We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights during our drive up highway 1. The location is lovely with great views of the ocean and an short drive or a walk into Cambria itself. It was sunny but cool and wing during our stay but the pool and hot tub was still lovely.
The rooms are due a bit of an update which I gather is planned, but a generally clean and nice. Breakfast was included and was mostly pastries but nice enough.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mand77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the FogCatcher Inn and appreciate your positive comments. Our guests feedback is very important to us and we value your opinion--thank you!

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    507
    132
    53
    22
See reviews for
538
817
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice clean hotel. Staff was wonderful! Close walk to beach and also had heated pool for my son!
Breakfast had variety and was always fresh. Complimentary drinks and snack were a special tough throughout the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are so pleased you took the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and your comments are appreciated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and your son was able to enjoy our heated pool! We hope to have you as a guest in the future.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
805-927-1400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Cambria is a quaint little beach town. A great visit just to relax for a short weekend or to luxuriously rest between your travels between northern and southern California. We stayed during the Memorial Day Weekend. The Fogcatcher Inn is one of probably 15-20 inns/hotels off the coast with great views of the ocean... if you step out of your room. Otherwise, your window will either be facing a parking lot, a wall, or the main street (on the other side). It seemed only two rooms face the ocean, and it might not even be that great compared to the other hotels off the street. No matter, the Inn is literally 30 steps to the beach and that is pretty awesome. You can easily warm up to the foggy morning with a nice run and end your day with nice afternoon sunset walk on the most beautiful boardwalk I have ever seen.

The room was average. Nothing to wow about at all, actually looks pretty outdated, not much decor or details. Bed and linen was ok. I slept ok. Gas fireplace? Meh. The bathroom was average too. I think I've actually stayed in a Comfort Inn with better looking bathrooms. I do, however, appreciate the high vaulted ceilings and the overall quietness of the place. I also noticed that this was a pet friendly inn. I actually thought that was a great idea, but I hope they have assigned pet specific rooms or thoroughly cleaned every room that a pet stayed in otherwise that is just gross. Price for the rooms during the holiday weekend was absurd, with this type of room (especially after comparing the other rooms in other hotels off Moonstone Beach Drive). This maybe the reason why this was the only Inn that had a vacancy at the last minute.

Service was excellent! Front desk was very friendly and welcomed us with some chocolate chip cookies. They were also helpful enough to book dining reservations for us. Housekeeping staff was very nice too however, when we requested that they not replenish the towels or toiletries, they did the exact opposite. I thought they wanted to conserve water/supplies? Their breakfast room was great! A basic, but pretty breakfast: cereal, fruit, waffle maker, sausage, stiff scrambled eggs, pastries, bagels, coffee, juice, teas. Literally kept me full 'til mid afternoon. And the salsa was KILLER! It was so BOMB, lots of chilis and lot's of flavor! Can someone from management email me a recipe of this? And maybe try adding tortillas to your menu for a nice breakfast burrito bar. I appreciate them being aware of their environment and using eco-friendly plates/cups, etc. They also had a pool with a fire pit but it always either too crowded or too cold to use.

All in all, mixed feelings about my stay here. I still appreciate the great service, but I still may try another hotel in Cambria with better rooms for a more comfortable stay next time. I feel like they inflated the price because they can (due to great location and holiday weekend) and housed you in a motel like room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leesheeleeshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. We do appreciate all of your feedback about the hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our breakfast and some of the other great amenities the FogCatcher Inn has to offer.

I would like to personally address some of your concerns and have included my contact information below. Please contact me at your convenience.

Thank you,
Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
805-927-1400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this hotel. Friendly staff. Delicious cookies upon check in. Beautiful setting. Across from the beach. Very nice room with fireplace. Wish we could have stayed longer. Perfect spot. Close to Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy your stay at the FogCatcher Inn and maybe next time you can make it longer!

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel and while a little more expensive than some, the quality, care and treatment as well as careful amenities are worth it. They switched to biodegradable plates in the breakfast room this year and it makes a big difference. Maybe not as classy but works just as well and better for the environment. We go once a year for two days and never regret the time spent even in the colder time of the year. Just love it here. Pool and jacuzzi are great and the fire pit. Not having a workout room would be a problem if we had longer stays but for two days for us it is fine.

Room Tip: Don't pick our room in May. It's ours but any room in this place is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brillpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about the FogCatcher Inn and happy to know you come once a year!

Look forward to seeing you next year.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff, who informed us of a free upgrade to ocean view suite, which was very cosy especially with the fire place. Some good recommendations from the staff meant a nice meal that evening at the steak house bar and grill - make sure you head to the far end of town. A peaceful night sleep with the sounds of the ocean in the background was followed by a lovely complimentary breakfast. All in all a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing the FogCatcher Inn; your positive feedback is greatly appreciated! We are pleased to hear you had such a nice stay and glad that you were able to enjoy the sounds of the ocean.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We chose this place as we only had one night to stop on our long drive down the coast. The setting is lovely, unfortunately we didn't have an ocean view room, but the ocean is right across the road so go dip your toes instead! :) The pool area was nice, the pool was lovely and warm and the spa was like being in a bath, although we couldn't work out how to turn it on! The breakfast was substantial, although got a little crowded on our visit. The room was clean on the most part, but I noticed an orange stain on the bottom sheet. The Moonstone Bar and Grill serve nice food of an evening, but unfortunately close at 9, so if you like a drink in the evening, i'm not sure this is the best place for you. Would recommend to people driving the Pacific Coast highway :)
Also, make sure you check out the elephant seals, just a few miles north!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn--we are very pleased to know you had such an enjoyable visit and were able to enjoy our pool and hot tub as well--next time be sure and ask the staff how to operate the hot tub as they would be happy to help you.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing