We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD…BUT”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a very atmospheric and modern motel.. with a disappointing flaw.
Yes the rooms are very nice, albeit already showing signs of use..
Our first floor ocean view room gave us a lovely nights rest with the sounds of the sea lulling us into dreamland. Sadly it all went pear shaped next morning when the beautifully presented breakfast in a bag proved to be a huge disappointment. In spite of a very large NO SUGAR note on our breakfast order , the oatmeal in a styrofoam cup was sweet.. as was everything else.
A very poor quality offering overall that could be easily fixed. Diabetics should look elsewhere for accommodation or just stay for the view and breakfast elsewhere.
We did have a lovely breakfast at a local diner on the way out so the day was saved.

There were lots of nice touches though , the squeegee and the clean rags to start the drive with a clean windscreen was much appreciated.

Room Tip: We thought our first floor room on the front was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank tgh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for noticing our little extra touches. We strive to provide our guests with everything they might need during their visit to Cambria. Your breakfast orders are carefully prepared and we will look for safeguards to not let that mistake happen again. We look forward to the opportunity to give you a 5-star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our party of two couples stopped here after a long plane ride and drive from LAX. We were greeted by a young woman who was so pleasant and gave us a complete tour of our rooms. We had partial ocean view rooms about mid way back from front of the hotel. We could hear the ocean from the room. There are fireplaces in the rooms. The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully decorated and the rooms extremely cleaned. We were there on the 1st and it was pouring rain but we were glad there were restaurants within a few feet of the hotel. All the staff we encountered were wonderful. They offer breakfast boxes. You pick out your food the night before and it is delivered to your door he next morning. The food was delicious and there is a coffee/tea station and also water offered daily. We sat out in the lobby eating our breakfast with our friends but there is a table in the room to eat too. The seals weren't around probably due to all the rain. The only issue which I didn't take off for are that the rooms are warm. The temp outside was about 40 that night and we had to sleep with the window open but it was still hot. The Inn offers standing fans but we were not a fan of sleeping with them on. We can't imagine what it must feel like on a warmer day. The bathroom was quite warm too, despite that issue truly was a wonderful stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your excellent review and we are pleased you had a good trip with your friends. There is something special about hearing the ocean at night and the rain adds such a beautiful layer of sound. We'll also look into the "too warm" issue, as generally it can be chilly at night in Cambria. We hope to see you again and we'll try to make the sun shine next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We arrived in the early afternoon after checking Trip Advisor for places to stay in Cambria. We were only going to stay for one evening and wanted to relax with an ocean view. We were shown 3 different rooms, actually escorted to them so that we could make up our minds. Of course we chose the lower level full ocean front with patio! It was wonderful. We brought some wine along and the manager was nice enough to "sneak" us a little cheese and cracker platter to enjoy with our pre dinner wine. We would definitely go back! Loved that it was within two doors down of a wonderful restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I loved everything about the BDI. From the warm reception, to the fabulous location, to the most clean, comfortable and welcoming room. We stayed in Room 208 and the room, while not large, was very well done and inviting. The creams and blues are so tasteful and relaxing and the bed was very comfortable. I loved all the thoughtful touches...the coffee maker with plenty of coffee and delicious teas, the cookies left in the room, the bathrobes & slippers, the free wi-fi....just everything was so perfect. My husband and I, along with my sister and brother in law, loved everything about your beautiful property and your lovely staff.

Room Tip: Book VERY early if you want one of the rooms with a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Sounds like you had a wonderful experience and that is what we strive for. The little touches are the things that make a big difference. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences here. And thank you for the kind words about our staff, we are so fortunate to have a great crew working for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in lovely Cambria. We would return, as we didn't plan on the towns of East and West Cambria offering as much as they did in the way of interesting shops and good dining. We stayed at the Blue Dolphin Inn and had a lovely partial ocean view room. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The reception was warm and welcoming. The room had all the amenities you would expect in a 4* hotel, including fridge, Keurig coffee machine, flat screen TV, robes, and a small dining table where we had our breakfast overlooking the ocean. The breakfast is ordered the night before and comes at the hour you designate. There was a choice of "main course" and two side dishes and a drink. We both had different styles of bagels, and fresh seasonal fruit, a large Greek yogurt, and a juice. I was happy to be able to get cranberry juice! We could have taken the breakfast on a "picnic" to the beach or eaten outside, if the weather permitted, but in February the mornings are a bit brisk for eating outside. Also, it's literally across the street from the beach and a long boardwalk, on which which we enjoyed a long stroll before dinner. All in all, a lovely quiet Inn with beautiful features and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view or partial ocean view, or you might get a room at the back of the Inn. Front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you, Deborah. We are so happy you had such a memorable visit. Cambria is a delightful town with much to offer. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We booked a room and were told to call back to get a better room with a view if one became available. We called back and were given a better room with ocean few and paid for the upgrade. When we arrived, we were told the room reserved for us had water damage and thus we were downgraded to our first room. The place seemed half empty and we were not given a better room nor any future upgrade bonus or free nights. We were disappointed that such high nightly rates did not come with high end service and etiquette .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margobgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hello,
I am sorry that you were disappointed with the service and accommodations provided to you while staying at Blue Dolphin Inn. I see that you did reserve a standard room and then upon your call and request, were upgraded to an ocean view. Unfortunately, during the time of your stay we were doing some upgrades and improvements to the facility, resulting in limited availability. We would never intentionally reserve one room for a guest and “downgrade” them unless absolutely necessary. It is unacceptable in the hospitality industry and it is not how we conduct business.
It was unfortunate that it rained during that week, consequently causing some unexpected water damage. We try to take all the necessary precautions when things like this occur so that our guest are not inconvenienced. I know that because of the limited availability, we had no other alternative but to move you back to the original room type reserved. This was a room not being worked on and not effected by water damage.
Please accept my sincere apology. I can assure you this is a rare and isolated incident. I hope that you return and give us another opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs in the future.
Sincerely,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed an ocean view suite with very comfy bed, quiet and great location in the middle of the strip of hotels overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Very friendly front desk staff. Keurig coffee in the room was a nice touch. Look forward to our return

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drj4babies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Blue Dolphin Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return again soon.
Sincerely
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £141 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing