We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 24 June 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dr. Wilkinsons Hot Springs Resort.

"The Works" were fantastic: we enjoyed the mud bath, mineral bath, steam room, blanket wrap, and massage.

The town of Calistoga is a fantastic destination for a resort.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    110
    36
    20
    25
See reviews for
56
163
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 June 2006

Just returned from Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, a very clean and charming facility. The facial, performed in a charming Victorian cottage, was awesome. Anna Marie is the best - her technique, and the products used were outstanding. Having had many facials, this one ranks as one of the best.

Furthermore, this simple retreat is great for relaxing in the mineral pools, heated to 103 degrees, inside or out, after a day of wine tasting in Napa.

I highly recommend Dr. Wilkinson's and the charming town of Calistoga.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2006

Just returned from three night stay. This is generally a very basic 2 or 3 star hotel. It is 52 years old and has been maintained well. The rooms are clean but are old and due for updating in some areas. We had a king patio room which was roomy. The bathroom has only a shower that is very small and leaves you no room to get out of the stream of water when it instantly goes from hot to ice cold, then back to scalding again. They obviously have some plumbing issues. If you can bring your own pillow, I would. The rooms are a little quirky but the grounds are pleasant, the pools wonderful and the location perfect. The mud bath is a fun and unique experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1buckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 May 2006

This is the first time I have stayed at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, in Calistoga, CA, I enjoyed myself so much I extended my stay 2 more nights. Every staff member that I came in contact during my stay was extremely friendly, helpfull and could not do enough to make my stay a pleasant one. This means a great deal to me as I have been in Customer Service and working with the public myself since 1971, so I know good service when I see if or encounter it. The pools, jacuzzi and spa treatments were wonderful. I have already recommended Dr. Wilkinson's to my friends and family and will return again. It has been so relaxing. It is within walking distance of shopping, grocery store, laundromat, wine tasting and more.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2006

i live in SF, and had hoped to find a place in calistoga where i could spend a few visits out of the year to unwind and relax.. regretfully, i left feeling more stressed than when i arrived..

the rooms are made of dully painted brick and concrete. the bed was not level.. so my feet were a bit higher than my head.. the pillows were flat.. the foot of the bed was right at the door to the room, the bathroom didn't have a bathtub.. the sink in the bathroom sprayed my jeans with water when i went to wash my hands. the aircon was extremely loud and distruptive to a good night's sleep. all of this for 125-175/night..

on the upside, the staff was very friendly, and the room was clean. the massage was great, but there aren't any private rooms, or partitions between - so you couldn't converse with your massage therapist in a normal tone of voice to describe where you have injuries or areas requiring extra work, etc.

i ended up having to pay for two nights.. but left before the dinner hour on my second day - which i understand... but honestly, my bill came to roughly $500.. for one bad night of sleep in a lousy room.. the massage was great...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WaterwomanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 May 2006

While the rooms are rather spartan (cinderblock walls), the massage and mud baths are the ultimate and very reasonably priced. I relaxed more than I have in many a month. The staff are all very helpful and attentative. The only problem we had was some of the group had high blood pressure and were not able to take the mud baths as planned. However, the prices were adjusted accordingly. This was my second trip and it is going to become an annual event.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 April 2006

I just returned from a wonderful weekend at Dr. Wilkinson's. What a wonderful weekend. I have visited many spas in the area, and I must say I think this is my favorite. Get "the works"! It's truly a wonderful, relaxing afternoon. I highly recommed this spa.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.1 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort

Property: Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1507 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1331
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Calistoga landmark offering contemporary lodging and wonderful treatments and pools! Contemporary rooms with easy access to three sparkling mineral water pools. Located in the heart of historic downtown Calistoga within steps of numerous restaurants, shops and tasting rooms. Dr. Wilkinson's is a mid-century modern icon in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr. Wilkinson`s Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Dr Wilkinsons Hot Springs Resort
Dr Wilkinsons Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing