We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay near Hearst Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluebird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluebird Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Cambria B&B and Inns
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay near Hearst Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have driven across country four times, and this is the best motel I've stayed in. We are both handicapped but without wheelchairs, and we have a handicapped room, which is absolutely perfect. We've been driving from San Francisco to L.A. and have had four rooms so far, one not handicapped. Bluebird Inn has a separate bath from where the sink is, grab bars in the shower and bath, an ADA toilet, a movable seat for the shower, a phone in the bathroom--and a fireplace! We love the ceramic coffee cups and freestanding ceramic bowl on the counter next to the sink. A beautiful room. We would stay again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen91208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    150
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
158
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, IL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Wanted a place to stay along Hwy. 1. Cambria's Scarecrow Fest drew us into staying in the downtown area as opposed to staying on the shore. Also liked the fact we could walk to restaurants. The motel staff was super nice and loved the lobby. So cozy and serene. There were quirks with the shower, but the cleanliness of the room was more important to us. I would have given the motel a 5 except the beds were a little hard and the pillows were even harder. .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Good: quiet enough to sleep. Clean sheets, towels, and room. Easy walk to breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Fast wifi. Very good priced for value.

Not so good:
Shower pressure is terrible and the temperature was very hard to control.

Comments:
Could hear muffled snoring in the next room. Road noise was much less than expected. Long, narrow room, with plenty of space for two.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SP_Traveling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a three day stay a week ago for my son's wedding. We had a king standard room. It was clean with a comfortable bed. Extra blanket and pillow. Nice table with 2 chairs. Strange thing is no telephone or coffee maker. There was a hairdryer, and ironing board and iron. My son's cellphone service didn't work in Cambria so it was inconvenient not having a phone in our room. Bathroom large but dated with pink and maroon tile. No air conditioning and no pool. We paid $110 for Thursday and $120 for Friday and Saturday. I was not impressed. I could hear people walking overhead. It would have been a plus to have a fan to circulate air in the room, and a coffee maker.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms looked nice, but much more expensive. My sister was happy with her one bedroom suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancypants911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We needed two rooms for two nights so did not want to pay a fortune. This charming little inn in Cambria, a delightful small town on the Pacific Coast, was convenient to the Hearst Castle, the elephant seals , and Moonstone beach. The standard rooms we booked were a tad on the small side, but that was not a problem. The rooms had an adjoining door, which made it very convenient. Rooms were clean and comfortable and really included all the amenities that were needed for a decent stay. I recommend this small inn without reservation - if you want a swanky resort, you can spend a lot of money up the road at Moonstone Beach, a couple minutes of drive away. Top notch restaurants and gift shops are in easy walking distances. They had a nice lobby where you can have coffee , tea, and pound cake in the AM, and notebooks that have the menus for many of the best restaurants in town. The ones we tried and liked were Creekside Gardens and Redwood Café for Breakfast, and Wild Ginger and Linn's fruit Bin restaurant for dinner. Driving to Moonstone Beach and watching the sun set on the Pacific had to be one of the highlights of our vacation. All so convenient to this little inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILuvEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very pretty motel/hotel, staff very friendly helpful staff. gardens amazing and deer roaming next to hotel. Would definitely come here again. Area is unspoiled and soo pretty. Just off the California 1 highway.

Room Tip: We had 2 queen beds, for 4 people. Ample room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snaithp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My lovely bride and I just spent a quiet anniversary weekend at this nice little retro motel. The ground floor room (#17) appears to have been recently and wonderfully remodeled with a gas fireplace, new firm bed, and small back patio overlooking a flower garden and wooded creek area. Short walking distance to lots of eateries and shops on the east end of town. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only down side was having to pay the top-of-the-summer season price. Still,... It was well worth it just to be away and enjoy the small coastal village of Cambria.

Room Tip: Creek Side Rooms offer the best views and quietest locations on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Callmechuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.8 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Inn

Property: Bluebird Inn
Address: 1880 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bluebird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing