We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable at best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable at best.”
Reviewed 28 January 2011

This hotel was in an excellent location within walking distance to Calistoga. However, the new renovated rooms were average at best. The shower was poor plumbing with limited water pressure and a broken nozzle that basically shot in every direction. The mattress on the bed was so uncomfortable we stayed awake the majority of the night trying to find a comfortable sleeping position without feeling the springs from the mattress. The hotel was almost empty and we were placed in a room under another occupied room, the walls were so thin we could hear their entire conversations and their loud noises at 4:30 in the morning. To top it all off, they turned the hot water off and notified us by placing a typed paper on the bathroom mirror while we were out for the day. So unprofessional and such a horrible experience. Needless to say we checked out early to find a more comfortable option with running hot water.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinationchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpatel1ca, Manager at Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Our mission is to provide superior customer care and to meet or exceed all of our guests’ expectations. While feedback such as yours is uncommon, please know that we take it very seriously and will always attempt to correct any/all issues when given the opportunity to do so.

Upon learning of your experience via this review, we inspected your room and did in fact find a faulty showerhead which was immediately replaced. We did not find any issues with the bed which is a high-end Sealy Encore Plush pillowtop purchased just over two years ago, nor were we made aware of any noisy guests. Gas service was turned off as planned by PG&E between 10am and 1pm, though it did not result in any loss of hot water to our guestrooms. A courtesy notice was provided a day prior simply informing our guests of the planned shutoff.

Nonetheless, we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We only wish that you had informed us that you were unhappy at any time during your stay. As mentioned above, we would have gladly rectified the situation had we been given the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    241
    45
    16
    8
See reviews for
128
356
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed here with friends whiile visiting the Napa Valley Wine country. The staff was very helpful starting with making our reservations and following through with their advice and recommendations. The rooms were clean, comfortable beds, and spacious. The complimentary breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. The location was quiet, yet convenient to attractions. I would recommend this to other travelers to the valley

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I recommend this hotel and while Bestwestern may sound too lame for the area known for its posh accommodations, don't let that deter you. It's within walking distance to the main downtown area, the rooms are large and clean, they have a swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, and steam room. Beyond all that, the staff is friendly and accommodating, especially Sandra at the front desk who helped us make reservations at an area spa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogini67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We set out for a different destination, and ended up in Calistoga. The people at the Stevenson Manor Inn took good care of us. We had a room overlooking the meadow and hills, with a small balcony. It was a room away from the highway, so it was pretty quiet. The room looked recently updated. And, with AAA, it was less than $100! Perfect for our last minute getaway!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahoeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We were unable to book rooms at the Mt. View for one night only on the weekend, so we stayed at Stevenson Manor which also offered us three king rooms. Rooms were very large, bathrooms were huge, and everything has been newly updated/decorated. Breakfast is included and it was simple but filling and offered fresh fruit, cereals waffles, and muffins/breads.
Walking distance to town, it is well located for wine tasting in the Calistoga area. We walked from our lodging to a morning hike Sunday up in the hills on teh east side of the valley. I'll come back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We came to Calistoga for a NYE ball and Stevenson Inn was recommended by the winery (Castello di Amorosa). This was a great value, the room was very clean, the linens and furnishings seemed new. The breakfast choices were plentiful (great waffles!) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I agree with other reviewers, this was far more than I expected for a 'Best Western Motel'.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The hotel is OK - we would Rate it just Average. Rooms are clean. Walls are thin - heard the guy in the next room snoring all night. We had a balcony room - with a great view of the traffic on the 2 lane road right under our feet. We did enjoy the free breakfast, nice selection. We also used the hot tub and steam room. both clean - but right on the road, so not really relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perkinswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.6 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
24.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor

Property: Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Address: 1830 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western PLUS Stevenson Manor offers guest-focused, Calistoga lodging. Discover wine country relaxation in our 34 Calistoga guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor Hotel Calistoga
Best Western Calistoga
Stevenson Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing