We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed for one night in early September on our way up the Pacific
Highway. This is a fabulous hotel. The rooms are lovely, the hotel is
right on the beach, and it is right next door to a great restaurant.
However, it is the service that really makes this place. When we arrived
we didn't even need to give our name, somehow they just knew who we
were! The staff make you feel so incredibly welcome. If you're planning
on staying in Cambria there is no need to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    156
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
105
571
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This looks like a motel on the outside, but the rooms are lovely. Well appointed with a fireplace and nice bathroom, our room exceeded our expectations. The staff is friendly, the sound of the surf could be heard if we opened our windows, and the beach was right across the street. We didn't have a view of much besides a neighboring property, though. The room was quiet and the beds very comfortable.

If we had any complaint, it was that the breakfast was served as a picnic packed in a bag, so it wasn't hot; we had to eat it in our room, since it was blustery outside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had the most amazing view of the ocean and first class service upon check-in. This is a small hotel but our room had a huge patio, faux fireplace and big bath. I wish that we had planned a longer stay since we were unable to take advantage of the nice jacuzzi tub. Breakfast is delivered to-go style every morning and was delicious. We will definitely return to this wonderful place. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and there was a small cake in our room upon arrival. What a nice touch!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkredlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I stayed one night here with a friend during a trip on Route 1. We had a partial ocean view, but no terrace or balcony. But there were chairs on two levels at the side of the property with a beach view.
The room was very comfortable. Two spacious beds in a fair sized room. I understand the property has had a recent remodelling. All of the fixtures were of a high standard. The picnic breakfast was great and we ate it down by the beach with coffees we had made in the room. I really enjoyed my stay here. The town of Cambria was a welcome change from some of the busier towns I stayed in on my trip.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the Ocean front terrace rooms looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Booked a room for a Sunday night for my girlfriend's birthday weekend. Sadly the front rooms were all booked up so opted for the mini-suite room at the back of the hotel (figured if I can't have a view, then I shall have space!).
Impression of room was ok, but not a reflection of all the rave reviews this place is getting. The room was marketed as having a cosy fireplace. Yes, it had a fireplace, but it was tucked into the corner of the bedroom, so impossible to sit in front of and relax. Also, it was one of those gas imitation log fireplaces from the 1980's. Not impressed.
The elderly staff member who booked us in was very nice, but not very knowledgable. To my surprise, I found out she lived locally, but when I asked her about restaurants, places to go etc she proceeded to stream off lots of places which 'she had been told' were very good. How can she live in this small place but never have visited any of these restaurants or places of interest?!! Not very helpful.
Condition and cleanliness of hotel was good.
Shower was not very good - it was a rain type head, but very low flow, so took ages to shower. Frustrating.
Free wifi, breakfast delivered in the morning - also very good. Even in a packed box so you an take it with you. Nice touch.
Overall - ok, but not the best in Cambria. The Fogcatcher is actually a nicer place. Beware that most of the people here are reviewing based on staying in the front facing rooms, for which there are maybe only 4 available. If you are prepared to pay the overpriced fee for one of those, you will not care about the room because the sea is right there in front of you.
2 stars I'm afraid. It's just too basic, no pool, no views for most rooms, and poor value for money.

Room Tip: If you have the money, and you can book it far enough in advance, stay in the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHarkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We loved everything about the Blue Dolphin we stayed two nights enjoyed watching the
sunset from the patio. It was great to be across from the beach where we spent a lot of time
searching for moonstones we did find some. The staff was very courteous and knowledgeable.
Cannot say enough great things about the Blue Dolphin. Easy access from the room to
the parking lot which is very helpful when you are older. Loved the boxed breakfasts and
the wonderful choices. We also loved the fact that there were no children running about so
it was nice and quiet where you could listen to the waves.

Room Tip: Corner front rooms have a perfect view of the ocean if you want a patio ask for the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junebugray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in a sea view room at the blue dolphin. The view from the room was unbelievable and the room itself was as well equipped as any 5 star hotel. The lady at the desk recommended a really nice restaurant nearby for dinner and the level of service was generally excellent. We enjoyed the breakfast and will definitely stay there if we pass through cambria again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing