We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost ideal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The main feature of this hotel is management’s attitude towards pleasing its guests, something visible in signs all over the hotel and nice touches like a lemon-scented fountain with ice water in the lobby. The hotel’s location is very convenient off the freeway, while its physical arrangements are superb: spacious public areas and comfortable, fully equipped rooms complete with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, comfortable desk. Management not only avoids gouging guests with irritating “fees,” (such as the ridiculous “parking fee” as if you are a townie using a hotel’s parking lot to go shopping in town) but also offers not only a free rich hot breakfast buffet but also, surprise, a free evening reception. The hotel does not accept pets, so your room is free from animal-borne diseases and you are not awakened by barking at night. Finally the staff spared no effort to satisfy our room preferences and did so with gracious courtesy. Well, no one’s perfect and here are a few pointers management could consider to further increase the exceptional quality of this hotel: the hotel needs an Entrance sign at the junction of Daily Drive and the driveway between two fast food restaurants near the convenient Mobil station; without it one has difficulty finding the hotel entrance the first time. The nice flat screen TV offers HBO but neither many channels nor a Guide channel that would let you know which programs are on and scheduled. The room’s attractive table lamps are equipped with cheap switches which often malfunction; it was impossible to turn off the lamp on the desk and we had to pull the plug out of the wall. The bathroom vanity was not spacious and a single switch controlled both the light and the exhaust fan, thus the noisy fan had to be on even if it was not needed. The tub's bottom is mirror-smooth and can cause slipping, something that may result in serious injury. At least there is a handle one can hold on. The welcome free Wi-Fi service’s signal was too weak to enable Internet access, at least not on the top floor. The vending machine does not accept cash and requires the use of a credit card. But how can guests give their precious credit card information to a crude machine that neither issues a receipt nor gives information about its owner? Because my wife was dying of thirst, I reluctantly used my card and now I’m checking my card’s activity twice a day to stop possible fraudulent use. Last, although we stayed two nights, housekeeping did not service our room (i. e., making the beds, restocking towels, disposing of trash, cleaning the bathroom and restocking toiletries). Well, everyone goofs once in a while, but I thought that such a well-managed hotel would have a system in place to prevent such a glaring omission. But, in an era of greedy and substandard hotel practices, staying at this hotel was overall a very pleasant experience and we plan to stay there again on our next visit to Ventura County.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Good value, good staff, nice clean rooms. Very easy to get to. Ask to be away from freeway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orcasmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at the Hampton inn on the way to Santa Barbara. As always Hampton Inn does not disappoint. Rooms are always clean and nice. Breakfast area clean and breakfast was more than just a continental breakfast. When I checked in the clerk made mention of my request for extra towels, he said if they are not already there just let them know. As soon as I got to my room I notice the extra towels and before I had to a chance to walk out of the bathroom the front desk was calling to confirm that there were extra towels.
We always ask the front desk the best place to get dinner and he recommended a few, they choice we made was absolutely wonderful.
Will continue to always stay at Hampton Inn's

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fvroadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haptoninncamarillo, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am always glad to hear that my staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations as well as following up on your personal requests. We take great pride in giving excellent service as well as providing a clean comfortable room to every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Kindest Regards,

Michael Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This place was so nice. NO PETS ALLOWED. Very Clean and everything looked new. The beds were comfortable and the shower/bathroom was nice and big. Hate when a hotel has a weak shower head output. NOT THIS PLACE. Nice and strong. Everything would have been perfect except, Hotels.com said they booked me a King size bed with a sofa bed. I walk in and NO SOFA BED. Since I booked with Hotels.com and not the hotel itself, they said I had to contact Hotels.com to fix the problem. Is this true? If not for that, everything would have been perfect. Very nice place to stay. Quiet too. There is a Pollo Loco and McDonalds 1/2 a minute away.

Room Tip: First floor is where I stayed and it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JRGarcia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haptoninncamarillo, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad you enjoyed our location as well as all the amentities including the nice shower. I do apologize for you not receiving the room with the sleeper sofa and I have contacted Hotels.com to ensure this does not happen again. We take great pride in providing excellent service as well as a clean comfortable room to every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Warmest Regards,

Michael Reardon General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Hampton Inn continues to meet my expectations--this is my 4th one in the last couple of years. This Camarillo location is not just another "pit stop" on the 101, but certainly made for a very nice home base during my recent weekend visit that included Simi Valley, Thousand Oaks, Montecito, and Santa Barbara.

I checked in after 9:00 on a Friday night after a long drive from LAX and several planned stops enroute to Camarillo. Thankfully, I was greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. He helped me with some minor wifi issues but otherwise, I found the room and bath very comfortable, spacious, and quiet. Breakfast the next day was more than adequate and was served in a nice, warm setting. There were lots of food options nearby and even a huge complex of outlet shops across the freeway.

Although quite convenient getting onto and from the 101, my GPS unit was thrown off when trying to find the driveway to the hotel for the first time.

Room Tip: The room did not have a safe and the safes behind the front desk were small. Maybe there's no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REA-WashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haptoninncamarillo, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am always glad to hear that my staff was helpful as we take great pride in giving excellent service as well as providing a clean comfortable room to every guest. I am glad you enjoyed your weekend sojourn and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Warmest Regards,

Michael Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here after fleeing the nearby Quality Inn (which was intolerably noisy among other faults). I asked for a quiet room and the desk clerk was really helpful about suggesting options. The room he recommended was very quiet, and the hotel was really nice. Everything was of good quality, well maintained, and clean. Breakfast offered lots of options, and they provided free bottled water at check-in, coffee around the clock, and cookies at night. I've stayed at other Hampton Inns that were older and were pretty average. This one is new and quite nice. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel, away from the freeway. Our room faced a McDonalds. It had an ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aredubyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haptoninncamarillo, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am always glad to hear that the my staff was helpful as we take great pride in giving excellent service as well as providing a clean comfortable room to every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area and thank you for your business.

Warmest Regards,

Michael Reardon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Hampton Inn in Camarillo has a combination of features and ammenties that make it an excellent choice for a stay in Camarillo. The experience begins with a friendly and efficient staff. The hotel is very well designed with a configuration that makes it easy to move around within the facility. It has an outstanding location, within walking distance of a shopping mall with probably the best Sushi restaurant in town along with Starbucks, Noah's Bagles and a Ralph's store. And for those that are visiting the Outlet Stores, the hotel is located right across the freeway.

The breakfast area is large and comfortable with a nice view out to the pool area. And the buffet breakfast itself is very complete with several choices that are well presented.

We usually stay at Residence Inns. But, after staying at the Residence Inn in Camarillo, we were disappointed and wanted to try someplace different. The Hampton Inn will be our choice whenever we visit Camarillo.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd-numbered room on the top floor. It will help to be a Hilton Honors member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean6042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haptoninncamarillo, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad you enjoyed our location as well as all the amentities we have to offer. We take great pride in providing excellent service as well as a clean comfortable room to every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Warmest Regards,

Michael Reardon General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camarillo
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
0.2 mi away
Best Western Camarillo Inn
Best Western Camarillo Inn
#2 of 10 in Camarillo
378 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Camarillo
Courtyard Camarillo
#4 of 10 in Camarillo
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Camarillo
Residence Inn Camarillo
#5 of 10 in Camarillo
174 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo

Address: 50 W Daily Dr, Camarillo, CA 93010-5707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camarillo
#1 Green Hotel in Camarillo
Price Range: £92 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo Hotel Camarillo
Hampton Inn And Suites Camarillo
Hampton Inn Camarillo
Camarillo Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Camarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing