We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to come back soon!”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2009

My husband and I came to Cambria to celebrate our 29th anniversary. We booked 3 nights at the FogCatcher after reading various reviews. We splurged and had an upstairs full ocean view room with fireplace and truly loved it. It was so cozy and the bed very comfortable. I would have loved a balcony and then we probably never would have left! The location is perfect and the breakfast provided nice choices. When we came back from an afternoon in Morro Bay, we found a lovely swan and heart design made out of towels and fresh flowers. The cleaning girls noticed our anniversary cards and left us this special treat. I would definately stay here again and hope we can come back soon!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Mommyhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,722 - 1,728 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

Stayed here overnight halfway on our drive from San Francisco to LA and was very pleased - got a good rate on Expedia, but didn't expect the size of the room and certainly not the free breakfast and wifi! Very charming, gas fireplace was lovely and location very pretty. Arrived and were given cookies and restaurant reccomendations. Watched the sunset then walked up the road for dinner.
Fogcatcher made our "in between" night really lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BessAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Perfect location, just across the road from the beach. Clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was a bit of a squeeze as there were not enough tables but the choice of food was good. The staff were really helpful, menus of most local restaurants available at reception. Great view of the sunset from the pool/spa area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WatfordToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My husband and I went to Cambria for our first overnight trip while we were dating. After we got married, we've been going every year since for the last six years. We've even introduced our parents and our now 3-year old daughter. We plan to bring our daughter and our new 4-month old daughter this year as well. We stayed at the FogCatcher Inn, complete with a hot breakfast and fireplace. It's right along Moonstone Beach and has a long boardwalk for early morning or sunset walks along the beach. We enjoy shopping for unique, handmade gifts and eating all kinds of cuisines in town. Not far away, we've gone to Hearst Castle during the holidays where the staff dress up in period costumes, kayaked in Morro Bay, hiked along the cliffs, and visited the elephant seals and pups. It's such a family-friendly place. We try to go in the spring when the fragrant sweet peas are in full bloom everywhere. Cambria is a few hours drive away from LA, but once there, you truly feel like you are no longer in LA anymore.

Thank CinY92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My family and I had a wonderful overnight stay here. The cookies are a nice little touch. My young daughters were tired after the long drive, but the cookies just brightened their day. The inn is across from the beach, so the location is just perfect. The rooms were a nice size. Breakfast is a nice spread! I liked the self service wafflemaker. Service is really good. I forgot to pack our toothbrush and called up front desking hoping to purchase some. Turns out they had some for free. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at the Fogcatcher Inn in August 2009. Whole experience was excellent, room was very spacious, staff were very pleasnt and helpful, breakfast was good, nice pool. Real highlight was the setting with beautiful beach and coastal walk to enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We were so impressed with this hotel. The room was fabulous 2 beautiful big beds, lovely linen, and a gas fire in the room. This is a dog friendly hotel and in the past dog friendly rooms have been horrible. You would not think this was a dog friendly room it was just beautiful! The staff were very helpful they suggested a great restaurant just down the street. They have a nice breakfast available in the morning. We couldn't believe how reasonably priced this hotel was for everything it had to offer. We recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £124 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing