We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite room on our trip”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I loved everything about this place, the location was superb, across the road from moonstone beach. Room was large, bed huge. clean, comfortable. Loved the fire, made you feel so cosy.
The lady on reception was very welcoming and informative. She gave us some lovely homemade cookies to have with our coffee from the filter machine in our room. It was just the one night but it was a little gem, we were recommended this place by a lovely lady at Hearst Castle. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileys456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. What a compliment for us that we were your favorite on your recent trip! We strive to meet or exceed our guests expectations and it sounds like we were able to do this for you. We hope to have you back as a guest in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
805-927-1400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,125 - 1,131 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on our trip up the PCH from San Diego to San Fran, and it was the perfect stopover. My daughter was excited by the pool, and made full use of it, as well as insisting on a late night family trip to the hot tub which was the perfect way to sooth tired muscles after two weeks of non stop sight seeing! We also loved the complimentary hot chocolates! There was a fabulous place to eat in Cambria, super cheap, which the guys at the Fogcatcher Inn recommended, and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty!! Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and glad you were able to take advantage of our pool and hot tub. We like to hear such nice compliments about the FogCatcher and do appreciate it! Hope to have you back in the future.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

With a view of the ocean, a fireplace in our room and the sound of waves to lull us sleep, this is a little gem. Starting with a friendly, helpful staff and ending with a surprisingly spacious room, this is a great location. It's almost the size of a small apartment and lovingly decorated.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank PSmenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for visiting the FogCatcher Inn as well as taking the time to provide us your feedback. We appreciate the positive comments and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We will look forward to having you as a guest in the not too distant future.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

One a number of hotels and Inns along Moonstone Drive, we were very happy with our choice.
We chose a garden room which was a few steps and a flower boarder away from courtyard parking which was handy for transferring luggage.

The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The linens were fresh, fluffy and white. The bathroom was functional and spotless. The house-keeping service was excellent, timely and efficient, the towel art was fun. The fireplace was a hit with us, providing a welcome heat and ambiance when the sun had gone down.

There was a breakfast provided:
oatmeal which was excellent whilst we were there, creamy and well cooked ( in other Inns, there were packets and hot water to mix). There were mixings brown sugar, fruit etc.,
two types of eggs, sausage and savoury potatoes, we did't try but they looked nice.
cereals
pastries.
There was a waffle maker that made four little waffles, which was a hit especially with the children

The location was wonderful just over the road from the beach, equidistant from two good restaurants within walking distance and five minutes drive from the town.
There are benches scattered around the property. There is a small pool and jacuzzi and a fire table.

We enjoyed three nights there and loved the peace and beauty of Moonstone beach and we enjoyed our stay at the Fogcatcher Inn.

Room Tip: The website clearly states which rooms have views, choose accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the FogCatcher Inn and thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher! We strive to meet or exceed our guests expectations and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are also happy to hear you were able to enjoy so many of our amenities like our pool and hot tub as well as our delicious breakfast. We hope to have you and your family back soon!

Karen Marashcieillo, General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As a single woman I found the FogCatcher Inn an excellent place to stay in my travels. Erin was very accommodating in helping me remain an extra day and her service was friendly and quick. From walks on the beach to romps in the ocean I found my stay here a place for relaxation and fun. The fireplace and comfortable furnishings gave my room an "at-home" feel. All-in-all I will definitely be back at the FogCatcher Inn for my next visit to Cambria.

Room Tip: I found the garden room pleasant. I could open a window and allow fresh air in but without the feeli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamock04_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing the FogCatcher Inn! We appreciate your feedback and happy to hear you found Erin and the FogCatcher Inn so delightful. We will look forward to having you back as a guest soon!

Kind Regards,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights during our drive up highway 1. The location is lovely with great views of the ocean and an short drive or a walk into Cambria itself. It was sunny but cool and wing during our stay but the pool and hot tub was still lovely.
The rooms are due a bit of an update which I gather is planned, but a generally clean and nice. Breakfast was included and was mostly pastries but nice enough.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mand77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the FogCatcher Inn and appreciate your positive comments. Our guests feedback is very important to us and we value your opinion--thank you!

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice clean hotel. Staff was wonderful! Close walk to beach and also had heated pool for my son!
Breakfast had variety and was always fresh. Complimentary drinks and snack were a special tough throughout the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are so pleased you took the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and your comments are appreciated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and your son was able to enjoy our heated pool! We hope to have you as a guest in the future.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
805-927-1400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £112 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing