We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as advertised”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice and clean room with updated decor. Room was a bit small but probably in line with other hotels nearby given the seaside location. Great location with beautiful seaside walking path across the street. Free wifi, coffee, hot chocolate, and good breakfast (in a box) included.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms with ocean view with large outdoor balcony. Be sure to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Most of the hotels right on the beach have comparable sized rooms, and ours are actually quite spacious. We are glad you had a good time during your visit to Cambria and we so appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

There were so many to choose from but the clincher was 18 year age limit. Nothing against kids but it's nice to stay at a place that's adults only. Renovated two years ago the Inn is clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Close to everything with a cool little sitting area out front (we had our breakfast there), I highly recommend this Inn. Coffee and tea in the lobby and a tasty warm breakfast delivered to your room in the morning made this a memorable overnight stay. Too bad the weather isn't a little sunnier and warmer for a beach community. But, the Inn is a great place to stay and we plan on going back! No pool and terrible cell phone reception but the quaint and pretty Inn was still worth it!

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for the review. We understand the cell reception right along the coast is tricky, and unfortunately, it is beyond our control. Our beaches are not quite like the southern California beaches. Here, the emphasis is more on nature and enjoying the views than getting into the water. But if you are up for kayaking or stand up paddling, lots to do! Our weather is 60s-70s year-round so very mild temps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good sized room, great breakfast, good parking, opposite beach. Bar & restaurant 2 doors down. Main high street a good walk or easy drive away for good bars and restaurants. Staff were very polite,friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Sounds like you had a great time and thank you so much for this lovely review. We appreciate you sharing your experience with future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My partner and I enjoyed three nights at this lovely, remodeled Inn. Patti greeted us with a big smile at the front desk and led us to our spectacular room, The Sea of Japan, where we opened the window and exclaimed over our gorgeous ocean view. The sound and sight of the surf just melted all our cares away. Room very clean, beds quite comfortable, terrific pillows, floor fan to keep us cool at night, gas fireplace, nice sized bathroom with separate large shower stall, orange scented Tarocco lotions and soaps, plush towels. Lobby area had ice water dispenser with floating lemon slices available all day and night, plus large book of all restaurant menus. Ask front desk staff for book of all in house free movies available to borrow. Great picnic breakfasts of warm scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, scones and hot or cold cereals to order the night before. Our room was beautifully decorated with the Japanese theme, including gorgeous wicker and bamboo chairs to view the ocean. All the staff we met were incredibly friendly and helpful. Walls are well insulated, as we never heard our neighbors. Several restaurants nearby, but we enjoyed driving into town for dinner. I wouldn't recommend walking to town, because to get there, one has to cross Route 1 and there are no sidewalks to or from the highway.. Boardwalk along Moonstone Beach takes one to an area to view the seals and is about a mile and a half in length. This is a divine getaway, and only 7 miles from Hearst Castle, which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor for privacy and better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swimmer067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We so appreciate you taking the time for such a detailed and glowing review. We love it when our guests experience the full Cambria life and it does take a few days to really explore it all. We thank you for the compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely hotel overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach; the views and nature being at their best. The rooms are plain and simple but comfortable, with a small shower room. A free breakfast is provided in their breakfast room with a choice of cereals, bagels, yoghurts, hot/cold drinks etc. Blue Dolphin Inn is about 20-30 mins walk along the boardwalk to the small, quiet, town of Cambria where there are a few shops, coffee shops, couple of restaurants etc. We ate at the Moonstone Grill and Bar which is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel where the food was absolutely delicious. The hotel is conveniently located for Hearst Castle and San Simeon and the Elephant Seal Sanctuary, both of which are worth a visit. There is also a small outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuvGeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review of Blue Dolphin Inn. We are a bit confused as we do not have a pool and our breakfast is delivered to the room. Did you perhaps stay at our sister property, Castle Inn?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My guy and I stayed at this Inn on our way from San Diego to Napa.
It seemed pricey to me, but due to the great Trip Advisor reviews, we went with it.
It was the best hotel out of four we stayed in on that trip, including much more expensive places in Napa, Sonoma and Paso Robles.
Comfortable, immaculately clean, fireplace in the room, ceiling fan, good breakfast, easy parking, the best bed pillows and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever come across, and across the street from the beach.
Oh, and friendly , helpful front desk people, and free wine tasting in the lobby.
Whats not to love ??!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandiegogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review of Blue Dolphin Inn. We are happy that your road trip stopped in Cambria and that you discovered our special hotel. We do try to feature amenities that will make the difference for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The pictures online don't do this place justice. We booked because of the great reviews and we weren't disappointed. We were greeted by Christina, who was very friendly and accommodating. It was clear she loves her job and where she works! We arrived early and she coordinated an early arrival with the housekeeping staff. Our tastefully decorated room was across the street from Moonstone Beach..the view, the smell! Fresh homemade cookies awaited us and the picnic breakfast the next morning was very tasty. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Soozde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are actually in the process of shooting some new photos so we hope they better reflect what we have to offer. We always appreciate hearing that our staff was instrumental in making your stay a better experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £139 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing