We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This hotel came highly recommended by some friends of ours and we were'nt disappointed! Great location in beautiful Cambria and very close to the scenic ocean trail across the street. The room was clean and comfortable. We loved the fireplace, and the included breakfast was really impressive! They served just about everything you could think of. Lots of friendly people there too. Definitely coming back here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    542
    140
    53
    22
See reviews for
589
877
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The FogCatcher Inn is one of the perfect places to stay when you are visiting the California Coast and are in the San Simeon area. We recently stayed in room 121, an oceanfront accommodation. The Inn is lovely and the room was absolutely fabulous. The beds are extremely comfortable and being oceanfront, with the windows open is so refreshing and restful. Others have referred to "road noise" but by 7PM there is little to no traffic outside your window.
The morning breakfast is prepared on site and everything is fresh. This was not your typical "continental" meal; more like a breakfast buffet including two different style eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes and even a fresh waffle maker with fresh berry compote. Coffee was excellent and they offered many different teas. This was our first experience at the FogCatcher but will definitely not be our last.....looking forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Room 121 is an Ocean facing accommodation and is really pleasurable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This inn was fantastic with wonderful views right accross the street. Spent 2 nights here as a stop of between L.A. and San Fran. We picked perfect great service reallhy nice room with everything we needed. Great breakfast with waffle makers and hot and cold breakfast foods. Cookies and coffee at night were a great touch. Seal view point just up PCH from the hotel as well as Hearst Castle which is well worth a visit. I would definately recommend this hotel for its positions views and overall service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have been to Cambria/Moonstone Beach several times. This is the first time we stayed at The Fogcatcher Inn. The location could not be any better. Centrally located on Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have dime ocean views. A nice touch is that the rooms have fireplaces. The breakfast (included) is one of the best I've had. It includes waffles, assorted muffins and pastries, oatmeal great coffee.

The rooms are a bit small but clean. Not a whole lot of space for vanity items.

Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Nice room with a gas fire, water and apples were available in the reception, they recommended a great restaurant for us and made a reservation. Hotel right on the beach, free parking and wifi. Breakfast was brilliant. Loved this place and will be back. Have already recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle75_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have stayed at the Fog Catcher Inn may times, and I have always had a wonderful experience. Take the opportunity to find out for yourself, what personal service and hospitality is all about. Sort of like, going back in time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

1 night last minute booking, prior to Hearst Castle visit (6 miles away). Clean, comfortable, right on beach, very friendly, efficient and good service from the team there. Breakfast was a real scrum, so many people in a relatively small room, shows it must be a popular hotel, food choice good though. Certainly, the other hotels on this beachfront strip looked nothing like as busy. Possible the hotel has been incentivized to recommend Madeline's in Cambria for dinner, suggest they review this. Several other much better options in town. All in all,excellent value.

Room Tip: We had room 103, centrally located and away from any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJHsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing