We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Calistoga getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great convenient hotel. Walking distance to downtown Calistoga. Nice pool area - 1 large pool, smaller warm wading pool and hot tub. Lots of lounge chairs and clean towels. Rooms were comfortable, bed very comfortable. Would come back for a couples weekend and could also make it a family trip. Service was lovely. They have water, coffee and fruit available all day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mscSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed two nights at this very plain, but immaculate re-do of an old motel. The rooms are small, but immaculate and completely redone in a very retro, clean fashion. The mineral water pool area is nice. My only complaint is that the motel sits on blacktop, and there are no patios, patio furniture, or greenery outside the rooms -- just blacktop. It is all one story. Walls are thin, and you can hear your neighbors' conversations (and singing!). The motel sits just outside of Calistoga and it is possible to walk or bike in. It was nice, but we would not return.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are not on the main road, but all are just sitting on blacktop. I would try to get an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan G, General Manager at Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi Katy L,

It was great to have you as our guest! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated room and our mineral pools. Should you happen to return to Calistoga, we hope that you will stay with us again.

Thank you for choosing the Sunburst Calistoga!

Warm regards,

Ryan G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I went to this hotel during a trip to California and it was one of my favorite place I stayed.
The room is very nice with a very modern design. The bed is extremely comfortable.
I especially liked the pool and spa that were heated and very clean.

For the breakfast, they give a coupon for a free continental breakfast at a nearby cafe, which was nice.

I would return to this hotel if I ever go back to Calistoga.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank benoitp602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Picked up the Starburst from a Groupon offer. Very well pleased with overall condition & location of resort -- just outside Calistoga. Stayed 2 nights & were well happy with our time there. Recently refurbished to a good standard & very comfortable.
Pool + Jacuzzi were welcome additions & of a good standard.
Shuttle bus provided for local destinations free of charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room itself was nice, very retro and comfortable. the bed was nice, pillows were a little hard. But the biggest mistake this place made was not expanding the bathroom. The shower flooded the bathroom each time we used it. The shower was a rain shower, so high could not be adjusted so I had no choice other than stand next to the wall in order for the water not to come down on my head. Horrible. There was also no where to place your items, only a small glass shelf above the sink.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank rudysboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our two nights in a suite at Sunburst. We appreciated the spacious room with the sofabed for our kids. The room was bright and clean. I also like the (eco) fact that the hotel has dispensers for high quality soap, shampoo etc. instead of small bottels. The room is not very soundproof though, we could hear traffic and our neighbours quite clearly. You get breakfast coupons for a bakery in town, which is a little inconvenient if you want to stay at the hotel for a while in the morning. 

We also enjoyed the pools and the walking distance to the town centre with stores, restaurants and a laundrette. Several wineries are close by, the charming Lava Vine is a two minute walk. 



Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've been to the Wine Country many times. I expected the tranquility and the green scenery.

The hotel did not meet my expectations. It had
- a motel-like feel to it
- no scenery (front faced a highway, back faced non-pleasant nothingness
- pool was too chlorinated, small and never had any fresh towels. i had to ask twice to get a towel. there were not enough chairs to lay/sit on
- Jacuzzi was too weak to even feel
- breakfast was good the first night, but on night 2, we received a letter that stated that from this point forward we have to drive to downtown to a local coffee shop to get our complimentary coffee and a baked good. Not convenient

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.0 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa

Address: 1880 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1115 (Formerly The Sunburst Calistoga)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#9 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: £143 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa is an epic ode to the Great American Road Trip of the 50's, 60's, and 70's, and the spirit of exploration it evokes. Whether it's backroad wine country or a relaxing mineral bath, our backyard can be your backyard, and it's anything but ordinary. Framed by vineyards and bike trails, our stylish Mid-Century Modern digs are the perfect foundation for those looking to find their next great adventure from the perfect home base. Perfectly placed at the head of the Silverado Trail, in the heart of Californias scenic wine region, the Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa features 50 rooms and suites, two Mineral Water Pools and a Mineral Water Hot Tub, and a Full Service Spa. We at the Calistoga Motor Lodge believe that a hotel is more than a bed and that life is best lived in this order: play, soak, eat, drink, spa, explore, sleep, repeat. And with this in mind, we set-out to create something that Wine Country has never seen. Welcome to our little, laid-back home, we we embrace color in spades and you can be you. After a leisurely bike ride to one of the dozens of nearby vineyards, soak up the sun and relax in our three on-site hot spring mineral water pools, perhaps with a glass of wine from one of the bottles you purchased along during the day. As the sun climbs high, hike or bike the adjacent Oat Hill Mine Trail where breathtaking views of the Valley are around every corner. Then, pamper yourself at our MoonAcre Spa and Baths. Our mission: to serve up bliss with a dose of whimsy and relaxation without the fuss. Because after all, there’s very little that laughter and a nice rub won’t cure. The hotel is located just 40 scenic minutes north of the City of Napa and 75 scenic miles from San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calistoga Village Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Village Inn And Spa
Calistoga Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing