We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Calistoga”
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #2 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PinotNoir25
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B in Calistoga”
Reviewed 21 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at CDV for three days of our vacation and we loved everything about it. The Chateau was tastefully decorated, hospitable and accomodating staff, gourmet breakfasts, clean rooms, and beautiful ambiance. We especially enjoyed relaxing by the heated pool with our complimentary wine and cheese plate. We stayed in Napa for a week and our stay at the CDV was the best three days of our trip!

  • Liked — Clean, quaint, hospitable, great wine!
  • Disliked — that I couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PinotNoir25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
363
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We return to CDV over and over and over and over. Can't find a better B&B experience, or any better experience, in Calistoga! Peter and Phillip are hosts above and beyond. We love them. A&B xo

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luxtravel2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

My husband and I had traveled together with our daughter and son-in-law, and enjoyed 2 days spent in this beautiful B&B. We were very impressed with every aspect of this place. The hospitality of the owner - Phillip, and the food he created were really exceptional! It's an absolutely fabulous place and we only regret that we could not book this place for several nights. Thank you Phillip! We have the best memories of our stay at your place.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank TravelTheWorld21C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We stayed at Chateau de Vie the night we were engaged, and we can't say enough wonderful things about it. The two owners are absolutely incredible, personable, attentive, helpful, etc. They answered my numerous questions in preparation for the trip and gave great recommendations for wineries, eateries, and travel. The house sits on beautifully landscaped grounds with lovely views of their vineyard and Mt. Helena. Wonderful deck in the back where we enjoyed cheese and wine in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Enjoyed an end to our evening in the jacuzzi sipping wine and viewing the stars above before warming up by the fire inside.

Accomodations were very comfortable....we travel a lot and have stayed at some very nice places, and we still felt pampered thoughout our stay

Oh, and the breakfast Phillip made us was unbelievable! We rarely write reviews, but we had to share this little "secret" with everyone. You will not be disapointed with your stay...we will definitely stay there for our next trip to the valley.

  • Liked — Friendly Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TandJ_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2008

We only stayed one night, but the service was amazing. The junior suite we stayed in on the top floor was very cozy. Breakfast was delicious and the surrounding vineyard where we walked around in was beautiful. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in the Napa area, I highly recommend this one.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wineman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We took a long weekend trip with a group of friends. We had a great time touring the Napa Vineyards, but the highlight of our trip was our stay at the Chateau de Vie. The setting was beautiful! Phillip and Peter were the best hosts!! They treated us as special guests and made the most delicious breakfasts and a truly enjoyable happy hour. They spent quality time with us, but also were very discreet to allow us quality time with our friends. I have recommended this B&B to all my friends and I highly recommend this to anyone who reads this review! i will return to the Chateau de Vie!

  • Liked — The breakfasts!!
  • Disliked — I loved everythign!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

We absolutely enjoyed every aspect of our three night stay at Chateau de Vie with two other couples. We have been to Napa Valley on three other occasions, and will no longer need to search for a better location.

Just a few minutes north of Calistoga, Chateau de Vie is a beautiful home with all the perfect amenities, from the lovely landscaped property to the well appointed rooms.

There are two or three bedrooms on the second floor of the house and a larger bedroom on the third floor. The main floor is comprised of a living room, dining room and kitchen area. At the back of the living room, there are patio doors that open onto a large deck, complete with several seating areas, hot tub, pool and a breathtaking view of the valley in the distance. Everything inside and out oozes with charm and ambience.

We stayed in the carriage house, just a few steps away which is well worth the extra fee charged. Each morning, we would receive our coffee and tea outside our door. Delicious breakfasts were served outside on the deck overlooking the vineyard along with helpful suggestions on tours to take during the day. What a beautiful sight each day! Very spacious and enjoyable area to linger with a cup of coffee or tea while planning the days activities, or returning after a busy day and enjoying a glass of wine. There are several bottles available to sample in the dining room, which was a nice touch.

After three full days of touring around, our only regret was not booking an extra day just to lay around and relax by the pool and enjoy the beauty of it all. We did use the hot tub and pool a few times in the evening, but wished we could have had one extra lazy day just to enjoy the peaceful beauty and charm of Chateau de Vie. Everything about it was simply perfect!

I took alot of photos and will try to send them in a future post.

  • Liked — Ambience, decor, hospitality
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
7.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
2.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.5 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
2.2 mi away
Luxe Calistoga
Luxe Calistoga
#3 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Property: Chateau de Vie
Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing