiche and fresh waffles....let's just say was the BEST. We feel like royalty here and blessed that we were able to stay here. They offered free bicycles that we used to visit the natural geyser and wineries. This was our 1year anniversary and we will be making our stay am annual tradition! Thank you ;)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleshaenglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our third trip back to Cottage Grove-it had been several years since our last visit. These cottages are just a sweet as ever. Nowadays you expect places to change for the worse, for little extras to be gone--NOT the case- Cottage Grove was exactly as remembered. The attention to every detail is still there. The little extras and your needs perceived before you ask-still there. The bed is the most comfortable bed hands down of any place I've ever stayed. It is a little slice of romantic, tranquil heaven on earth. You can walk to town, with many restaurant opportunities-so you can enjoy the wine and cheese welcome reception and not worry about having to drive anywhere. They have bikes so you can ride around the Napa Valley if so inclined. Can't wait to get back and stay longer!

Room Tip: All the cottages are equal, located on a quiet avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jtktand3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
To Jtktand3,
So glad to hear that your stay was just as you remembered...if not better than last time.
Thank you for your kind comments and touching on some of the new amenities like the complimentary bikes that are available for our guests; equipped with winery maps, locks, helmets and more!
We're so glad you had a chance to come back and stay with us again!

Take care,
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband & I were able to reserve a room with very short notice. I'm pretty sure this is not the norm and we were very lucky to get in. The Cottage Grove is a delightful property, with perhaps the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on! We were in Cottage # 1 which is the closest to the main shopping/dining area of Lincoln Ave. It was peaceful & serene. We're sorry we missed the wine & cheese reception, but were able to enjoy a gourmet breakfast on the outside patio. The breakfast staff was so accommodating. Cappucino & quiche & freshly prepared waffles. We've been to Calistoga a million times before, but this trip we discovered so many new charming features. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The rooms are all along in one row. Cottage #1 is private. You have to walk past #2 to enter. I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCOttav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dearest WCOttav,
We're so glad you had the opportunity to stay with us during your Calistoga visit.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with our future guests.
The beds at Cottage Grove Inn are definitely one of our guests favorites probably because they're handmade double sided mattresses made right here in Northern California by a family owned business.
Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you are going to the wine country this is the place to stay. Attractive individual cottages decorated tastefully. Great location and walking distance to everything in Calistoga. Truly a getaway to relax in style. Staff is the best and are very accommodating.

Room Tip: All the cottages are great! Very popular resort so plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Cliff D.
"One of the Best in Napa Valley" is more than we could ask for!
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Cottage Grove Inn truly is the best place to stay when you want to relax in style or celebrate a special occasion. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Cottage Grove Inn was so much better than expected. We had an extremely long drive and to see that beautiful little cottage at the end of day was just fabulous . The wine and cheese was a nice touch and the breakfasts were outstanding. All the staff were so friendly and the owner Donna is a gem.
Loved our visit to the Napa Valley, this place was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Unit 14 small garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Bev C.
After a long drive or travel day to the Napa Valley all you want is to relax and we're so pleased that your stay with us was "better than expected". Calistoga has so much to offer our visitors: great downtown full of boutique shops and the finest restaurants just walking distance from Cottage Grove Inn. A variety of spas to choose from as well specializing in mud baths or you can schedule a couples massage right in your personal cottage. And of course the wineries and the many local events going on throughout the year.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care,
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tucked away at the end of the main street this very cozy and charming cottage inn is everything you could want in a get away. Excellent ambiance, facilities and very friendly and welcoming service. If you are looking for a romantic place or just a quiet retreat it's perfect. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the cottages are individual and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna J, General Manager at Cottage Grove Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
To Dasherr
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your stay at Cottage Grove Inn. We couldn't agree with you more and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Cheers!
Donna Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.1 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove Inn

Property: Cottage Grove Inn
Address: 1711 Lincoln Avenue, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottage Grove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Napa Valley's laid-back luxury in your private resort cottage nestled amid tall trees and lush landscape at Cottage Grove Inn. Tucked into the picturesque wine country village of Calistoga, this tranquil setting is just a short stroll to restaurants, cafes, boutiques and galleries. Each of our 16 private cottages is uniquely appointed with the finest quality furnishings, soft linens and plush down bedding on a luxurious king bed. Sink into overstuffed chairs by your own crackling fire or restore in a deep-soaking Jacuzzi tub for two. Filled with character and charm, our cozy cottages feature reclaimed hardwood floors from an old whiskey distillery, vaulted ceilings with skylights and a front porch with wicker rockers for warm summer nights. Enjoy a buffet breakfast of fried potatoes, frittatas, breakfast egg bagel sandwiches, homemade waffles, fruit smoothies, pastries, specialty coffee drinks, and much more. Sit out on orr patio, an oasis landscaped with fountains and birdhouses beneath towering elms. Linger with an espresso on your private porch or join friends in our sunny breakfast room as you gaze into our lush gardens. Looking for local activities? Grab one our complimentary bikes and ride to Napa Valley wineries along scenic roads, or stroll to nearby shops and tasting rooms. Then relax and restore in a geo-thermal pool at one of the local spas. In the evening, create memories at our wine and cheese reception, where guests mingle on our lovely patio as they enjoy carefully selected artisan cheeses and favorite local wines. For a private alternative, snuggle up in front of your own wood-burning fireplace for an evening of romance. Rest, restore, and remember at the Cottage Grove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottage Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing