We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight en route to San Francisco”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overnight en route to San Francisco”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here overnight en route to san francisco. Loved this hotel, I could have stayed here for days. Such a warm welcome and a cosy place to stay. Wonderful accommodations, great night sleep. Thank you to all who work at the blue dolphin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelshell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of Blue Dolphin Inn. We hope your next visit allows you some extra time to explore the area. Cambria is quite the undiscovered gem. We will pass your thanks along to our staff and we hope you have a chance to visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    159
    37
    13
    6
See reviews for
116
600
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

When we arrived we were met by a very friendly front desk Lady, We were shown to our room that was literally behind the front desk and adjacent to the parking lot, unfortunately the cars were parked right outside the window on the ground floor, When you looked out the window you were looking directly into someones car. My husband went to the front desk and asked for another room which they gave us for an additional cost of course. If they had not charged us more for the other room I would have gave them a better rating. In the morning there was a very nice warm boxed breakfast sent to our room, you could eat it in your room outside on the property or walk across the street to the beach and eat it there. Overall I would stay there again the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the back parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandraW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review of Blue Dolphin Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and that you would enjoy a return visit. We offer the room you mentioned at a reduced rate because it isn't one with a view. For many of our guests, they appreciate the discounted rate. But we cannot extend the same rates for our other rooms. Each room is unique and the pricing is for that experience. Naturally, an oceanfront suite would be a higher rate than a room that does not have the same view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in the Anaho Bay room which is on the upper level. We liked the upper floor as we were able to keep the windows open all night and listen to the ocean waves lull us to sleep. The room is very lovely with a comfortable king bed, large windows to watch the ocean and boardwalk area. Loved ordering our breakfast the day before with breakfast delivered the next morning. It was very warm in Cambria that week (in the upper 80's) so one morning we took our picnic boxed breakfast outside and enjoyed at one of the little tables around the property. Loved the keurig coffee maker as well, nice touch. We did have a problem with the bathtub stopper not working, called the front desk and maintenance was at our door within 5 minutes and replaced the faulty plug!! We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and the hotel left a small cake in our room. Loved the special attention we received at the Blue Dolphin and we just love the charming town of Cambria - had wonderful meals at Sea Chest, Madeline's, and also enjoyed music,wine at the Wise Owl in town. Can't wait for our next trip to Cambria and the Blue Dolphin Inn.

Room Tip: The named rooms that have the full ocean view are nicer and seem roomier. We did not have the room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Blue Dolphin Inn. You were here during one of our rare heat waves! But there is nothing better than being able to hear the ocean waves as you sleep. The peaceful effect is unlike anything else. We love that you discovered the Wise Owl, one of Cambria's newest music venues and a really lovely outdoor wine tasting area...a local favorite. We are happy that we were a part of your 20th Anniversary celebration, congratulations on that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We loved our stay at Blue Dolphin! Check in was easy and the staff was great! Our room, the Aegean Sea, was perfect! Large room, with beautiful decor and attention to detail,4 poster bed, fireplace, deep jacuzzi tub, cozy outdoor seating on patio overlooking the ocean. We immediately fixed ourselves a warm coffee and sat outside before meeting friends for dinner just down the road. We loved the homemade chocolate cookies and the morning "Picnic Box" breakfast! It came on time, hot and with everything that we'd ordered the night before. After a great nights sleep and a great breakfast in our room we were off to walk along the ocean boardwalk and experience the sights and smells of the ocean! What a wonderful find! We'll definitely go back. Just one little warning...there's very little cell service at Moonstone Beach....but who wants to be in contact with the world anyway!

Room Tip: Some rooms just overlook the driveway and/or the parking...and have no view of the ocean...so be car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We thank you for your thoughtful review of the Blue Dolphin Inn. Cambria is indeed a lovely spot, and yes, we do occasionally have some connection issues with cell service. It is an unfortunate consequence of our slightly remote locale. But then again, it is a great place to unplug and get away from it all, too. Thanks again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, On
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a great little town. Perfectly situated along the HWY 1 and a mid point between San Francisco and LA. We stayed for two nights and wish we could stay longer.
Our check in process was great, very attentive and we got a tour of our room and got all our questions answered about the area. We booked on of those floor rooms with the access to the patio and it was well worth it. Especially at night for just looking at the stars and in the morning having a morning coffee on the patio listening to the waves. The bed was comfortable, bathrooms spotless.Definite 5 star attention to detail. We did not get a bottle of wine like some of the posters mentioned. Maybe that was a one time thing only. If we did a California Road trip again we would definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the Blue Dolphin Inn. Enjoying the stars at night is one of our favorite things about Cambria. With little ambient light, the night sky puts on a brilliant show. To answer your question about the wine, it is available as an add-on when you book the room, not included in the regular room rates. We have other add-ons including a cheese plate or chocolate strawberries. It's a nice treat for those special occasions or anytime you want to spoil yourself a little!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this hotel because it was listed as #1 in Cambria by Trip Advisor. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious and the bathroom was spotless. There was a deep soaking tub and I would have loved a bath, however with the numerous signs around Cambria stating that Cambria was experiencing a severe drought, I just couldn't bring myself to use the tub. The location was lovely, and we had a partial sea view form the bay window in our room.

A downside for us is that there is nowhere to socialize with other guests. We did sit in the small yet pleasant lobby, which has enough seating for two, while we checked out the binder of menus from local restaurants. We received very helpful restaurant recommendations from both people at the check-in desk. Breakfast is delivered directly to your room, and there is no evening wine event which seems a shame given the proximity of wineries in the area.

We experienced a couple of issues while we were there. When we were checking in, as I was signing the guest registration form I realized it was for another guest at a different/higher rate. Once I pointed this out, I assumed it would be corrected. However, when we went to check out we were informed that the incorrect rate had been put through on our credit card then refunded and recharged at the correct rate. I explained that because we were using Canadian credit cards his billing error would cost us in the exchange rates. When I received my credit card bill at home I noticed that the error had been put through and corrected not once but twice resulting in approximately $15 extra cost for me. Not a lot but when I'm considering a room in the $150 to $200 range, $15 does influence my decision. Also the lack of attention to detail and the ambivalence when mention irked me! The other minor issue was in the breakfast. We had ordered mini danish and one scone with butter and jam. We received two scones with no butter or jam and no danish! Not worth complaining about but again, lack of attention to detail.

A point of interest for those who don't like to book in advance; while we were in the lobby, a man came in to inquire about room rates for the night. He was quoted a rate that was quite high compared to what I had booked online the night before our stay. I would suggest booking in advance even one day if possible. Also, I checked five different sites before I booked and I found a significant difference between sites.

If I hadn't experienced the issue with the currency exchange, I would stay again because I was fully satisfied with the room, the cleanliness, the friendliness, the breakfast (try the warm croissant with bacon and egg filling, it is amazing). However, if I'm fortunate enough to go to Cambria again, I will try somewhere else because all the hotels seemed lovely to us as we checked them out as we walked along the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor as close to the ocean as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQ1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We thank you for your thoughtful review. Attention to details is something we strive to do well, so we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our kitchen staff is usually very accurate, but we will discuss internal measures to prevent this from being a problem in the future. On the difference in prices, room rates vary depending on the size of the room and the views so yes, prices can vary depending on which room it is. We will research the issue regarding your credit card and email you directly with those results. We hope your return visit to Cambria will provide us an opportunity to show you why we are consistently the #1 rated hotel on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I recently completed a trip up California Highway 1. We booked a 1 night stay in one of the ocean-view rooms, and we had a wonderful stay. The amenities were great and only outdone by the ocean view. It was incredibly relaxing to watch the sun set from our bedroom window while sharing a bottle of wine. Between the incredibly comfortable bed and sounds of relaxing waves through the night, we had a great night sleep.

Room Tip: The full ocean view room is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your delightful review of your stay at Blue Dolphin Inn. We are always happy when everything comes together as planned for a lovely experience. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere so our guests can really appreciate this beautiful area. We appreciate you sharing your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Cambria
954 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,968 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing