We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beat...”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I think this is our favorite place on the planet. Don't be turned off that they allow dogs and not children. This property is in a group of 4 (by ownership, I guess), and children are welcomed (and catered to) in the other 3, and pets are not allowed in 2. The best thing here is the helpfulness of the people. You can hear the ocean!!!!
Property: Outstanding location (Moonstone Beach), well maintained, clean
Service: Excellent (bent over backwards with everything
Breakfast: Unbeatable

Room Tip: Near the front is best, due to the ocean
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Blue Dolphin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here at the halfway mark of our drive from LA to San Francisco. A very cosy hotel in a great little town. The staff were very friendly, the room was very well appointed. Wish we could have stayed there longer!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you were able to stay with us in Cambria while driving up the coast. I hope that you can return soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

From nearly any room in the Inn, you can hear the ocean waves crashing against the shore as you're drifting off to sleep. How wonderful is that? We spent two nights in this wonderful, small Inn across the street from the Pacific Ocean in the charming coastal town of Cambria. The rooms here include gas fireplaces, beautifully appointed, modern bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers and comfortable beds. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful too, but the real draw is "location, location, location" - that ocean is like a magnet and the Blue Dolphin gives its guests very easy access. Being a group of three photographers, we were in heaven being so entrenched in this incredibly beautiful location, which also happens to be very close to San Simeon and the Hearst Castle. We stayed here two nights and left yearning for more. I sincerely hope we can return one day.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms on the first floor that have large patios where you can sit an enjoy the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at BDI. I am glad that you were able to take in the sites while staying in Cambria. We are so lucky to be just steps away from the ocean and the convenient board walk located just across the street. I really enjoyed reading your comments and hope that you return soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent the last two nights of 2013 at the Blue Dolphin and really liked the location; it's across the street from the ocean and a wonderful boardwalk that provides a great way to walk along the shore for over a mile. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful in making dinner reservations or answering our questions about the area. We had never been to Cambria and found it to be very charming and pretty as well as close to popular sights like the Hearst Castle, sea elephants viewing area, etc. Our corner room was 109 with a bit of an ocean view and nice amenities like a comfy bed, large bathroom with a jetted tub, coffee maker, fireplace etc. It was very comfortable except that there is an outside door adjacent to that room that other guests use; it actually wasn't too noisy when we were there, but I can see that it could be. Because 109 is on the lower floor, there's a question about privacy as the windows allow anyone passing by to easily look in. The boxed breakfasts are adequate but nothing to rave about, and, all in all, we think the hotel is a bit overpriced. That said, we did have a good time and would consider coming back if we had the choice of a different room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a nice time while staying in Cambria. It is important to us to hear guest feedback so that we can continue to improve upon our service and product. Please come back soon!
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Even though we didn't have a room with a view, the room was great. Nice and clean. Every morning they delivered a bag with breakfast, we took ours to the front patio and have a feast, the nicest view with the best breakfast!! Since we arrived back home, we have been reccomending this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your very nice comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at BDI. We take great pride in providing a superior customer experience. Please come back soon!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in the seascape cottage of moonstone cottages: studio-like rooms a few doors down from the Blue Dolphin Inn. It was a quaint little place, with a comfy bed, fireplace heater, and a large bathroom. Very cosy. We looked right out on the water, and even though it's colder this time of year, it was nice to open the blinds and see the ocean! Three downsides: 1) since the cottage looks out on the street and is at ground level, we kept our blinds closed for privacy, which means we lost our view of the water; 2) wifi in the front apartment is terrible, but it seems to be better further back by the other cottages; and 3) breakfast is extremely overrated. I would have rathered get up and go to a breakfast room the deal with wrong orders, missing orders, and limp toast. They were very nice about replacing the items, however. Just an unnecessary hassle on holiday. All in all a sweet little place if you're looking for privacy and a beach view!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank harlemharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us in our “Seascape” Cottage. The cottages are unique in themselves and because they are free standing involve a little more TLC. We are currently working on a solution for the WIFI. I have taken the necessary steps with our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure that the quality of the breakfast items are presented and served properly. This should not have happened during your stay. I appreciate your comments!
Happy New Year!
I hope that you return soon!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Blue Dolphin never disappoints. We spent 5 days here over Christmas with our 2 Labs. Our pet friendly room was lovely, the picnic breakfasts very good (loved the yogurt parfait), and the staff gracious. The cute Holiday ornament hung on our door Christmas morning was a nice surprise. Moonstone Beach is a gorgeous walk, and Cambria is full of little shops & terrific restaurants. We're hoping for our third visit soon!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LaCostaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

WOW, thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad that we never disappoint, we strive to provide a superior customer experience. I hope that you display your ornament at Christmas this year and think of us.

Happy New Year
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £136 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing