We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So, Worn Out, Easy Freeway Access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So-So, Worn Out, Easy Freeway Access”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights, but only because too busy and tired to go somewhere else.

Grounds are nice, ample parking, clean lobby. Rooms are in dire need of an update. Sheets worn and pilled. Had them changed but apparently this place has not seen new towels and bedding in a L-O-N-G time. Housekeeping was haphazard at best, as if there were too few housekeepers taking care of too many rooms in too little time. Vacuuming was spotty, other peoples trash, debris, and food residue were in room on arrival. Fridge was not working. Sink leaked. Screen door to patio did not roll well, was a chore to open and close.

Brought HDMI cable so I could watch some of the movies from my iPad on the TV, but, for whatever reason, they disabled this ability when they programmed and installed the TV in the room.

Breakfast was good enough. Staff was friendly and helpful. Physical plant was not at same level. There are much nicer hotels in the area for same price point, and almost all of them have a better location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh K, Front Office Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tony and Sue,

Thank you for responding to our hotel survey. The comfort of our guests is our highest priority, as well as the spotlessly clean rooms. Please be assured that housekeeping management has been advised of this issue and proper precautions have been taken. We are however, excited to let you know that our hotel will be partaking in serious renovations this coming year (2015).

Once again thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Express as your Hotel of choice. We hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves if you’re ever in the area again.

Sincerely,
Diana Mendez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    43
    25
    17
See reviews for
59
37
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I reserved a room about 2 months ago for 3 of us. Requested 2 queen beds. My mom was going with us and uses a walker so I called and requested if possible we be given a handicap room. When we got there, we were given a handicap room with one queen bed. Hellooo??? they verified that I requested 2 beds but they had no other rooms available and managed to find a roll away. As an apology they gave us 2 bottled waters.....gee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh K, Front Office Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Mimbecky,
Thank you for responding to our hotel survey. We are constantly striving to provide the highest level of service for our guest and sincerely apologize for the miscommunication and inconvenience that this might have caused. Unfortunately our standard handicapped rooms are only available with one king bed. The reason for this is it gives the guest the extra space they might need to maneuver around; if they are in a wheelchair or use a walker. We are truly sorry we were unable to accommodate you in any other way.

Once again greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Express. We hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves, if you are ever in the area again.

Sincerely,
Diana Mendez
Front Office Maneger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camarillo hotels

Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You can't walk anywhere from here - we like to walk to get coffee etc - but you need a car as it's right by the highway - great location for the Camarillo Premium Outlet malls though. Wouldn't probably stay again because of the location. Outside the hotel felt a little dodgy - inside was ok. The service at reception was really rude. They were not helpful at all and failed to acknowledge you were even waiting to speak with them.

Won't stay again - will find another hotel close to malls if we return to Camarillo.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VICKIGGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear VICKIGGs,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is unfortunate to know that you were not satisfied with your stay let alone liked our location. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you had with the service provided by our staff. I appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. I have shared your comments with our hotel management to consider taking appropriate actions to improving our service.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This place seems decently busy (read: steady revenue), but it's pretty grubby and careworn (meaning: they might want to use some of that money to remodel). Pretty much everything needs a facelift or at least a deep cleaning.

Unfortunately, some of the front desk staff couldn't have cared less about their jobs.

Pretty ho-hum all around and not the quality I usually get from an HI.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ifurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ifurita,

Thank you for your review of your stay. We are sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking.

All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. The front desk team is working hard to correct the issues you had.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is located close to the freeway so it has easy access. The room was ok, clean, as well as the bathroom. It was surprisingly quiet for a good night's sleep. Has a big parking lot, free wifi and a nice balcony in our room. It is a good choice for an overnight stay in Camarillo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaytePrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh K, Front Office Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Mrs.Prida,

Thank you for the good review, we appreciate your feedback and I am gald to hear you had a good night's rest. We hope to see you back in Camarillo soon!

Sincerely,
Diana Mendez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This property is freeway close for easy-off and on to highway 101. My rate was around $100/nite excluding tax, and included plenty of free parking, free high-speed internet, complimentary buffet breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausages, pancakes, muffins, etc.). There is a gas station conveniently located next door. The staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. My room seemed larger than the standard size, the king bed was comfortable, and the shower had good water pressure and drained freely. The rooms located on the side of the hotel away from the freeway are quieter and should be requested when you make your reservation. This would be an adequate and economical choice for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: select a room not facing the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed overnight here on our way up the coast on PCH. The hotel was quiet, the staff were very nice & provided snacks upon check-in. The room & bathroom were also clean. The only downside was the beds; they were *very* firm for our liking and firmer than most hotels we have used in the past. There are limited power outlets in the room, so this could be a problem for extended stays, so you may want to bring a small power strip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh K, Front Office Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such great comments about our front desk staff, and housekeeping department. We appreciate you letting us know about the lack of power outlets and your thoughts on our beds, as the feedback that you provided will be taken into consideration upon renovations this coming year.

We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Many thanks,
Diana Mendez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camarillo
0.3 mi away
Camarillo Executive Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
#3 of 10 in Camarillo
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Camarillo Inn
Best Western Camarillo Inn
#2 of 10 in Camarillo
355 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Camarillo
Residence Inn Camarillo
#5 of 10 in Camarillo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Inn & Suites

Property: Central Inn & Suites
Address: 4444 Central Ave, Camarillo, CA 93010-8305 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Camarillo)
Region: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Central Inn & Suites Camarillo in the heart of the Ventura County.Conveniently located off Hwy 101 halfway between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Our hotel is minutes from Camarillo Premium Outlets, Naval Base Ventura County, the City of Oxnard and California State University Channel Islands. Indulge in our comfortably appointed non-smoking accommodations featuring the New Stay Smart Bedding Collection, the Guest Rated # 1 shower head by Kohler and upgraded Simply Smart bathroom amenities. Our Complimentary Express Start Buffet Breakfast features our signature Cinnamon Rolls and fresh fruit grown in Camarillo. Business travelers will appreciate being able to catch up on work in our business center or from your room with our wireless high-speed Internet access. Come stay with the Central Inn & Suites Camarillo, where our excellent hospitality, comfortable guest rooms and exceptional value blend perfectly for a memorable hotel experience.Businesses near hotel: Camarillo Airport, TriCal, Lockheed Martin, Seminis, Imation Corp, Semtech, Haas Automation Attractions near hotel: Camarillo Premium Outlets, Public Beaches, Camarillo Ranch House, Ronald Reagan Presidential Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Central Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Camarillo Hotel Camarillo
Holiday Inn Camarillo
Camarillo Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing