We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great value - rooms have terrible lighting”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a great value - rooms have terrible lighting”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I booked this room based off of trip advisor reviews and was disappointed. We arrived on a Sunday evening - place could not have been more than 1/2 full. We were sort of bummed when we were given a room overlooking trash cans.

The next disappointment came when I turned on the lights. The room was cute enough but you could hardly tell with the lights on. We stayed at six places over an 11 day road trip and all used CFL light bulbs; however, all the other places understood the importance of lighting. The Fogcatcher used CFL's with bright white lamp shades and our room had grey walls. I really felt like I was in a dingy office or hospital room - it just felt like icky floresent lights. No atmosphere at all. Depressing.

The breakfast was good enough - I liked the waffle maker and the location is really nice across the street from the beach - but their are many less expensive options nearby - all across the street from the beach.

The bed was very comfy - so that was a plus.

All in all - the atmosphere of the room was really the biggest issue I had.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabneyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie6400, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
The FogCatcher Inn works hard to give every guest the best experience possible, from check in to check out. Our rooms are decorated in the style of an English Cottage and our guests love the decor, colors and amenities. We do use ecologically sound practices such as CFL bulbs, our in room recycling program and are part of Project Planet for water/detergent reduction. Our guests consider us a great value, with our complimentary hot breakfast, free bottled water, cookies, coffee, newspapers, parking and more. Our guests love us, we love them and our reviews are proof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    576
    149
    59
    23
See reviews for
649
916
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Friendly staff, charming hotel, amazing location, great full breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The FogCatcher Inn isn't a 5 star resort, but it's a perfectly lovely and comfortable cottage-type environment. We love to stay here when visiting the central coast. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff is so friendly. If your budget can afford the ocean view rooms, go for it, as they are a little nicer than the garden view rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stayed here only for 1 night on our honeymoon. Would have liked to have stayed for longer.

Had a great experience from the start. Checked in (by Jane I think) and she was incredibly welcoming and helpful in explaining where to visit (must go see the Seals!) and where best to eat. Room was quaint and had a nice fireplace.

Location is opposite Moonstone beach and it is a beautiful part of the world. As time was limited we checked out the main street, but spent most of our time driving up highway 1 to look at Seals and as far as Ragged Point. The PCH was still closed further up following a landslip. Had a meal and then relaxed in the room with the fire on and had a lovely time. It was quite windy and cold outside (as you are directly facing the ocean) which just added to the charm of the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geebls5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsica, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Suite we booked was very pleasant and had a nice view of the beautiful coast. the hotel is ideally located.
Breakfast was great, with a nice DIY waffles' machine and large choice of food. Staff was very helpful overall but there was a lack of knowledge of the status of Highway 1 (affected by heavy rain in the past few months), to the point where we received wrong information telling us the highway was closed north of Big Sur although we had checked latest situation on the official highway website...

Room Tip: Book a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Funny place Cambria but it grows on you. We were perfectly comfortable in a nice big room with a fire place two steps away from the seashore. Decor a little dated but property well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had made no bookings for our road trip from San Fran to LA but had heard about the Fog Catcher Inn. We rang and Thomas could not have made our booking any easier! When we arrived he greeted us with the hospitality you would only hope for. He attended to all our questions and assisted us with an extra room. The best rooms are upstairs at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was fabulous even though the hotel was fully booked. The rooms are smaller than expected however give a quaint, cosy feeling, particularly with the fireplace.Hearst Castle is only 7 minutes away and anything you need is close by.The view and the board walk just added to the experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing