We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I had imagined, and more!”
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #2 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
“Everything I had imagined, and more!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This was our first time at the Chateau de Vie for our Commitment ceremony in Napa. Philip and Peter exceeded our expectations on one of the most important days of our lives. They attended to every request and spent time sharing their favorite parts of Napa. My favortie time of the day during our stay was breakfast!! We woke up every morning to the smell of fresh roasted coffee and we enjoyed the tranquil garden while eating peacefully with views of the vineyard. Philip made breakfast you typically find in a 5 star restaurant!! Excellent presentation and very delicious!
One thing I was unaware of was that they actually are a winery and their red was fantastic!!
We are certainly looking forward to our anniversary next year!! It cannot come soon enough!
Don't think twice about it......

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
366
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midpines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

If you have read reviews of this property, they are correct. Peter and Phillip are wonderful. Outstanding service, understated yet personal attention to everything, breakfast was masterful, beautiful grounds. We stayed in the King Jr. Suite upstairs. Softest comfiest bed and seclusion. Make your reservations now for next year right now or risk be disappointed. Been to Calistoga area over 20 times and this place is our favorite by a long shot.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We really didn't expect the kind of service that we received with the B&B. We are use to staying in 4 to 5 star hotels but wanted to give B&B's a try and we were not disappointed. The owners were excited to see us, made sure that every wish that we had was taken care of immediately and the breakfast!!! To die for. We would return

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Lucked into this wonderful B&B for a last minute weekend getaway. The owners Phillip and Peter could not be more gracious, accommodating and helpful. Our room was lovely with yummy bathrobes, snacks, water bottles. Wine and fruit available at all times, cheese and snack plate brought to us at the pool, breakfast out on the patio overlooking the vineyard. We'll definitely be back. Oh and they loved out dog too. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at Chateau de Vie in Calistoga. We were hesitant in going to the northern, less familiar part of the Napa Valley but the extra 30 minute drive from Napa to Calistoga is well worth the trip.

Phillip greeted us and walked us to our room. We had a beautifully appointed junior suite on the 2nd floor, overlooking the patio, vineyards and lap pool. Chateau de Vie is a boutique style inn with 5 beautiful rooms.

What you read on the Inn's own web site is exactly what you receive and experience when staying at Chateau de Vie. Luxurious comfort, beautiful surroundings and gracious hosts.

... and Phillip' breakfasts were amazing and made to order (thank you!).

We visited several boutique style wineries during our stay; many of which can only be visited by appointment. This region of the Valley is less touristy and a nice change from the more crowded Napa region.

We can't wait for our next visit :-)

Room Tip: Being so close to vineyards; there are wasps that visit you during the meal period. Not a big deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeotheLion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just got back from our first trip to Napa area and if we go back, we would never even think of staying anywhere else ! Phillip and Peter and Gretchen were outstanding, the property was so nice and relaxing. After a beautiful hot air balloon ride, we got back around 10:30 and they were ready with a great breakfast, what a day. We stayed upstairs in the king suite, my sister and bro-in-law were downstairs and we all had nothing but great things to say about our stay here, from the breakfast in the mornings, to the wine and cheese on the deck in the eves. Thank you CDV !

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank unclehairydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at Chateau de Vie (CDV) for two nights and our wonderful experience made me join TripAdvisor just so I could write a positive review. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the property is stunning and on its own vineyard, and the breakfast was delicious! We stayed in a room with a queen bed in the main house and were very happy with it. This alone would earn 4 or 5 stars, but what put CDV over the top was the service from Phillip, Peter and Gretchen. Phillip went out of his way to help make recommendations and reservations for wineries/restaurants, and suggested good running routes. Peter was very generous in helping with our late check-in and check-out times. They all made the stay very special. Overall this was a fantastic experience and we'll be recommending CDV to all of our friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a queen size bed on the second floor and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
7.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
2.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
410 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
547 reviews
5.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
2.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Property: Chateau de Vie
Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing