We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on the way to San Francisco from LA, the staff were so helpfull and friendly. When we advised the women our trip to Alcatraz had been cancelled she printed us a list of other activities we could do in San Francisco. Would definitely stay again had a room with a view which was large and clean great hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David-April1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    570
    148
    59
    23
See reviews for
640
915
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. Upgraded to an ocean view. Spectacular sunset. Glowing, functional fireplace. Comfortable amenities and good advice: Sea Chest for dinner; see the Hearst IMAX movie before our Castle tour. Breakfast was well done: varied, delicious, and well laid out.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooster10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for one night in January for a drive down west coast. As the weather was foggy, did not manage to enjoy the view much. Staff was helpful in suggesting dinner places.
Rooms are cosy and clean but a tad outdated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takuyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

On our way to the Fog Catcher we received a telephone call forewarning us about the time restaurants close......this was the first time I had ever had a call like this and it was much appreciated. It is right across the street from the ocean. Great customer service, free internet, breakfast included....what more could one ask for. It was recommended by my father and it did not disappoint. This is not a modern facility but has the right amount of amenities. I highly recommend it and we will be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HotelDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with the hotel! The front desk staff, Erin and Katherine, were very friendly and helpful. We were given a suite with a separate bedroom and living room. It was very clean although a little dated. The pool area is really nice as well. I would definitely recommend for a family!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a king ocean view room which means you can look out the windows and see (and hear!) the ocean which is just across the small road (Moonstone Beach Drive). Traffic was not bad and after everyone returns home from dinner, it's minimal. No picture windows, but two side-by-side screened which we could open wide. We had a small breakfast table in front of windows so could enjoy view with our breakfast trays. Location great; pretty much in middle of string of low-storied hotels; you can just cross road to long lovely boardwalk. Only thing which would have been better would be a 2nd floor ocean-front room WITH BALCONY. All hotels along here have low 1st floors, so even if you are on the "ocean view" side, you would be looking at parked cars and traffic; definately want to be up on 2nd floor. This hotel provides hot breakfast in breakfast room (you can take your food to your room) and it was basic eggs, potatoes, sausage. Also had make-your-own waffles, cereals, yogurts, oatmeal, boiled eggs and fruit. Nice to start day without having to go out to restaurant (of which there are only a couple on this road---you'd have to go into town). Our room was a bit tired: old window coverings which we had trouble raising 1/2 way, carpet kinda funky---definately could use some sprucing up. However, room was spacious, nice gas-powered fireplace (source of heat) on thermostat, microwave, refrig. Staff very very friendly and accomodating. We had trouble with wifi in our room, but think it's a router problem which the management said they would fix (though not while we were there). Small pool, hot tub and outdoor firepit---none of which we used, but nice to know there!

Room Tip: If you're going to make the trip, get a room with view of ocean. I noticed that some hotels alon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for one night during a recent drive down the California coast. We arrived on the later side, but the woman at the front desk was super helpful in suggesting dinner options around town. Our room was comfortable, although a bit outdated. The hot breakfast the next morning was great. Overall, we were pretty satisfied with our short stay at the Fog Catcher and would recommend it for a solid, budget-friendly option in Cambria.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler9523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing