We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the beach”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place on the beach”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed just one night with my mom on a quick trip to Hearst Castle. Location was ideal; literally across the street from the beach. Very cute and comfortable. Plenty of parking. Did not use the pool, but it looked nice. Nice touch having a fireplace in the room, made it extra cozy. Free breakfast in the morning was excellent, a few hot items, plenty of pastries, cereal, yogurt, waffles, coffee, etc. They even gave us cookies upon arrival. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spntrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and happy to hear you had such a pleasant experience at the FogCatcher Inn. We will be happy to have you back as a guest in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    555
    145
    58
    22
See reviews for
611
900
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here only one night while on my road trip.
They upgraded my room to a suite with no extra charge.
It's right across the street from the beach.
The staff is very nice and helpful. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us at the FogCatcher Inn and thank you for taking the time to review our Inn--we appreciate your positive feedback.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but really loved this place. The staff were organized, professional and friendly and the property is well maintained. We had a partial ocean view room that also had a fireplace, it's a very unique experience.

It's just across the road from the beach on a long line of inn's and hotel's.

I would advise if you plan to do the evening tour at Hearst Castle eat first as everything is closed when the tour ends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobbyDazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive comments about the FogCatcher Inn. Hopefully on your next visit you can stay longer!

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The proximity to the ocean, clean rooms, trails, downtown, and visiting Hearst castle made it ideal. The full breakfast was very good to have with our group, even the coffee was good. It's within close walking distance to 2 restaurants. And bring your pole to fish off the rocks. The only downside was the pool wasn't really heated. At least it didn't feel that way compared to other places. But if you're used to cooler pools then it doesn't matter.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the FogCatcher Inn and happy to know your whole family enjoyed their stay! Our pool is heated and I am sorry it did not meet your expectations. We do hope to have you back as a guest soon.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Fogcatcher Inn was the perfect place for a relaxing weekend - no work - just enjoying the pristine Moonstone Beach from the view in our room and the perfectly appointed room. The office staff was efficient and helpful and willing to help with directions, restaurants - whatever we needed. Definitely will go here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 122 - with a perfect view of the beach. If you stay on the office side, there see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbs5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. We are happy to hear you were able to have a relaxing weekend and look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This the first visit to Cambria my family and I have taken. We were delighted by the hospitality and the welcoming atmosphere at the Fogcatcher Inn. Our room was very comfortable.The complimentary breakfast was one of the better complimentary breakfasts I have had. We will return to the Fogcatcher Inn next time we visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natesmith99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We are very pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us and happy to hear the staff was welcoming and accommodating as we like to exceed our guests expectations. We will look forward to your next stay with us.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a scenic, peaceful and relaxing place. I spent an absolutely amazing night here in Cambria steps from the beach. The property is very nice, clean and comfortable. I walked to dinner down the street and watched the sunset while enjoying a great meal. The beach by the hotel is so natural and peaceful - a great location to relax and take in the nature.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We appreciate your compliments of the FogCatcher Inn and happy you were able to enjoy our beautiful coastline. We look forward to having you back as a guest.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Cambria
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing