We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“swim, sip, & relax amongst the vines” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #2 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area
1 review
“swim, sip, & relax amongst the vines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

This was the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Chateau de Vie, and we love it! It's like a beautiful destination resort . . . once you arrive, you don't want to leave. It's just a few minutes up the road from charming downtown Calistoga, and virtually surrounded by vineyards that are used to make their own wine (their CDV '06 Cab is dynamite), so the location is authentic, lush, quiet, and private. Both rooms we've stayed in were super clean, tastefully decorated with comfortable mattresses, high thread count sheets, plush robes, and overall great attention to detail . . . like the wireless TV headphones in the 3rd floor room (my wife likes to watch a movie, and I can read without hearing the movie). There's plenty of great magazines and books to read, along with a DVD library.
The friendly service and amenities are excellent. While sipping complimentary wine by the vineyard surrounded pool or garden, just when you think it can't get any better, a platter of cheese, olives, bread, and fruit shows up!
The sit down relaxing breakfast was even better. We were treated to the excellent prosciutto wrapped asparagus & eggs with parmessan cheese, and freshly baked scones (they even gave us the recipe). While enjoying breakfast, make sure you check out the view of the vineyard and mountains from the breakfast dining room table.
This place is special . . . go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterTSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
358
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

CDV was a great place for us to stay during our visit to the Napa Valley. Phillip and Peter were great hosts. The breakfast was amazing and we loved the scenery. We really appreciated their suggestions for wineries to visit and restaraunts for lunch and dinner. We would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timlowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

I don't even know where to start. Everything. Was. Perfect. Peter and Phillip have really done everything perfectly. They are very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area.

Here are some highlights:
- Luxurious design but very comfortable
- Ridiculous gourmet 3 course breakfasts that you couldn't even find at the fanciest brunch place
- Quiet, peaceful and zen like pool and jacuzzi area
- The vineyard is really your backyard and those vines actually produce a pretty delicious cabernet
- Wine is available all day long every day in the dining room.
- In the afternoons if you sit by the pool, Phillip will offer to make you a cheese plate, do not turn him down, it will be better than your dinner!

The only considerations would be if you are looking for a big trendy resort in the middle of everything. We were on our honeymoon so were looking for the exact opposite and we couldn't have dreamed up a more perfect place and will only come back here next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMLnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

SIMPLY THE BEST! From the owners (Peter & Phillip), to the scones :)
We couldn't ask for anything more! Great service! Great breakfast! Lovely place/room! Very clean! Theeeeeee BEST! Looking forward to coming back :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tishstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night in mid-May. We were upgraded to the guest house (larger and more privacy). This property is located in the middle of the vineyard owned by the proprietors. Words cannot begin to describe how tranquil it is. The multi-level decks on the back of the main house are wonderful and look directly out (within feet) of the vineyard. There is a hot tub (wonderful) and pool adjacent to the deck. We relaxed on the deck before dinner, had a superb dinner in town at the All Seasons Bistro and then came back for star gazing while in the hot-tub. Then the next morning we had the most wonderful gourmet breakfast on the deck. Again, the views are amazing...watching the sun come up and lighting up the mountains. This is definitely the best place to stay in Calistoga...and maybe the best B&B in all of Napa and Sonoma valleys.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

We arrived to CDV on a Friday, expecting to have a wonderful time in the Valley. Our stay in CDV was the highlight of the weekend, with a friendly service, good food, excellent and confortable room.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseSanJuan_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

It is so hard to know where to start with CDV. We've stayed in some nice hotels in our life, but there is something very very special about this place. The area is stunning, the house and setting just beautiful, and the hosts - Peter & Philip - are too lovely for words. The place is spotless, and you feel like a houseguest... the breakfasts are beyond words, and to sit on the deck of an evening, glass of wine in hand, cheeseplate (with the most amazing homemade sun dried tomato tapenade) watching the sun go down with a view of vineyards and mountains - it is unexplainably lovely. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, it really should be at number one.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
7.9 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luxe Calistoga
Luxe Calistoga
#3 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Property: Chateau de Vie
Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing