We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Inn”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We stayed here in early August. I loved this place!! We stayed in 3 different hotels during or CA vacation and this was the most comfortable.

The front desk was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. They have great toiletries for use. The bed was a pillowtop mattress and was so comfy. The sheets were soft and we had lots of pillows. The room was a desent size. The inn has a very cozy feel and feels more like being in a nice guestroom.

The breakfast was awesome. We got there early and enjoyed fruit, pastries, and fresh waffles. In the afternoon they offer snacks but we missed these. The times posted for bfast and afternoon snacks in the room book are off and that messed our schedule up just a bit.

The beach is just across the street and is beautiful (and cold). We enjoyed spending our afternoon at Hearst Castle. We at dinner at The Wild Ginger Cafe on Main Street. It was a neat little bistro.

Would highly recommend this place and cant wait to return one day....

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2007

Looking forward to a pleasant stay in Cambria, we booked a room with fireplace at this 18 room inn and were assigned an upstairs corner room with partial ocean view and given a confirmation number by the person taking the reservation on site. Upon arriving around noon we were told the room we had reserved has been given to someone else and the only room left available was room 109 on the ground floor, the worst room in the house as freely admitted by the desk clerk. No apologies, just the admonition: you should have said you don't want to be moved. I guess it was our fault. While the room was appointed nicely with decorator touches and a gas log fire place, it was bordered by the tea room, a hallway on two sides, and the front entry porch on the third side with our windows facing facing onto the porch and the driveway. The next morning we were jolted out of sleep by noisy activities in the hallway with laughter that just would not want to end and rather loud conversation. Upon looking what the source might be, there were two tables with chairs set up in the narrow hallway, and happy travelers were noisily having breakfast. The thin walls separating us from the tea room/hallway did nothing to muffle the noise. To top it off, smokers were gathering in front of our window, forcing us to close the curtains to get some privacy. Needless to say, we left certain never to book a room here again. In all fairness, a stay in another room may have provided a different experience and a better review than ours.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

The website for this inn gave a very accurate description. Matter of fact, the picture on their website was the same room we stayed in. The room was a little small; I like to call it "cozy" instead. The bathroom was huge. We lucked out with the weather-it was high 70's-low 80's. We had breakfast on our patio directly overlooking the ocean. We enjoyed the sunsets from there too. Access to the rooms is very easy-we parked right outside our door. Our bed was a little old, but was told they are replacing them. A nice retreat as you can hear the waves crashing from your room.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank LuvnLifeSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Topanga, CA
14
Reviewed 25 August 2005

I really can't understand why anyone had anything negative to say about the Blue Dolphin. We just got back from a short stay there, and we had a great time. We have a lot to compare it too, we travel all over the place, and it was a cozy, clean little inn, they upgraded us to a deluxe ocean view room with a jacuzzi tub. We never really saw the staff aside from when we checked in and out, they were friendly and accomodating, the continental breakfast was good, pastries, breads, yogurt, granola, juices, milk, coffee, tea. I can see where they may run out of stuff if you come down at 10am, most people were there early, but we got up early and grabbed stuff and brought it back to the room. The room was a little small, but nothing to be irritated about, it was cozy, we had the fireplace on the whole time, left the sliding glass door open all night to listen to the waves. We would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2005

We stayed here as a convenient location to visit Hearst Castle. The room was clean but a little shabby. The bathroom was perfectly reasonable but nowhere to hang towels. Coffee maker, microwave and fridge were provided. Room is reasonable size but nowhere to store suitcase without it being in the way. We couldn't get the thermostat (which also controlled the gas fire) to work.

Afternoon tea/coffee and cookies are provided and a reasonable self-service breakfast - although the bread had run out and had not been replaced when we were there.

We dined at the Moonstone Beach Grill which was perfectly OK but not as good as they thought they were and we felt a bit expensive for what it is. The only local competition is the Sea Chest.

The person on the front desk was far too pushy and far too unhelpful and unfriendly. There was a strong attempt to get us to dine at some establishment they had an arrangement with. We had booked in advance at a supposed discount rate but when we went to pay the bill we were charged the full rate. She also tried to push us into staying longer (since the place was not full) which we declined.

Overall this place is OK but seems no better than other places in the vacinity and is expensive for what it is (unless you can succeed in getting a substantial discount). The other places we stayed on this vacation (Wayside Inn in Carmel and Eagle Inn in Santa Barbara) were far, far superior and also cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lloyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Dolphin during the Christmas holidays. Because we were there off season, we got a discounted rate for our room, which was one of the smaller ones near the reception desk. The room was clean and nicely decorated (although a bit on the fussy side) with a partial ocean view. The mattress was comfortable, and the breakfast was filling with a good selection of food.

We enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again if we find ourselves in Cambria again. Our only complaint had to do with the afternoon tea. If you don't go for refreshments as soon as they are available, all you will find are some cookie crumbs and empty bottles of Martinelli's. The staff don't seem to replenish the food once it's gone.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdfoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsfield, MA
428
Reviewed 1 June 2005

Our California trip started at this inn which is in a great location right across from a beautiful beach. Unfortunately, the moment we walked in the manager (owner?) started right in on a very hard sell about his "recommended" restaurants and pushing his discount coupons, and tried to talk us out of dining at our planned restaurant. We were not in the mood for a pitch, having just traveled for 21 hours. Insultingly, despite having agreed that it was a non-smoking room, he made us sign a pledge not to smoke in the room! There was no offer of help with our bags or taking us to the room. The "tea" was stale store-bought cookies, tea & coffee and an empty bottle of sparkling cider.

On the good side, the rooms were clean (if overly fussy), breakfast was more than just a continental style and was attended by a friendly and helpful waitress. The location and landscaping were very good.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £115 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing