We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long and Winding Road”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have stayed at the Fog Catcher Inn may times, and I have always had a wonderful experience. Take the opportunity to find out for yourself, what personal service and hospitality is all about. Sort of like, going back in time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

1 night last minute booking, prior to Hearst Castle visit (6 miles away). Clean, comfortable, right on beach, very friendly, efficient and good service from the team there. Breakfast was a real scrum, so many people in a relatively small room, shows it must be a popular hotel, food choice good though. Certainly, the other hotels on this beachfront strip looked nothing like as busy. Possible the hotel has been incentivized to recommend Madeline's in Cambria for dinner, suggest they review this. Several other much better options in town. All in all,excellent value.

Room Tip: We had room 103, centrally located and away from any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJHsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We arrived late (around 9PM) without having stopped for dinner. Right away the representative behind the desk called around to every restaurant in Cambria to see if they were still open so we could grab a bite to eat. Our room was GORGEOUS! Ocean view with a fireplace. We could hear the waves crashing against the shore all night. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Everything was very clean and everyone there was very friendly. We only stayed one night - I wish it was longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were so pleased. We had a wonderful room with a cathedral ceiling,
fire place and a large balcony opening to a perfect ocean view. FogCatcher Inn is a great surprise.
The breakfast was terrific! The staff was very friendly, and helpful.
I definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the FogCatcher Inn in Cambria. Our room, 401, was very spacious and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious: scrambled eggs, country fried potatoes, and sausage. The sausage was the best ever! There were lots of choices of muffins and other breads. I sampled several, all of which were delicious. Desk staff was super efficient and very friendly.

Room Tip: Room 401 is a deluxe garden suite, one of three deluxe garden suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Booked on short notice 2 Queen room. Called day b4 our arrival & asked if they could give us 1 King for same price. Yes. When we got there, they had upgraded us to a partial ocean-view room. Room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. Bed and lighting excellent. A number of benches were on the property to sit and stare at the ocean.
Breakfst array was incredible and very good. Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf coffees and tea were high quality, too. Personnel were all very friendly and helpful. The only reason we didn't rate it a "5" was becuz the tub drain wouldn't stay open so the tub filled with water when showering and the sink faucet knob was extremely hard to pull on. However, at check out when we mentioned these small problems, the staff thanked us for telling them and made a note for maintenance. We have found a new place to stay in Cambria and will return to FogCatcher next time, rather than stay at a competeitor down the street from FogCatcher.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed in a room that had a cathederal ceiling which made it look "Huge." Everything was quiet and cozy. When we opened up our door there was the ocean, pretty amazing!!! We have always stayed up the road in San Simeon at the Best Western Cavalier which is another wonderful hotel with ocean views, but the feel of Moonstone Beach was a bit more special, and more expensive I must say, but worth it!! We were looking for relaxation and found it :). Coffee at breakfast was good, but the pastries were stale. Fantastic recomendation for dinner at Madeline's and they made our reservation for us. Good customer service. The MOST Amazing part of our stay was the Sunset - Gorgeous!! Almost resembled Hawaii and that is pretty good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACALIFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £124 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing