We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the Sunburst Calistoga last week and it was very nice! Clean and loved the decor. Everyone was very pleasant - from the front desk to the person who brings your breakfast and we would definitely stay there again. Very close to downtown Calistoga. Wonderful shopping and dining! Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StMarysPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear StMarysPoint.

Thank you for a fantastic review and I'm delighted to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at The Sunburst Calistoga. I am definitely going to pass your wonderful comments along to my staff and I'm pleased to know that you loved the new decor too! We hope to welcome you back soon to beautiful Calistoga as our guest once again!

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

There was some confusion about our room rate. Their price differed from what we were told on original emails. Luckily we had printed copies so they changed their charges. The entire motel had been newly renovated that consisted of multiple, separate one story buildings. The room we were assigned was nice but had no closet or hooks to hang clothes. This was difficult since we had clothes for a wedding. There were also no hooks in the bathroom to hang wet towels. We had lots of hot water since that appeared to be a problem at several hotels where other wedding guests were staying at. The Wi-Fi signal was good. A box breakfast was delivered every morning to the room which was OK. The only things strange were boiled, shelled eggs that were prepackaged with expiration dates a month later. The location was about a half mile from the center of town with good access to the Silverado Trail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnoSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear nnoSfBayArea,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing The Sunburst Calistoga as your preferred accommodations for your stay with us. I apologize for the discrepancy in the initial rate that you were quoted with the secondary rate that was mistakenly higher upon your arrival to the hotel. I have already addressed this with my staff so we will ensure guest reservation detail is more accurate. In addition, I realize that we need to improve on the guest amenities in the bathrooms; therefore, we will be installing a new shelf in each guest bathroom soon and I am looking into adding more hooks as well for guests to place wet towels. I also appreciate your comments regarding our boxed breakfast as we are considering all options to improve our complimentary breakfast. Overall, I'm pleased to know you liked our newly renovated rooms and everything was working well, including the hot water and WiFi signal! We hope to welcome you back as a return guest for a future stay at The Sunburst Calistoga.

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our stay at the Sunburst was absolutely excellent. The facilities and staff were top notch. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The remodel of the hotel, which was completed last month, makes the hotel one of the best in Calistoga in terms of value, hip decor, and modern amenities. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms by the road a little noisy from the auto traffic, although it died down at night because hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oats999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear oats999,

Thank you for your great feedback from your recent stay with us and I'm excited to know you thoroughly enjoyed the renovated hotel! We strive to exceed our guests' expectations to make your stay memorable and we look forward to your return as our guest at The Sunburst Calistoga!

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I am a picky germophobe and was desperate for a place to stay in Calistoga last week-end. My husband and I stumbled upon the Sunburst and were in for a very pleasant surprise! It looks pretty plain from the outside, but the rooms are decorated beautifully and are just about new. The price was ridiculously good- couldn't pass it up. We were the only people at the pool for a little while, which was great. Really relaxing. Only reason I didn't go with 5 stars was that the bed was a little small for a queen. Highly recommend but keep in mind it's not a 5 star resort, so don't expect that. Get one of the rooms in the back by the pool. Clean, new, nice tiled showers, fridge, pool, never even turned on the tv- too much to do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCRELW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear PCRELW,

Thank you for a fantastic review and I'm so happy you loved our newly renovated hotel and accommodations! Our mineral pools are very relaxing and I'm glad you were able to thoroughly enjoy them as well. I will be looking into sprucing up the landscaping around the hotel and we hope to see you soon at The Sunburst Calistoga!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked a last minute trip to go wine tasting and were thrilled with the accommodations at the Sunburst. This place is in a great location that allows for quick access to downtown Calistoga and the Silverado Trail! The pool and spa facilities added an extra bonus for a relaxing evening before dinner. The rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. They went the extra mile when designing this hotel! My favorite is the delivered breakfast to your room in the morning! Such a treat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Jodie S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience with us at The Sunburst Calistoga. I'm pleased to know you were thrilled with our accommodations and that you enjoyed the mineral pools and Jacuzzi after a day full of adventure! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunburst!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The renovations have made a big difference. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious. The location is wonderful - close to downtown (a quick walk) and also close to a couple wineries. Excited for them to finish the renovations. The breakfast in the morning is also nice.

Room Tip: Room with the Parlor is solid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADAonTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear ADAonTA,

I'm very pleased to know that you've enjoyed your stay at the Sunburst Calistoga. All of our renovations are finally complete at the hotel and we look forward to having you as our guest when you travel plans take you back through beautiful Calistoga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa

Address: 1880 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1115 (Formerly The Sunburst Calistoga)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £147 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa is an epic ode to the Great American Road Trip of the 50's, 60's, and 70's, and the spirit of exploration it evokes. Whether it's backroad wine country or a relaxing mineral bath, our backyard can be your backyard, and it's anything but ordinary. Framed by vineyards and bike trails, our stylish Mid-Century Modern digs are the perfect foundation for those looking to find their next great adventure from the perfect home base. Perfectly placed at the head of the Silverado Trail, in the heart of Californias scenic wine region, the Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa features 50 rooms and suites, two Mineral Water Pools and a Mineral Water Hot Tub, and a Full Service Spa. We at the Calistoga Motor Lodge believe that a hotel is more than a bed and that life is best lived in this order: play, soak, eat, drink, spa, explore, sleep, repeat. And with this in mind, we set-out to create something that Wine Country has never seen. Welcome to our little, laid-back home, we we embrace color in spades and you can be you. After a leisurely bike ride to one of the dozens of nearby vineyards, soak up the sun and relax in our three on-site hot spring mineral water pools, perhaps with a glass of wine from one of the bottles you purchased along during the day. As the sun climbs high, hike or bike the adjacent Oat Hill Mine Trail where breathtaking views of the Valley are around every corner. Then, pamper yourself at our MoonAcre Spa and Baths. Our mission: to serve up bliss with a dose of whimsy and relaxation without the fuss. Because after all, there’s very little that laughter and a nice rub won’t cure. The hotel is located just 40 scenic minutes north of the City of Napa and 75 scenic miles from San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Village Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Village Inn And Spa
Calistoga Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing