We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishonest & Lazy Housekeeping ... BIG problem here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Camarillo
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dishonest & Lazy Housekeeping ... BIG problem here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The short version:
A housekeeper stole my engagement ring; the entire staff was completely uncaring about the incident and didn't do a single thing about it. (they wouldn't even speak with their own housekeeping staff until I got someone from corporate involved).

Also, I'd echo the other reviews here about not-the-cleanest ... when we checked in, there were hair ties, with hair stuck in them, in the bathroom drawers, and partially eaten food in the fridge. That's just gross.

The long-winded story:
We stayed at this Residence Inn for 3 weeks when we moved to the area, while we were waiting for our home to be ready. The evening before our movers were scheduled to move us into our home, I put the two rings that I always wear into my plastic travel jewelry case, and then put the jewelry case into the dresser, where I’d been keeping it the entire 3 weeks we’d been staying at the hotel. One of the rings was my engagement ring. I did not want to wear any jewelry on moving/unpacking day, as I didn’t want to lose it. The next day we checked out of the hotel and brought all of our things to our home, and began unpacking. I realized that night that my engagement ring was missing from my jewelry case – the other ring was there, right where I’d put it, along with all of my other jewelry, but the engagement ring (obviously the most expensive item) was gone. Note that the "jewelry case" is actually a fishing tackle box - very sturdy with secure clasps. I immediately called the hotel; they let me know that the room had already been checked into by someone else and they couldn’t enter the room or knock, as it was late. My husband went down to the hotel early the next morning, where the front desk gave him the run around. I called the hotel that afternoon, and they acted like they had no idea what I was talking about. When I explained the situation, they again stated someone had rented the room, but said they would speak to the housekeeping staff and call me back. No one called me back, so I called again the next day; I was told that no one had yet spoke to housekeeping, nor had they even knocked on the door to see if the current tenants would let them look around the room. Since I could not get anyone to take any action at the hotel, I then called a person at Corporate Marriott, whose contact info I got through my company's relocation team. The corporate person got in touch with the manager at the Residence Inn who finally called me back. According to the manager, no one had informed her of the situation. She basically told me there was nothing they could do other than search the room, and claimed that nothing like this had ever happened before. I filed a police report that evening, but, given that it was 3-4 days after the ring was stolen, I doubt the ring will be found. I was later contacted by someone at Marriott corporate claims office who informed me that this was not Marriott’s fault, and they would not take any responsibility, but to please call them if I found the ring. Seriously?

I understand that these things happen, I was an idiot to leave my ring there, and clearly they have one dishonest employee. What I find unacceptable, however, is that the rest of the staff was so uncaring and uncommunicative about this event (which, given the sentimental nature of what was stolen, was pretty awful for me). I know these places are franchised, but I won't be staying at ANY Marriott in the future, as I just don't want to be reminded of this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    57
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
63
28
7
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kwajalein Island, Marshall Islands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Residence Inn in Camarillo met our requirements nicely as we were in the process of relocating overseas. We had a pet cat that was travelling with us and we needed the room for four nights. We were expecting a "pet-friendly" room that was probably of lower cleanliness than the normal rooms. What we got was a "pet-friendly" room that had no evidence of previous pet guests! It was just as clean and comfortable as any of the other Marriott rooms I had stayed in!

There were several things that I enjoyed about this hotel , including the pool, breakfast, manager's reception, laundry facility, and exercise room. But the thing that really stood out to me was the friendliness of the entire staff, (cleaning, front desk and the people taking care of the meal area). Everybody was very help and very pleasant.

Room Tip: It's an easy on/off with the 101 freeway, but does require a vehicle to get to any dining facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveD-on-Kwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

So, we had previously been staying at Homewood Suites in Oxnard, which I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend. It's really nice, a step above the Residence Inn although they are in the same price range. But they were unavailable the remaining night of our stay, so we switched. Ugh, the difference was huge.

I checked in right at 3 PM. The room they gave me (one bedroom suite) smelled so, so bad and it hit me like a ton of bricks the second I stepped in. It smelled like a Korean BBQ/Mexican restaurant and like someone had literally been cooking onions 4 minutes before I walked in. Horrified, but in a hurry, I opened all the windows, turned on the bathroom and kitchen fans, and prayed that it would air out. Also, I found the trash cans completely full. The kitchen trash reeked and had food in it. I was about to puke. Called housekeeping to take it out, and assumed the smell would be gone when I returned. I literally feel like the room was barely cleaned from the last person. It was DISGUSTING. The room not only smelled, but it didn't feel clean at all.

Arrived back late, late that night, and upon entering with my husband and children, all of us freaked over the nasty food smell that was still STRONG. Thanks, Residence Inn. Who cleans this place?? We moved rooms, and admittedly, they were very understanding, but ew. I felt so sorry for the next person who got the room from smelly hell. I couldn't shake the whole thing and didn't feel very comfortable or clean the rest of the stay, even in our new room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HL950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our family stayed at the Residence Inn while our house was being fumigated for termites. This hotel allows pets and we were very happy we could bring our cat. Our suite was very nice, spacious and had no pet odors at all. It was nice having a full kitchen.

The complimentary buffet breakfast had a good variety and our kids had breakfast before leaving for school. One of the nights during our stay the hotel had complimentary BBQ hamburgers and beverages. There's a little convenience store by the front desk where you buy snacks and bottled water or sodas. The staff is very friendly and make you feel welcome.

The only negative comments are about the furniture. The beds were comfortable, but the sofa sleeper was horrible. The "mattress" was so thin that it was painful to try to sleep on it. The sofas and chairs were pretty worn out and need to be replaced.

We would definitely stay here again if we need to and we have recommended it to friends who had out of town guests visiting and needed a inexpensive, but nice, hotel to stay at. If you do not have pets and are concerned that the rooms would smell bad from previous pets staying there, our suite did not have any odors at all.

Room Tip: If you want ice for your room/suite buy it at the market or liquor store. There are no ice machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KonaMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had not stayed in a Residence Inn in quite awhile and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were quite spacious although some pieces of furniture need to be updated they were showing wear. Breakfast was good and there were special theme dinners scheduled for some nights. Unfortunately we could take advantage of them as we only stayed one night. Also had a nice laundromat area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central CA coast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Again, I was down for a dressage show with 2 horses and my friend and I each had OUR OWN SUITE! It was really nice, and relaxing, friendly, helpful, courteous staff. The most comfortable hotel I have stayed in. And the breakfast was GREAT!!! Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dressagetrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redwood city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We just here, 2 nights. We checked in early and they had a Studio room ready on the 2nd floor which is what I had booked. Room was very nice and well decorated BUT...room was very dirty and I wonder if even we had cleaned sheets/pillow cases. Who ever cleaned this room was very lazy. We told them about it but said I cleaned what had to be cleaned. They didn't wipe down any of the sinks, mirrors were dirty..walls had stuff on it that I won't even mention..it made me sick to my stomach. My personal opinion is that this Residence Inn is so busy they quickly clean the rooms...the hall way when you step out of the elevator on the 2nd floor had crumbs that stayed there for two days didn't bother vaccuming. I never even saw a vaccum when the maids were cleaning the rooms. Would I stay here again Yes! but I'll be sure to get a room that is well cleaned. I'll have the white gloves...I believe in second chances..

Room Tip: The rooms are good but just make sure there clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camarillo
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Camarillo
Courtyard Camarillo
#5 of 10 in Camarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Camarillo Inn
BEST WESTERN Camarillo Inn
#2 of 10 in Camarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
#3 of 10 in Camarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
6.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Camarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Camarillo

Property: Residence Inn Camarillo
Address: 2912 Petit Street, Camarillo, CA 93012
Region: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Camarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Camarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or leisure, Residence Inn Camarillo offers the perfect blend of comfort and convenience for your next getaway to sunny Southern California. Our extended-stay hotel is near popular attractions including the Naval Air Base of Ventura County, Point Mugu, Port Hueneme, California State University Channel Islands and Camarillo Premium Outlets. Stay well-connected with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, available property-wide. Get each morning off to a great start when indulging at our free hot breakfast buffet featuring healthy and hearty options. During downtime, maintain your workout routine in our fitness center or at our outdoor pool. Stylish, spacious suites await when it comes time to retire for the night. Our accommodations boast separate living, sleeping and eating areas plus fully equipped kitchens so you'll feel right at home. Friendly staff, modern amenities and a prime location are just the ingredients you need for a stress-free escape at Residence Inn Camarillo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Camarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Camarillo Hotel Camarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing