We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location near the huge outlet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Nagano, Japan
Level Contributor
531 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location near the huge outlet.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel, good location, 5 minutes drive from the huge outlet.
Rooms were a bid damp, but other then that, this is a good hotel !
All is clean and nice.
Seems like a very busy hotel, and a great location if you plan to go to the huge Camarillo outlet.
Free coffee at the lobby all day long, and a goof business center too, all FREE

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    43
    25
    17
See reviews for
59
37
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed three nights at the Camarillo Holiday Inn Express. Our stay started with a toilet that wouldn't flush, a sink that wouldn't stop dripping and the stopper didn't work to hold the tub water. The next morning the blow dryer wouldn't work. Upon returning in the afternoon to relax, there were not enough towels. But..... the last night of our stay, I thought I saw something moving on the night stand and upon closer inspection, there were ants everywhere!!! We were on the first floor near the front desk. Never again. I'm very dissapointed with Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is DATED and WORN OUT!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Robin J,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Please accept our deepest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been documented and our management is now looking into this. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camarillo hotels

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Camarillo, and would never stay there again.

We were originally assigned to room 220. After about an hour, we noticed a stream of ants on the desk and the wall behind it. We requested a room change, and the desk clerk sent a woman from housekeeping to help us move our things. When the housekeeper came into the room, she asked if everything was o.k., and we told her that the room had ants. We were very surprised that she responded "AGAIN?!?" (we expected her to be shocked that there were ants in the hotel). She then asked us whether the ants were large ants or small ones -- I guess they've had problems with both.

After about 20 minutes of waiting at the front desk, the desk clerk finally got around to assigning us a new room -- room 214. We moved our stuff in and got settled. Almost immediately, we discovered a steady stream of ants crawling across the bathroom floor. At this point, we figured it wasn't worth switching rooms again -- we assumed all the rooms would have ants and we'd just live with it. Since we booked through priceline, we couldn't switch hotels anyway. However, I mentioned the ants in the second room to the desk clerk, and he really didn't seem to care.

The other big problem was that we didn't receive a 6:45 AM wakeup call we requested. This is inexcusable from any hotel.

The last comment, which others have mentioned, is the general coldness/rudeness of the front desk staff. I don't have impossible expectations -- I realize this is not the Ritz Carlton -- however, a smile and a reasonable attempt at helping is expected. The woman who checked us in was generally unpleasant, the man who was arranged for our room change made us wait more than 20 minutes after we had removed our items from the first room to have a new room assigned to us.

All in all, I would never stay here again, and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh K, Front Office Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Chbruce,

Thank you for recently staying with us at The Holiday Inn Express and for also taking the time to respond to our survey. We strive to provide the highest level of service to our entire guest, and sincerely apologize for falling short on your stay.

The comfort of our guest is our highest priority, the appropriate department was notified and we have taken care of the issue with the ants. I know that this does not change your experience with us but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

We were very distressed to also hear that you encountered some less than friendly associates and service. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize as it is not the way we typically take care of our guest. We pride ourselves on providing sincere and warm service. We have taken the appropriate action regarding the situation and I will use your comments about your experience at the front desk as a training tool so that our customer service continues to improve.

Once again thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Express as your choice hotel. I hope if you are ever in the area, you will let us redeem us.

Sincerely,
Diana Mendez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights, but only because too busy and tired to go somewhere else.

Grounds are nice, ample parking, clean lobby. Rooms are in dire need of an update. Sheets worn and pilled. Had them changed but apparently this place has not seen new towels and bedding in a L-O-N-G time. Housekeeping was haphazard at best, as if there were too few housekeepers taking care of too many rooms in too little time. Vacuuming was spotty, other peoples trash, debris, and food residue were in room on arrival. Fridge was not working. Sink leaked. Screen door to patio did not roll well, was a chore to open and close.

Brought HDMI cable so I could watch some of the movies from my iPad on the TV, but, for whatever reason, they disabled this ability when they programmed and installed the TV in the room.

Breakfast was good enough. Staff was friendly and helpful. Physical plant was not at same level. There are much nicer hotels in the area for same price point, and almost all of them have a better location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh K, Front Office Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tony and Sue,

Thank you for responding to our hotel survey. The comfort of our guests is our highest priority, as well as the spotlessly clean rooms. Please be assured that housekeeping management has been advised of this issue and proper precautions have been taken. We are however, excited to let you know that our hotel will be partaking in serious renovations this coming year (2015).

Once again thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Express as your Hotel of choice. We hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves if you’re ever in the area again.

Sincerely,
Diana Mendez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I reserved a room about 2 months ago for 3 of us. Requested 2 queen beds. My mom was going with us and uses a walker so I called and requested if possible we be given a handicap room. When we got there, we were given a handicap room with one queen bed. Hellooo??? they verified that I requested 2 beds but they had no other rooms available and managed to find a roll away. As an apology they gave us 2 bottled waters.....gee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh K, Front Office Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Mimbecky,
Thank you for responding to our hotel survey. We are constantly striving to provide the highest level of service for our guest and sincerely apologize for the miscommunication and inconvenience that this might have caused. Unfortunately our standard handicapped rooms are only available with one king bed. The reason for this is it gives the guest the extra space they might need to maneuver around; if they are in a wheelchair or use a walker. We are truly sorry we were unable to accommodate you in any other way.

Once again greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Express. We hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves, if you are ever in the area again.

Sincerely,
Diana Mendez
Front Office Maneger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You can't walk anywhere from here - we like to walk to get coffee etc - but you need a car as it's right by the highway - great location for the Camarillo Premium Outlet malls though. Wouldn't probably stay again because of the location. Outside the hotel felt a little dodgy - inside was ok. The service at reception was really rude. They were not helpful at all and failed to acknowledge you were even waiting to speak with them.

Won't stay again - will find another hotel close to malls if we return to Camarillo.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VICKIGGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear VICKIGGs,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is unfortunate to know that you were not satisfied with your stay let alone liked our location. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you had with the service provided by our staff. I appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. I have shared your comments with our hotel management to consider taking appropriate actions to improving our service.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This place seems decently busy (read: steady revenue), but it's pretty grubby and careworn (meaning: they might want to use some of that money to remodel). Pretty much everything needs a facelift or at least a deep cleaning.

Unfortunately, some of the front desk staff couldn't have cared less about their jobs.

Pretty ho-hum all around and not the quality I usually get from an HI.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ifurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ifurita,

Thank you for your review of your stay. We are sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking.

All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. The front desk team is working hard to correct the issues you had.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Camarillo Executive Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo
2.7 mi away
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
#3 of 10 in Camarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Camarillo Inn
Best Western Camarillo Inn
#2 of 10 in Camarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Camarillo - Ventura
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Camarillo
Residence Inn Camarillo
#4 of 10 in Camarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Inn & Suites

Property: Central Inn & Suites
Address: 4444 Central Ave, Camarillo, CA 93010-8305 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Camarillo)
Region: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Central Inn & Suites Camarillo in the heart of the Ventura County.Conveniently located off Hwy 101 halfway between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Our hotel is minutes from Camarillo Premium Outlets, Naval Base Ventura County, the City of Oxnard and California State University Channel Islands. Indulge in our comfortably appointed non-smoking accommodations featuring the New Stay Smart Bedding Collection, the Guest Rated # 1 shower head by Kohler and upgraded Simply Smart bathroom amenities. Our Complimentary Express Start Buffet Breakfast features our signature Cinnamon Rolls and fresh fruit grown in Camarillo. Business travelers will appreciate being able to catch up on work in our business center or from your room with our wireless high-speed Internet access. Come stay with the Central Inn & Suites Camarillo, where our excellent hospitality, comfortable guest rooms and exceptional value blend perfectly for a memorable hotel experience.Businesses near hotel: Camarillo Airport, TriCal, Lockheed Martin, Seminis, Imation Corp, Semtech, Haas Automation Attractions near hotel: Camarillo Premium Outlets, Public Beaches, Camarillo Ranch House, Ronald Reagan Presidential Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Camarillo Hotel Camarillo
Holiday Inn Camarillo
Camarillo Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing