We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay by the beach”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay by the beach”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here and they were great. Had room on 2nd floor looking at the water. Room was large and very comfortable. We opened the windows and listened to the waves all night. Highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kladow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return of another couple nights of great views and soothing ocean sounds. Thank you for your review.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    542
    140
    53
    22
See reviews for
589
877
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were warmly welcomed to this delightful Inn and given warm spiced apple and cookies to take to our room which was very clean, spacious and had a warm fireside in the room. Complimentary breakfast is provided and can be enjoyed either inside or outside facing the ocean. Hot coffee, tea and Apple juice is available 24 hours at reception in addition to coffee in the room. It is situated beside the ocean and close to the charming town. It also has a pool.

Room Tip: There are front rooms with balcony where you can enjoy bresthtaking views and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill-Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The hot apple cider is one of my favorites and goes great this time of year with our fresh baked cookies. We look forward to your return.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stopped by w/o reservation on a road trip. Greatly priced, $119 with breakfast included. On a road trip the breakfast incl is a must! The pace is magic just in front of the beach. See the sunset, watch the surfers...ahhhh, so sad it was only a night. A place where staying a few days disconnects you from the world. Neat clean bed, comfy, impeccable bath, ahh robes available too in the closet. I saw most hotels on that strip were pretty much very similar but the fireplace as heating source was the highlight! Ah, free wifi too. Ahh you could hear the ocean while sleeping. Simply a magical experience. Just wonderful!

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room and it was cozy and great. Cant imagine the other ones closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Megan and Chelsea were so friendly. One was checking us in and the other one was passing out warm cookies. They were so friendly and helpful. Our room was very large with it's own fireplace. We had an ocean view. The boardwalk was just across the street and we could walk and walk and walk. Be sure to bring warm clothes because the wind chill can get chilly. Very nice breakfast....assortment of many things. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Loved staying here with a large room, comfy beds and helpful staff. Breakfast was great, with the waffle maker a highlight for me! We loved Cambria the town although note that it's quite a walk there or take a car. It was a shame we only stayed here one night we would have loved to have stayed longer and enjoy the facilities available and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

the furniture in the room is old, the carpet quite dusty and basic bathroom.

staff is nice and very helpful. For Breakfast there is a wide range of different choices available in a basic breakfast room. Nice location in front of the ocean.

it's ok for a 1 night stop over while driving on the Big Sur

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us. We are happy to hear from our wonderful guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and friendly service. We are sorry to hear you did not like our cottage style furniture but wanted to let you know that we are planning a renovation in 2014. New furniture, carpet, bathrooms, and much more. We are excited about this renovation and know that you will be too. Please feel free to contact me personally and I hope you have a great day.

James Davison
General Manager-FogCatcher Inn
jdavison@FogCatcherInn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Loved this place, the hotel staff are fantastic and the rooms are amazing, blazing fires etc. The location is fantastic. Breakfast in very good and is served in a quaint little dining room. I would also like to thank the staff for posting my sons passport on to him after he left it in one of the rooms. Many thanks you saved him a lot of hassle by forwarding it to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing