We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Napa Valley wine tasting visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sunburst Calistoga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sunburst Calistoga
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Napa Valley wine tasting visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Picked up the Starburst from a Groupon offer. Very well pleased with overall condition & location of resort -- just outside Calistoga. Stayed 2 nights & were well happy with our time there. Recently refurbished to a good standard & very comfortable.
Pool + Jacuzzi were welcome additions & of a good standard.
Shuttle bus provided for local destinations free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    173
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
111
267
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room itself was nice, very retro and comfortable. the bed was nice, pillows were a little hard. But the biggest mistake this place made was not expanding the bathroom. The shower flooded the bathroom each time we used it. The shower was a rain shower, so high could not be adjusted so I had no choice other than stand next to the wall in order for the water not to come down on my head. Horrible. There was also no where to place your items, only a small glass shelf above the sink.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rudysboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our two nights in a suite at Sunburst. We appreciated the spacious room with the sofabed for our kids. The room was bright and clean. I also like the (eco) fact that the hotel has dispensers for high quality soap, shampoo etc. instead of small bottels. The room is not very soundproof though, we could hear traffic and our neighbours quite clearly. You get breakfast coupons for a bakery in town, which is a little inconvenient if you want to stay at the hotel for a while in the morning. 

We also enjoyed the pools and the walking distance to the town centre with stores, restaurants and a laundrette. Several wineries are close by, the charming Lava Vine is a two minute walk. 



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've been to the Wine Country many times. I expected the tranquility and the green scenery.

The hotel did not meet my expectations. It had
- a motel-like feel to it
- no scenery (front faced a highway, back faced non-pleasant nothingness
- pool was too chlorinated, small and never had any fresh towels. i had to ask twice to get a towel. there were not enough chairs to lay/sit on
- Jacuzzi was too weak to even feel
- breakfast was good the first night, but on night 2, we received a letter that stated that from this point forward we have to drive to downtown to a local coffee shop to get our complimentary coffee and a baked good. Not convenient

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on 4/26. The location is great, and the staff is knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms are very clean. The decor is great-cheerful...loved the colors. The bed was amazingly comfortable-slept great.
There is a Keurig machine in the room, and there is also coffee in the reception area in the morning.
Definitely take advantage of the mineral pools. They are a treat!
Agree with other reviewers that the walls are thin. Earplugs are provided in the room. However, I had no issue sleeping.
It is a great choice in the area and would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Love_2_travel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

we stayed here on our past weekend trip to Napa. this was a small drive up to room type of a hotel, the rooms were very clean and spacious. we had a king room, a small sitting area a dressing area and a nice little bathroom. the breakfast was nicely arranged and fresh. pools were clean and fresh as was the hot tub - beware it is very hot so takes time to adjust. one thing to note this is in calistoga which is at the other end so if you are dining out in yountville for instance then account for 30minute ride in each direction. stayed here 2 nights with wife and for the price definitely a good find. there is no concierge or any real on site services so hotel is probably an overstated title but for a getaway when you're touring all day this is definitely a nice place to come back to.

also note there is no restaurant on site and i accidentally selected restaurant and now cant remove the rating.

Room Tip: rooms are different and my friend had a king room as well but his bathroom and layout was different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okosub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Sunburst was a great place to stay. Easy walk into the town of Calistoga. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with healthy options. The warm pools were wonderful! Price was reasonable, also. Very nicely remodeled property.

Room Tip: Could ask to be near pool or office. Not a very large place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krf7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.9 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
0.8 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunburst Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunburst Calistoga

Property: The Sunburst Calistoga
Address: 1880 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sunburst Calistoga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This freshly renovated boutique hotel provides the perfect accommodations for your Napa Valley getaway. Located at the beginning of the world-famous Silverado Trail, each bright and clean retro-modern guest room offers a flat-screen TV, iHome alarm clock, compact refrigerator with minibar snacks, single-serve gourmet coffee machine, and complimentary Wi-Fi. After a leisurely bike ride to one of the dozens of nearby vineyards, soak up the sun and relax in our three on-site hot spring mineral water pools, perhaps with a glass of wine from one of the bottles you purchased along during the day. For breakfast, feel like a local at the Calistoga Roastery (best breakfast sandwiches in town) with an espresso across the street at El Ray. As the sun climbs high, hike or bike the adjacent Oat Hill Mine Trail where breathtaking views of the Valley are around every corner. Then, pamper yourself at one of Calistoga's numerous renowned spas where mud-baths have been the norm for 100 years. Later in the day sip Napa Valley's famous wine in our backyard or at any of the local wineries in town - most are easily within walking distance or via Calistoga's growing bike path. Most guests simply love the scenic 8-minute stroll into the heart of town where you can enjoy restaurants, shopping, local museums, art galleries, and more. And at any time of day, visit the lobby for freshly brewed coffee or tea and recommendations from our knowledgeable hosts that will make your experience a memorable one. The hotel is located just 40 scenic minutes north of the City of Napa and 75 scenic miles from San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your The Sunburst Calistoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Village Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Village Inn And Spa
Calistoga Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing