We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dr. Wilkinson's is a good cure for what ails you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dr. Wilkinson's is a good cure for what ails you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We've been coming to Dr. Wilkinson's once or twice a year now for 4 or 5 years. Clean, uncluttered rooms, helpful housekeeping and front desk staff, wonderful pools & spa, a short walk to decent restaurants in a small town still isn't tarnished by too many "tourist" items. A must stop for meat eaters is Buster's BBQ. Nothing syrupy or pretentious here; it's the real thing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TommyTucker60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Tommytucker,

Thank you for your most gentle reiew! We always enjoying hearing from our many repeat guests (close to 70%) and I cannot thank you enough for helping to spread the word about Dr. Wilkinson's. As you know, we are family owned and run for almost 61 years, always keeping up with the times to provide a truly relaxing getaway experience for our regular guests while welcoming new guests.

I hope to see you here again soon!

Best wishes,
Mark Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    108
    36
    20
    25
See reviews for
55
161
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurdle Mills, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have stayed at Dr Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort for years. From the time you enter the parking lot until you leave the parking lot you are pampered and made to feel like family. Convenient location, immaculate grounds, spa treatments are superb, awesome staff. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

My partner and I were looking for a getaway. This place did it all. Easy check-in without the Napa Valley attitude was great. Our room was immaculate....king bed, nice fabric and pillows and robes. There are 3 pools that are close to the rooms and very peaceful. No pool scene just relaxed. We did the works mud bath with a great massage. This place is so different and authentic old school. Great massages! We both were so relaxed that we barely made it down the street for dinner. We both had the best sleep and woke up and asked for a late check out....the staff was awesome and gave us until 1:00PM. Not sure this always happens but it worked for us! It was nice to have more time for a swim and sun!

In all, a very special place. I have been to many five star places. The "Doc" and family and staff are the best. The only place to stay and relax in Napa.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Jake R,

Thank you so much for the kind review. Your feedback means everything to us and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Don't be a stranger.....come back soon!

Best wishes,
Mark Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I went to Travis AFB CA to visit with my Son & Daughter n Law & to meet my new baby Grand Daughter !! .. I was there for nearly a month & I enjoyed everyday that I was there .. I wanted to do something very special for my Daughter n Law & what better way to say I love you !! ..
We looked up Spa's on the internet & came across Dr. Wilkinson's Spa in Calistoga which is only an hour drive away so we called & got the info & booked our Spa Day !! .. We arrived on April 6, 2013 .. The Front Desk Personnel Miss Peresita greeted us & explained everything that we were going to have done with the package price we chose , which was the Works !! .. We each had the Mud Bath .. The Mineral Bath .. The Steam Room & Blanket Wrap & our Massage was last !! .. Each was a wonderful experiance & I have to say Miss Marsha was " OUTSTANDING " with the Massage that she gave to me !! .. All the Woman Attendants were very respectable with telling us what to do & answering all our questions .. they made us feel so welcome & right at home !! .. Everything was very clean & relaxing .. We had the greatest time ever & last but least .. Feeling like a new woman when we walked out of there !! .. We had a good walk along the Town & had a wonderful lunch at BRANNAN'S !! .. Napa Valley is so beautiful & a must see to experiance it all !! .. My trip was complete !! .. I'm back home in NC now however I am so looking forward to visiting again in the Fall & this time I will be bringing my Hubby so we can have a Spa Day together at Dr. Wilkinson's Spa !! .. Thank You all for making our day a relaxing one !! Johanna Reschke xo-xo

Helpful?
Thank CakeLady910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

This place was completely dated but charming. At this point, it's retro, but I don't think they designed it for retro, it just hasn't changed since the '60s. The sink area was gold and it had a small tube tv. My friend and I did mud baths and it was a fun experience. We went off-season and got a good deal on a room and mud bath combo, so check their website for similar specials if you go at the right time. The mud bath included the actual mud bath (which smelled horribly and felt weird but was somehow relaxing and fun), a steam, and a bubbling mineral bath, followed by what I considered nap time in a relaxing room while wrapped in blankets. I'd recommend doing it with someone rather than alone, as half the fun is in laughing about it and talking about how creepy fun it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Loved our stay here, room was lovely, nice touch with the robes and little extras. Such a beautiful little town. Calistoga was one of my fav stops on our Cali road trip. Staff were helpful, room was very clean and comfortable. Would return and recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraggle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear fraggy87,

Thank you much for the great review. I am really happy that our staff and facilities created an enjoyable stay for you while visitting from NZ.

Please visit us again on your next visit out this way!

Warm best wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Pine, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

The spa treatment was amazing!!! First the mud bath. Then the mineral bath. Then sit in the steam room. Then you are wrapped in warm blankets. The grand finale is the 30 minute massage!!! It was a GRAND experience!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear SaranN,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I truly appreciate your taking the time to leave your thoughts. We have just completed a freshening of all gardens and the resort is looking particularly inviting and relaxing.

We hope to see you here another time soon!

Best wishes,
Mark Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.1 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort

Property: Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1507 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1331
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Calistoga landmark offering contemporary lodging and wonderful treatments and pools! Contemporary rooms with easy access to three sparkling mineral water pools. Located in the heart of historic downtown Calistoga within steps of numerous restaurants, shops and tasting rooms. Dr. Wilkinson's is a mid-century modern icon in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr. Wilkinson`s Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Dr Wilkinsons Hot Springs Resort
Dr Wilkinsons Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing