We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and helpful customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing and helpful customer service!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I haven't stayed here yet, so I will review again after, but I just wanted to write and say that the woman I spoke to when I called here was incredibly pleasant, helpful and wanted to do anything she could to make my trip easy and enjoyable. Give this place a chance because it seems to be run by people who genuinely care about your stay! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 747Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear 747Ana,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and I will be sure to share this review with my team as we strive to deliver superb customer service to our guests. We look forward to your stay with us at The Sunburst Calistoga and please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything more we can do to enhance your guest experience.

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    200
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
137
298
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Since our other hotel was booked out over Thanksgiving we found this on expedia. Amazing value, considering all that is included. Yes, it is not a 4star, but it certainly has many features that are not found in better rated hotels.
The overall impression is fresh, colorful, bright, and friendly. Rooms are modern, fridge, snackbar, flat screen, storage drawers, iron, phone, bathroom with rain forest shower, soap, shampoo, conditioner dispensers. The mineral pools are amazing and were not crowded at all: there is a large swimming pool with ~80F, a smaller shallow relaxing pool at ~90F, and the hot tub ~100F with roof, open sides. Since heat comes from the hot spring ground water, temperature can vary slightly, were always very comfortable.
Martha at the reception was very welcoming, accomodating, and put us into a great room towards the back of the property. We had no neighbor, and it was very quiet. Queen bed and comforter very comfortable, perfect for relaxing after hot water. Breakfast was in the reception area near the fire place. Orange juice, cereals, danish, croissants, toast, apples, oranges - not fancy but much better than chain motels. Tea/coffee/hot water are available all day. There was limited seating in the reception area, but it worked out, many take a tray to their room.
The Sunburst is in walking distance of downtown Calistoga, plenty of parking, no restaurant onsite.
Yes, will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Possibly quieter towards the back, however not much traffic on the street next to Sunburst at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear usuallyhappytravels,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with us at The Sunburst Calistoga. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms including our complimentary continental breakfast as I am always looking to improve and enhance your experience to provide a unique and memorable stay. I will definitely be sure to share your 5 star review with Martha and my staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sunburst Calistoga for your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in October to attend a local event. It was hard to find availability in Calistoga at a reasonable rate so I was very pleased when I found the Sunburst. Easy to find with lots of parking. We arrived late in the evening and check in was very easy. The desk clerk was very polite and check in took only about five minutes total. The room was facing the main street, but wasn't much of a problem with noise. It was clean and had a kind of modern decorating feel. Took a few minutes for the water to heat up but we had plenty of it. They provide you with a boxed breakfast that we signed up for at check in. We picked five items from a list and a time for it to be delivered. This was nice and convenient because we were able to get up and get on the road quickly without worrying about stopping to eat. There are mineral pools onsite but we weren't there long enough to use them. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Calistoga.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi9095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Mimi9095,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with us at The Sunburst Calistoga! We appreciate your wonderful comments and 5 star review of our newly remodeled hotel. We hope that you have an opportunity to enjoy and rejuvenate in our mineral water pools and Jacuzzi when you next visit us and we've introduced our newly complimentary, continental breakfast served in our lobby every morning featuring fresh pastries and baked goods from the local bakery. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to you see you at The Sunburst Calistoga for a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

An unexpected Great value for this impeccably clean, modern renovated motel. Room was decorated in a modern decor with a great bed and linens. It was a great price with a modest breakfast included. A good nights sleep after touring wine country.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room since it is on a main road. We got one in the back but I had brought ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Margaret M,

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Sunburst Calistoga and that you loved the retro-modern accommodations for our newly renovated guest rooms. it's also great to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast served in our lobby every morning and we hope when you return to beautiful Calistoga in the future that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest once again!

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

great decor, fantastic shower, and great channel selection. The morning breakfast is limited but of good quality. Coffee makers in room are first class. N o restaurant on site but with walking distance of downtown Calistoga.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessinNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear SleeplessinNapa,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments from your recent stay with us at The Sunburst Calistoga! I'm so pleased to hear that you loved our newly renovated rooms as we continue to improve our complimentary continental breakfast with the goal to improve your complete guest experience. We're just a short walk into downtown Calistoga where you enjoy all of the local shops and restaurants. We hope to see you again soon at The Sunburst Calistoga!

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

All very smooth, easy check-in and plenty of parking.

The room was brand new with trendy decor and a very comfortable bed. Great air con/heater and rainforest shower. Lack of shelving in the bathroom has already been flagged and really does need to be addressed. I'd also suggest to mgmt that they add a separate, lower towel rail for the shower mat to save it dripping on the clean towels or lying damp on the floor. Could also do with a waterproof shower curtain as the fabric became very damp.

Was a little disappointed by the motel-feel of the place outside with rooms facing onto the car park and road. The website was a little misleasing on this front, in fact, aside from the great pool, the website photos carefully avoid including a shot of the external premises. Nothing against motels, but we weren't looking to stay in one and it feels a little out of place somwhere as quaint as Calistoga.

Breakfast in the lobby was uninspiring to say the least. Good if you're on the move immediately and want a muffn/boiled egg/peelable tub of cereal (no bowls for the porrige) but underwhelming for tourists. So much so in fact that we avoided it the second day....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat110601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Kat110601,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent guest stay and experience with us at The Sunburst Calistoga. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the newly remodeled guest rooms and everything worked perfectly. We are currently addressing the lack of shelving in our guest bathrooms as the pedestal sinks do not offer enough space for bath amenities and we are continuing to install new shelves this week. In addition, I appreciate your comments regarding waterproofed shower curtains or curtain liners as I have been researching available options to preserve our shower curtains.

I apologize for your disappointment of the 'motel-feel' of our hotel and our photos published online on our website are in no way meant to be misleading. We simply wanted to capture the best images of the hotel from a variety of angles as unique as the property itself.

Thank you for your comments regarding our continental breakfast in our lobby as we have only recently introduced our complimentary breakfast. We are always looking to improve upon the breakfast offerings so that you may fully enjoy a full selection of items to choose.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with us at The Sunburst Calistoga and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when your travel plans bring you back to beautiful Calistoga.

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Not sure how much longer this place will be obscure.
For it's price, location, and offered amenities it is great value. Just don't expect luxurious hotel. From the outside it looks like what it is... a newly renovated motel. It just opened about 3 months ago. The units are all single story and spread out laterally from the registration area. There is ample free parking.

You can't beat the price. I called around 10+ hotels in the Napa, St. Helena, Youtville, Calistoga area. This place is much much cheaper. There was even availability on a busy weekend. They were giving a grand opening 20% discount. Cheaper than what I found on HotelTonight ipad app.

It is a newly renovated motel, but don't let the outside looks fool you. They did a great job on the inside. They use very bold colors and patterns in a very contemporary almost art-deco style. The bathrooms have bright black and white tiles. I rented a queen single and a king suite. Both rooms are quite roomy. The king suite also had a pull out sofa bed. It even had a very faint new paint smell. (Can be deemed good or bad....) The only drawback to this place was that the because of the contemporary furnishings, although there was a lot of room in our king suite bathroom, the pedestal sink offered almost no counter space. Reportedly they are putting in shelves this week to offer more space for toiletries.

You get free breakfast. It's pretty weak... but what can you expect when you are getting great prices. You get a few choices but we ended but with can of generic fruit cup, 2 packaged boiled eggs, carton of Tropicana OJ, small yoplait yogurt.

The pool area is great, especially for a cold night. All from naturally hot mineral springs. It reportedly comes up 200 degrees so has to be cooled. here is 1 larger pool that doesn't seem to be warmed too much. Nice sized kiddie pool 2 feet deep that was warm, even on a cold night. ?80-90 degrees. The jacuzzi is pretty large and is about 102 degrees. They supply lounge chairs and towels.

The TVs are flat screens with actual HD programming. There is a Keurig coffee maker.

What I really appreciated was free wifi with speeds that were actually usuable. I measured 5mbs download on my iPad in the evening.

Location is pretty good. It's about 15 minutes from St. Helena, 30 min to Yountville, and 40 minutes from Napa.

If you don't go in expecting much you will be very pleasantly surprised. I would definitely stay here again, especially with a family with kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nahlalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Nahlalee,

Thank you for choosing The Sunburst Calistoga as your preferred accommodations and I'm delighted to hear that you loved our retro-modern accommodations. Our Grand Opening 20% discount will be available through the end of the year, so we'd love to welcome you back to the hotel again, too! We are installing the new shelves in the guest bathrooms this week and we hope to have all 50 rooms completed by this weekend, if not by early next week. In addition, we have introduced our newly revamped complimentary continental breakfast that is now featured in our lobby and we offer fresh baked goods from the local bakery along with coffee, tea, orange juice, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, cereal & more! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Sunburst Calistoga as our guest and thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with us!

Warm Regards,

Casey Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa

Property: Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Address: 1880 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1115 (Formerly The Sunburst Calistoga)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa is an epic ode to the Great American Road Trip of the 50's, 60's, and 70's, and the spirit of exploration it evokes. Whether it's backroad wine country or a relaxing mineral bath, our backyard can be your backyard, and it's anything but ordinary. Framed by vineyards and bike trails, our stylish Mid-Century Modern digs are the perfect foundation for those looking to find their next great adventure from the perfect home base. Perfectly placed at the head of the Silverado Trail, in the heart of Californias scenic wine region, the Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa features 50 rooms and suites, two Mineral Water Pools and a Mineral Water Hot Tub, and a Full Service Spa. We at the Calistoga Motor Lodge believe that a hotel is more than a bed and that life is best lived in this order: play, soak, eat, drink, spa, explore, sleep, repeat. And with this in mind, we set-out to create something that Wine Country has never seen. Welcome to our little, laid-back home, we we embrace color in spades and you can be you. After a leisurely bike ride to one of the dozens of nearby vineyards, soak up the sun and relax in our three on-site hot spring mineral water pools, perhaps with a glass of wine from one of the bottles you purchased along during the day. As the sun climbs high, hike or bike the adjacent Oat Hill Mine Trail where breathtaking views of the Valley are around every corner. Then, pamper yourself at our MoonAcre Spa and Baths. Our mission: to serve up bliss with a dose of whimsy and relaxation without the fuss. Because after all, there’s very little that laughter and a nice rub won’t cure. The hotel is located just 40 scenic minutes north of the City of Napa and 75 scenic miles from San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Village Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Village Inn And Spa
Calistoga Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing