We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We are two Australians driving around the USA during July. We stopped here on our SF-LA drive along Hwy 1 and the Big Sur.
Lovely to hear the ocean at night. Bed was firm and we liked that.
Only complaint would be the lack of privacy curtains, you can't let natural light in without getting a bit public as the windows only had Roman blinds.
Also, we got in late and enquired about getting food, the girl on the desk told us that nothing in the area was open after 9pm: not true! The San Simeon Beach Bar & Grill was taking orders until 10:30pm and it was good food. Nightshift receptionists should now this.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheCrimsonRosella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to having you back as a guest soon.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    481
    126
    47
    21
See reviews for
493
787
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had stayed in Cambria before, but the hotel we wanted to book was sold out, so we ended up in the Fogcatcher Inn. We had chosen garden view. There is no garden by the way, just a parking lot and some flowers around the edges. But the first room we were given was in the back. Basically no daylight could come in because there were trees at the back taking away all the light, and the front light was blocked by another row of rooms. Although it was a beautiful bright day, it felt like going into a cave. We went back to reception and they gave us a room that had a view of the parking lot.
At least there was some light coming in there! A missed opportunity is that none of the room that are 'garden view' have a patio or some chairs in front, like many of the other hotels on this strip have.
It feels like the price is too high for this kind of average room; the location is probably what drives the price up. For these kind of prices there are actually at least 2or 3 other hotels in the same strip that do have far better views, better rooms and a patio/balcony, so it pays to have a closer look when booking.
The hotel staff is probably one of the best we have encountered in California. Very professional, friendly, helpful and welcoming. There is good coffee and good tea (which is not always the case in motels/hotels) and there are board games available at the reception.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the ocean view (but check out if you are not being put in one of the rooms that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conihor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I appreciate the time you took to review the FogCatcher Inn and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am however, happy to hear the staff was friendly, welcoming and accommodating as we like to impress upon our guests our exceptional guest service. If you would like to speak to me personally, I would be happy to discuss your recent visit.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

From the mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect so I was pleased to find the Fogcatchers Inn was very nice. The room was very spacious and well kitted out. We walked just a few doors along to a pleasant restaurant for dinner and to watch the sun go down. The beach was spectacular and was only a few steps away across a quiet little road. The complimentary breakfast was unexpected and was perfectly adequate. There was plenty of parking and the staff were very friendly. All in all a very good stopover when driving along Route 1.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowleopard112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised with all the FogCatcher Inn has to offer! We will be glad to have you back as a guest soon.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is a little gem. Right on the coast, ust a little walk down and I sat and watched harbour seals lying on the rocks, look out to the horizon and I could see whales migrating south. The boardwalk takes you along the beach, there is much to see.
The hotel is clean and the staff are really nice and friendly. The swimming pool and hot tub are another bonus, being able to sit in the hot tub and watch the sea was fab. Breakfast was another delight, they have a waffle machine and you can make your own waffles, yummy.
Would definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veggielover96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the FogCatcher Inn. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all we have to offer not only at the FogCatcher Inn but also the beautiful Central Coast. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Kindly,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last week; the buildings are nice and the rooms comfortable, if a little dated. Staff at check in were friendly and helpful. Was surprised by the lack of air conditioning as would've expected that of a hotel of this standard. Breakfast was self service with bagels, bread, wafffles, cereals as well as sausages, eggs etc. We thought it was good. Can't comment on the view as we didn't see the sea the whole time due to thick fog! Would imagine it would be lovely under clear circumstances. Due to the poor weather we went to Hearst Castle which was only a ten minute drive away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SAELBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the FogCatcher Inn. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy our breakfast and our staff was warm and friendly. We appreciate your compliments of the FogCatcher Inn.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Fogcatcher was a good average , well worn hotel in a great location. It was around the
same price as we paid for some much higher credentialed hotels in prime city locations.
As is the case in a lots of american hotels dogs are permitted and I had the misfortune to
step in a dog turd in the dark outside my room which really detracted from the experience.

Next morning at breakfast I think I saw the culprit in the breakfast room . I just felt the value
for money was not there and the dog poo topped it off!!

Room Tip: rooms at the back are on the highway. Very few sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drakey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. We appreciate your feedback. I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. While most of our guests who travel with pets are very responsible, I am disappointed that my team missed an opportunity to ensure that our beautifully landscaped grounds are kept clean for the enjoyment of everyone. I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly so I can address your concerns and resolve them to your full satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed just one night with my mom on a quick trip to Hearst Castle. Location was ideal; literally across the street from the beach. Very cute and comfortable. Plenty of parking. Did not use the pool, but it looked nice. Nice touch having a fireplace in the room, made it extra cozy. Free breakfast in the morning was excellent, a few hot items, plenty of pastries, cereal, yogurt, waffles, coffee, etc. They even gave us cookies upon arrival. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spntrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and happy to hear you had such a pleasant experience at the FogCatcher Inn. We will be happy to have you back as a guest in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing