We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here - You & Your Belongings Are At Risk!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here - You & Your Belongings Are At Risk!”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

A group of us stayed at this hotel a year ago. We planned a relaxing and lovely weekend in beautiful Calistoga to celebrate a friend's birthday. We checked into the hotel in the late afternoon and a woman greeted us at reception. She asked us many questions about our stay, plans, where we had gone in town, etc. We thought she was being friendly and we were pleasantly surprised this "average" hotel had apparently "above average" service. We left for dinner at 7pm and returned around 10pm.

We returned to the hotel tired but excited to ring in the New Year. Our happiness and excitement quickly turned into extreme stress after discovering 2 out of our 3 rooms were robbed of credit cards and cash. We immediately called the receptionist and she placed us on hold as she called for the on-site manager. After being on hold for more than 10 mins, one of us went to the front desk and found the receptionist at her car leaving the facility. We called the police and woke up the on-site manager to help us get to the bottom of this robbery. After a hotel audit of all of our rooms, it was revealed that the MASTER KEY (that only the manager and the front desk have) swiped into ALL OF OUR ROOMS within a 20 minute period of when we left for dinner. We filed a police report and over the past year, we have tried every way possible to get the hotel management to reimburse us for both the money that was stolen and the total amount we were charged for our stay.

As many people have mentioned in there reviews, we want to emphasize that the on-site manager, receptionist and staff are extremely unhelpful. This establishment is the WORST hotel we have ever stayed at and we hope you take this review seriously.

If you want to stay at a safe hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    178
    62
    22
    19
See reviews for
100
186
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This was the first time my wife and I have been to Napa Valley. We had enough points through Choice Hotels to stay free at this hotel. Pulling into the parking lot, my first impression was the place looked past its prime. To some extent, this is true. It surely is not a grand hotel or resort. If you are looking for an inexpensive, nice hotel in a good setting, this is a fine choice. The rooms are big enough and I enjoyed the balony in the early mornings. There is a decent free breakfast. The courtyard is a nice place to have breakfast or even have some wine at the end of the day. The manager on duty was very helpful with all requests, including asking for a blanket so we could go to a local winery for an outdoor movie. I would reccommend this hotel for anyone on a budget but when we return, I would look to stay somewhere else.

We really enjoyed staying in Calistoga. Out of all of the towns we visited, we felt Claistoga was the most quaint. Great shops and some nice restaurants. When tasting wines, we would head south and work our way back north. One day we took the St Helena Hwy, the other Silverado Trail. I would stay in Calistoga again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2010

The hotel is located just outside town, but within walking distance to downtown. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. My only complaint was I had a room located along the main road and it was somewhat noisy even with the windows closed. I would recommend getting a room on the backside of the hotel away from the road. I would also recommend the breakfast, but you might also miss out on some good eats in town. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at the Lodge from Oct 5-8 2010. Normally I steer clear of motels, preferring to step out of my room into a corridor rather than directly outdoors, however this was actually very good.

We ended up staying here, as many of the other accommodation options in the main part of the value were priced over the top. Calistoga wasn’t too far away from all of the attractions, but far enough away for the pricing to be reasonable.

The Lodge is walking distance (maybe 1k) to Calistoga town; so after spending a full day driving from Yosemite, we opted for that.

The room itself opened onto a court yard area, which meant that we didn’t have the issue of hearing cars coming & going throughout the night. Room was simple, but nice. King size bed, large TV and fridge.

Spring fed pool was great as it meant it was naturally heated. Free wi-fi available; was having some issues whilst we were there, so they gave us the login for the management wi-fi, which was great.

Complimentary breakfast was also a nice plus.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Traveled with my husband and his parents. Stayed for four nights. It was a little small for four adults with lots of luggage. But it was clean, had a great breakfast and refridgerator and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dduvernay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My husband and I spent week in the Sonoma/Napa area and this was the third place we stayed. It was by far the most expensive at $270, and by far the worst location and lodging experience of the three. Although our room was quite spacious, it had a bad musty odor and the AC unit was very loud and rattled. We had to repeatedly get up during the night to turn it on to cool the place, and then turn it off so that we could sleep. Our television also kept turning off.

Being that we were in wine country, we wanted to have some wine in our room before heading out to dinner. They did not provide openers in the room, so we went to the front desk for one. The receptionist was somewhat rude and replied "we used to have one, but someone never brought it back." I'm sorry, but just about every decent hotel I've stayed in has had a wine opener, and if you're a hotel/b&b in the Napa region, it should be a no-brainer.

The pool was okay, but the hot tub water was very yellow... not sure if it was due to the lining/paint in the hot tub or something else, but you couldn't have paid me to go in it. We looked down on the pools from our room and there was a definite difference in water... Also, the pool towels were tiny.

Breakfast was good, we really enjoyed the waffles. Some fruit would have been nice.

Location wise, it was too far of a walk to downtown on a very poorly lit street at night. It wouldn't be a bad walk during the day with the right shoes.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmac7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatTheLodge, General Manager at Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
Dear Mam,

Thank you for your candid review. I would like to first sincerely offer my apologies for your unpleasant stay at our hotel. There is no excuse for not having a wine opener for our guests. This is something that we will make sure to always have for our guests in the future. The hot tub you mentioned does sometime give off a yellow hue, and this is due to the minerals in the water. As you may already know, our pool and hot tub are heated by natural mineral water from a well located below the hotel. As nice as this is, it does tend to turn different colors when mixed with the required chemicals. Unfortunately, this sometimes is off-putting to our guests and again I can only apologize. But let me assure you that this is strictly due to the unique mineral water. Lastly, regarding your in-room experience, our staff would have assisted you if notified of these issues. If they were notified and did not rectify the situation, I again apologize as this is our number one priority. The AC units as well as television are both brand new however we will double check their operations to ensure no repeat of your experience for future guests. I hope you do choose to give us another chance if you are in the area as our priority is to ensure a great stay in the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton. Ontario
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed there one night at the beginning of our journey down to Napa. Nice little town for a stopover. It would be a long walk to town if you choose to do that. The hotel was very clean, staff were great, room was a good size. It had a pool and a hot tub and we were in a very quiet part of the hotel. Contential breakfast was included, but very skimpy on items available. This hotel was close to a number of wineries in the area including "The Castle and Sterling wineries. It was a little expensive,although it was one of the more reasonabally priced for this town of expensive places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireguy329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West

Property: Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Address: 1865 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the legendary healing of Calistoga's geothermal mineral hot springs as you soak in our outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, followed by a relaxing turn in our steam room and dry sauna. Get your mornings started right with our fitness room and follow up your workout with our complimentary hot breakfast with eggs, sausage and biscuits. We also offer offsite spa services and packages at a renowned Calistoga day spa, as well as meeting and events space for groups and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs Of The West Hotel Calistoga
Clarion Collection Calistoga
Clarion Collection Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing