We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant place for a long weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“pleasant place for a long weekend”
Reviewed 23 June 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Dolphin during the Christmas holidays. Because we were there off season, we got a discounted rate for our room, which was one of the smaller ones near the reception desk. The room was clean and nicely decorated (although a bit on the fussy side) with a partial ocean view. The mattress was comfortable, and the breakfast was filling with a good selection of food.

We enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again if we find ourselves in Cambria again. Our only complaint had to do with the afternoon tea. If you don't go for refreshments as soon as they are available, all you will find are some cookie crumbs and empty bottles of Martinelli's. The staff don't seem to replenish the food once it's gone.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdfoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    156
    37
    12
    5
See reviews for
105
571
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2005

Our California trip started at this inn which is in a great location right across from a beautiful beach. Unfortunately, the moment we walked in the manager (owner?) started right in on a very hard sell about his "recommended" restaurants and pushing his discount coupons, and tried to talk us out of dining at our planned restaurant. We were not in the mood for a pitch, having just traveled for 21 hours. Insultingly, despite having agreed that it was a non-smoking room, he made us sign a pledge not to smoke in the room! There was no offer of help with our bags or taking us to the room. The "tea" was stale store-bought cookies, tea & coffee and an empty bottle of sparkling cider.

On the good side, the rooms were clean (if overly fussy), breakfast was more than just a continental style and was attended by a friendly and helpful waitress. The location and landscaping were very good.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 May 2005

Recently my family and I stayed at the Blue Dolphin Inn for the 2ed time. We loved our first vist, great staff, wonderful service and beautiful views. So in planing this trip we decided to go back and we enjoyed our room even more. The rooms have had new paint and carpet, breakfast has been updated and they still employ the same friendly staff. Devin and Don continued to meet and exceed our expectations. I would highly reccomend that you stay at the at the Blue Dolphin Inn.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2005

We had the deluxe oceanfront room with patio and jacuzzi bath and large seperate, shower The bathroom was huge and in need of attention.
The room was tiny and in need of upgrading. The patio had the best view of the ocean in all directions. That was heavenly!
The room was attractive but poorly done, in that it lacked drawer space , the furniture trim was falling apart and it was too small for night stands and had a rather useless round table near the bed. There was no TV Program information guide. The TV doors had to be closed at night, so as not to crash into them in the dark , on the way to and from the bath. The closet door, a mirror, opened awkwardly, into the hall, making it impossible to pass when someone was in the closet. It just wasn't homey enough or comfortable enough to suit us. The bed felt way too soft and old. The pillows were not comfortable.
The other Moonstone Properties are much better decorated with your comfort in mind and attention to the small things that make you comfortable and meticulously kept.
Housekeeping was done poorly. A piece of bagel popped out from under the table, before we had any food in our room and a used kleenex fell out of the bedspread when we took it off the bed, the first night. Rather gross.
Devin who checked us in was delightful and very kind. She made our stay pleasant and the rates were great.
The continental breakfast was lovely we dined on our room patio. The location and views were sensational. When they bring this property up to snuff , it will be great. It needs alot of attention, as of this writing.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So, Cal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2004

We have been visiting this area for about 4 years now and stays at the Blue Dolphin have been very nice. At the front desk check-in has been pleasant and courteous. Devin, Mary and Donald have also been helpful when approached about our curiousities of the town.

Or stay during this visit was room #100 back toward the rear of the property. This was previously office/managment space that middle of the year was converted to guest rooms. If you are a view afficinado, this looks only at the dividing wooden fence. Aside from the missing view, the room is about at fresh as it can be. Walking through the door it smells of fresh paint and carpet. The curtains are clean, there are no stains on the carpet and we didn't detect any off odors.

This room has two distinct areas that the basics do not have, a sitting area and the sleeping section. It has a few square feet more than the basics so walking the room is easier. There are two TV's and VCR's so guests can enjoy the wide selection of cable/SAT programming in either area. In addition, there is a 3 cubic foot refridgerator/freezer, compact microwave along with coffee maker in this room.

The fireplace is controlled by the thermostat so you can set a comfortable temperature and leave it. The only minor gripe was when the fireplace shut-off, the cooling would cause some of the metal fittings to pop, click and make other sounds. This lasted about 5-6 minutes and we didn't find it to intrusive.

The bathroom is set-up like the other basic rooms. As a fresh room, there are no signs of any mold or mildew. One aspect of the shower I liked was the curved shower curtain. With the hot water flowing, the curtain didn't get drawn inward. Only thing that would have rounded it out was a massaging showerhead. Not necessary but a small want. :)

Little things: the crown moudlings and floor base are all well fitted and even with the curves along the wall, it is tight. The tiles in the bathroom are well laid and nice. The room is not wall papered but has a two tone patterned paint scheme which IMO makes it more up to date feeling. As well, the carpet is a contemporary pattern that I've seen in other hotels.

There was a bit of road noise to be heard from the highway but it wasn't too obvious. This depends what sounds you may be accustomed to when sleeping though.

All in all, a very nice stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank peekoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2004

The Blue Dolphin Inn was really a great place to stay. Pay a little more for the nicer rooms and you won't regret it. Professional, friendly staff. Free video rentals, awesome location. What more do you need?

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaturtul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 December 2004

We enjoyed our stay here - beautiful room with fireplace and very friendly staff. Breakfast was a bit motel -like, but everything else was fine....

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing