We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat”
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We took a long weekend trip with a group of friends. We had a great time touring the Napa Vineyards, but the highlight of our trip was our stay at the Chateau de Vie. The setting was beautiful! Phillip and Peter were the best hosts!! They treated us as special guests and made the most delicious breakfasts and a truly enjoyable happy hour. They spent quality time with us, but also were very discreet to allow us quality time with our friends. I have recommended this B&B to all my friends and I highly recommend this to anyone who reads this review! i will return to the Chateau de Vie!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jkmauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2007

We absolutely enjoyed every aspect of our three night stay at Chateau de Vie with two other couples. We have been to Napa Valley on three other occasions, and will no longer need to search for a better location.

Just a few minutes north of Calistoga, Chateau de Vie is a beautiful home with all the perfect amenities, from the lovely landscaped property to the well appointed rooms.

There are two or three bedrooms on the second floor of the house and a larger bedroom on the third floor. The main floor is comprised of a living room, dining room and kitchen area. At the back of the living room, there are patio doors that open onto a large deck, complete with several seating areas, hot tub, pool and a breathtaking view of the valley in the distance. Everything inside and out oozes with charm and ambience.

We stayed in the carriage house, just a few steps away which is well worth the extra fee charged. Each morning, we would receive our coffee and tea outside our door. Delicious breakfasts were served outside on the deck overlooking the vineyard along with helpful suggestions on tours to take during the day. What a beautiful sight each day! Very spacious and enjoyable area to linger with a cup of coffee or tea while planning the days activities, or returning after a busy day and enjoying a glass of wine. There are several bottles available to sample in the dining room, which was a nice touch.

After three full days of touring around, our only regret was not booking an extra day just to lay around and relax by the pool and enjoy the beauty of it all. We did use the hot tub and pool a few times in the evening, but wished we could have had one extra lazy day just to enjoy the peaceful beauty and charm of Chateau de Vie. Everything about it was simply perfect!

I took alot of photos and will try to send them in a future post.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jaypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2007

We stayed at the Chateau de Vie Bed and Breakfast for five nights last week. We have nothing more to add to the previous reviews other than to say that three people in our group were attending cooking classes at the Culinary Institute of America and that Phillip's breakfasts surpassed the fare provided at the Institute. We stayed in the room that a previous guest described as noisy. We had no complaints in that regard, staying in a B&B is like living in a home and those sorts of background noises are to be expected. One last additional remark is that we loved having coffee placed just outside our door first thing in the morning. Ellen and Jack

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank trogon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

My wife and I planned our Napa trip for our 15th anniversary. We went with two other couples from our neighborhood. Another neighbor of ours who unfortunately could not make the trip highly recommended the Chateau de Vie. Her recommendation proved to be great. The Chateau de Vie is the perfect B&B experience in the Napa Valley. The house is beautiful with spectacular views and a very peaceful setting. The accommodations were comfortable and very clean. Most importantly, though, it is Peter and Phillip who make this an incredible place to stay. They are perfect hosts in every sense of the word. They are extremely warm and friendly yet never intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with them over wine and appetizers. The breakfasts are simply amazing and live up to all the reviews. They were unique, wonderfully prepared, and delicious. The CDV wine from their vineyard is also quite good and worth bringing home. Everyone in our group raved about the CDV and agreed that Peter and Phillip really made our trip memorable. We give the CDV the highest possible recommendation and can't wait for a return trip. Many thanks to Peter and Phillip for their hospitality. (Don't forget to ask Phillip about the napkin tricks my mischievous wife taught him.)

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KensingtonTattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at CDV. Let me save you all the time we spent looking for a place and tell you to just book CDV. The accommodations were classic and soothing - beautiful warm colors and the bed was lovely. The location is spectacular with the deck overlooking the vineyard and hills in the background. Peter and Philip were gracious and very informative. They gave us great recommendations and interesting bits of local information. Breakfasts were fabulous - LOVED the blueberry corn muffins and cheese and wine in the evening was a pleasure. The only complaint would be that our room was a little noisy due to its location. It was flanked by bathrooms on 2 walls and we were disturbed by other guests coming and going and using their bathrooms. I have not noticed other complaints about this so maybe we are sensitive or the other guests were abnormally loud. Overall, this did not bother us so much that we would not stay again. If we return to Calistoga, we would most certainly make it our 1st choice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBPTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

My wife and I took our first "big vacation" and stayed at the Chateau de Vie. Our reservations first had us at the Chanrick in but due to construction at that inn we were recommended to Chateau. We could not have been more happy. The grounds are beautiful. It is located off the road and at the edge of a vineyard. The home itself is immaculate and fit for somebody with a lot more money than me. Peter, though, makes you feel right at home. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The house wine was Mark West, a pinot that can't be beat for the price.

The best part of our stay, though, were the breakfasts. We went to many restaurants in our stay but none could beat the morning meals prepared by Peter at the Chateau de Vie! The breakfasts alone were worth the trip.

STAY HERE. The place is beautiful. The owners are great. The food is wonderful. The wine is flowing. You will be very happy with your choice ... and between you and me? The Chanrick doesn't look all that it is cracked up to be...right off the highway and all.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank indiechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

I've spent a lot of time on the road and am not easy to impress. Further, I don't usually write reviews or fill out surveys. Most importantly, however, when I see reviews that are almost all "5s" I become extremely skeptical. Therefore, I breathed a huge sigh of relief upon arriving at Chateau De Vie.

My wife and I stayed at 4 different places on a recent vacation to Northern California and there wasn't a close second. We were told the building was built as a B&B around antique windows, which creates a charming setting without the inconveniences of an antique building - very tastefully done. It is surrounded by the owners' vineyard and has a wonderful deck, on which breakfast was served, about 10 yards away from a vine-covered fence separating the hot tub and lap pool. Walking paths with a fountain, nice gardens and jazz music piped into a few speakers on the grounds added to the relaxing atmosphere.

We checked in before other guests, so we were able to see what a few of the rooms looked like - all well-appointed with antiques, comfortable beds and no tvs or phones. Bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless and updated. Spa robes/slippers in the rooms and big towels for the pool. Lots of books/magazines and local knowledge from the owners.

There was wine greeting us every afternoon (both red and white) and a fridge on the deck stocked with soda and water. Breakfasts were quite impressive - made from scratch and served to guests at individual tables on the deck - they do share recipes. Our first morning it was apricot/walnut scones and the chef's version of "Green Eggs & Ham" (poached eggs with pesto over french bread with prosciutto). The hosts were gracious and accommodating and the rates were reasonable.

If you're like me, you're going to think it sounds "too good to be true," but Chateau De Vie is definitely a gem. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank With_The_Band
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
2.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#3 of 27 in Calistoga
581 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embrace Calistoga
Embrace Calistoga
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Brannan Cottage Inn
Brannan Cottage Inn
#5 of 27 in Calistoga
170 reviews
2.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
21.4 mi away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £164 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing