We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average eats...”
Review of Checker's

Checker's
Ranked #14 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average eats...”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

While I don't really have anything negative to say about our experience here... I don't have anything great to say either. Maybe I shouldn't even be writing a review?!?! LOL! Everything tasted "ok"... just average. My husband ordered ravioli and I had the fire cracker shrimp. Now, I'm not sure where the "fire cracker" kicks in (I was assuming it'd be a little spicy)... but there was no kick to it at all... just sweet.

Our service was good... everyone was very friendly and accommodating :). Our dinner came to about $38... VERY reasonable... but it would have been hard for them to justify charging more. We probably won't be back...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenacres007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    136
    44
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We had a vegetarian pizza to go. It's good pizza, thin crust. It was ready when they said it would be. Average pizza. If your in the mood for a pie.... And you need it.

Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for a family meal”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We all ate well here. I loved the roasted garlic starter and the artichoke dip was very popular too. Mains were good with special mention for the lamb shank. Beers could have been more interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clifford D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our group enjoyed a nice dinner here after a long day visiting wineries. The service was very good and the atmosphere was OK. Most of the food was average to above average quality. The pizza was amazing. I had the New York Strip special. Very good potatoes and perfectly grilled asparagus. The steak was about 3/4" thick and tasted like it was cooked on the griddle. I was disappointed with the meat but enjoyed everything else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I just got back to the hotel; had dinner at Checkers half an hour ago. Just happened to be walking by, and tried it on a whim. Lucky whim! The white bean soup was excellent. So was the Napa salad. But when I took the first bite of the butternut squash ravioli, with smoked chicken and candied walnuts, I almost fainted. Oh my god. What a masterpiece. What a combination of flavors. Wow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milquetoast599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Checker's also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Checker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing