We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the promise”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
WAshington DC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lived up to the promise”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We discovered The Blue Dolphin thru Trip advisor and it lived up to its positive reviews. Almost a combination of a charming inn and a mini luxury hotel it is located with many similar properties on a spit of land overlooking spectacular shoreline. it was the perfect spot to stop on our drive from LA to SF. The staff were so hospitable they made you feel like you were staying at thier home and maybe we were! On the phone they recommended room 210 which had ocean views at non view rates and it was perfect. We celebrated an anniversary dinner at Madelines in town and again it was delightful as Trip Advisor members had said. Walking along the "boardwalk" inthe morning was another big plus. Great location, very cozy and very reasonable. and that breakfast was wonderful too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crowleymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    160
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
117
606
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My wife and I stayed one night at the Blue Dolphin Inn (in the Anaho Bay room #214) and didn't want to leave. The epitome of a romantic, relaxing atmosphere, we slept with the windows open all night to hear the sound of crashing waves, while the fireplace kept the room at a comfortable temperature with it's warming glow. Like some of the other reviewers, I'm partial to a real fireplace (with the sounds and smells), but these suedo, carefree fireplaces seem to fit better with the accompanying luxury accommodations. Waking up to complimentary breakfast (fresh and made specific to our order the night before) delivered to our room, was the cherry on top. The room and facilities were top notch all the way around. I'd imagine much of the traveler's experience will depend on room location (ours was hard to beat - top floor full ocean view in the front of the property), but with a clever and welcoming option of being able to see all other rooms, (visitors were free to walk into any unoccupied room) I can tell you that ocean view aside, all rooms met our exceptionally high standard for comfort and attractiveness. You could tell that the operators of this establishment took notes about what to do and what not to do in designing a boutique inn that disguises itself as a bed and breakfast, or maybe they designed a bed and breakfast that disguises itself as a boutique inn. Either way, throw out all of your misconceptions about what a B&B should be. No country decor here. No stuffy, cramped quarters, no creaky bed or charming furniture. We were just blown away about the attention to detail, from the plantation shutters, to the high-end furniture, to the Kuerig coffee maker, to the luxury linens/towels/robes to the bath essentials. Even the bath mat was a nice surprise. Not many places actually end up looking better than the pictures on the website, but this one did! Reading through the room's guestbook, you could tell that everyone who stayed here before us felt the same. The true stamp of approval is that most of these guests were celebrating a momumental event whether it be a honeymoon or anniversary. All vowed to come back again. We will too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilySkiBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My husband and I stayed one night in Room 206 on a trip from San Francisco back home to San Diego. I had stayed at the Blue Dolphin Inn years ago but noticed immediately that it had been updated from the Victorian theme to elegant and stylish with pale greens and dark woods. Our room was just perfect -- the windows looked out to the water, and we very much enjoyed watching the sunset. The owners have gone to great lengths to ensure that guests have all of the little extras, and it is very much appreciated! We both thought that the bed was the most comfortable we had EVER slept in. And if the walk along Moonstone Beach wasn't beckoning in the morning, we might still be there! The room's appointments are tasteful and every corner was immaculate. The only disappointment (which wasn't really that big a deal to us) was the lack of breakfast choices for vegans. The egg turnover would have been great with just veggie meats -- please consider offering this! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esmerelda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon vacation. We arrived to be greeted with chilled apple cider. A great touch after a long hot drive. We had booked a garden view suit, but were offered an upgrade to a room with a partial sea view for a price we could not resist! The hotel receptionist congratulated us on our wedding, and took us through to our room where they had a mini wedding cake and two cookie waiting for us! Such a generous thought!

The rooms were very clean, and probably the best decorated out of all the hotels we stayed at on our trip. They were spacious, and had great amenities, such as a fridge, flat screen tv, ipod players etc, free wifi. The bathrooms were lovely, and had great face washes, gels etc.

The room comes with a picnic breakfast for you to take to the beach or eat in your room. We also had a selection of local papers to read.

The location was right on the water, and close to the near by town of Cambria (7 min drive) with great restaurants, galleries etc.

I would not hesitate to visit this hotel again, and recommend anyone staying in Cambria to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This is one of the most wonderful stays we've ever had, and I cannot overstate how great it was. It deserves 5 stars but the cost held me back a little. We reserved months early and got the Sea of Japan, upper ocean view room, and the ocean is just across the very little road in front. Everything is first class ... the furnishings, the beds, decor, the carpeting, even the hallway! A fireplace, GREAT coffeemaker, a GORGEOUS bathroom, and I hate to spoil this surprise, but at night you order the little box lunch they'll deliver in the morning ... what a treat! My idea of heaven was sitting at the window, listening to the waves, and eating a lovely light breakfast. Just do it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sooz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We chose the Blue Dolphin in on our trip from Las Vegas to San Francisco only due to the Tripadvisor reviews. It sounded incredibly lovely, and the reviews were right!

We drove from Las Vegas straight to the Blue Dolphin Inn. So after a 7 hour drive we were ready to relax. We had no problem finding it and checked right in. The lady (sorry can't remember her name) was extremely helpful and helped us find somewhere for dinner. She suggested Madelines in town and gave us a brochure for a free appetizer or 1/2 off a bottle of wine.

We chose the rooms with the patio - overlooking the ocean. This was perfect. They had a loveseat to snuggle in and a blanket to snuggle under to watch the sunset in the evening. The room was beautiful and the breakfast was yummy.

After a short rest and clean up we were off to discover downtown Cambria - don't blink you might miss it - it was really charming and the restaurant recommendation was perfect.

We spent the next day sleeping in, walking on the boardwalk, playing with seals (ok watching from a distance - but it was cool!) playing with the squirrels and visiting Hearst Castle (worth the trip!)

Dinner at the Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill (not so great but oh well) and a relaxing evening. I am so glad we spent 2 days here! we would have been really upset if we moved on after one night!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewelfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Going to sleep with the wonderful sound of the ocean waves and waking up to the smell of delicious cookies were a great and relaxing experience! The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very pretty as well. The picnic/boxed breakfast are an added treat- and they were actually very good! Next time we will splurge and get one of the rooms with an ocean view! We definitely recommend this place for a nice getaway!!! Raquel was especially friendly!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susi792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
0.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
379 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing