We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visited Calistoga in early March and it couldn't have been more lovely. Incredible gourmet breakfast on the deck with the beautiful views and kind and knowledgeable hosts - we would highly recommend Chateau de Vie!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

After realizing that the official CDV website didn't have many pictures of the rooms and property, I immediately came to TripAdvisor to check it out. I've never seen more consistently glowing reviews of any hotel or bed and breakfast in all my years of using TripAdvisor. The service, provided by Peter and Phillip, is exemplary. As many have already said, they have a way of making you feel immediately comfortable and pampered, always without intrusion or pretense. It was like staying at the home of a good friend's relatives -- you don't know them personally, but they've been told to take excellent care of you and treat you like family.

Phillip made dinner reservations for us at Brannon's in Calistoga on our first night, and. knowing we came from CDV, even they treated us like special guests. We were treated to complimentary champagne after being seated, and no less than three managers checked on us during the evening. The food was also fantastic. Speaking of food, Phillip's breakfasts at CDV were outstanding, and just the right amount.

We stayed in the carriage house, and enjoyed our morning coffee delivered to our doorstep while strolling around the vineyards. Our room was immaculate, as was the main house and the grounds, with an incredible attention to detail.

Bottom line: within 20 minutes, we were talking about having our wedding there with our families. The only thing we'll do differently next time is add another night and spend more time relaxing at CDV!

PS: The CDV cabernet is one of the best we've ever had -- we came home with two bottles!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Whether you are alone, with a friend, with a loved one or with a group, Chateau De Vie is the perfect place to stay when you go to wine country!

My wife and I, along with three other couples, were extremely impressed by this B&B and Phillip and Peter were excellent hosts! The breakfasts were amazing and the afternoon wine and cheese snack was a real treat! Let's also not forget the custom blended coffee they served us each morning (left just outside the room at 7:15am!). We hated to leave!

Also, we tasted some wonderful wines on our trip, but Chateau de Vie's wine was among the best we tasted! Call them and order some, you will be glad that you did!

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Two rooms have king beds (one room is actually in the private villa), two rooms have queen beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmjones9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having traveled to so many places worldwide, I can truly say that this place stands out as one of my best experiences. Starting with the friendly and warm hospitality of the owners to the great attention placed on the quality of everything you come in contact with. The place is uniquely charming, nestled in the wine country. One of a kind and something you will definitely want to come back to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehdi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I had the great fortune to stay 2 nights at CDV to enjoy the ambiance and hospitality. Felipe and Peter are impeccable hosts who make sure everything is perfect and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious, featuring local ingredients and wine and cheese hour is not to be missed. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have stayed at CDV many times since my first visit in 2002. That first visit "blew my mind" and impressed my companions so much. However, it just keeps getting better with each visit. I just had a getaway with two friends to do wine tasting an enjoy Napa hospitality. CDV is the ideal place to headquarter and its such a welcoming place to return as often as you can.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My wife and I had an amazing 24 hour getaway from our busy lives at Chateau de Vie and it was the perfect retreat. The rooms, the service and the surroundings are top notch, there was amazing wine and cheese, delicious breakfast whilst looking at the vineyards, comfy beds, quiet rooms. I can't recommend it highly enough for a romantic trip in the beautiful wine country.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellaschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
7.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
2.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embrace Calistoga
Embrace Calistoga
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#3 of 27 in Calistoga
559 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
483 reviews
21.4 mi away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: £173 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing